Achievement 2: Basic Security On Steem @dadylumber

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)
Good day to you guys, today I would like to share how I understood some of the basic security on steem.

download.jpeg

There are several ways of hacking accounts when you compromise your account details to a third-party or someone else and I would like to thank steem for making this secure form of security for their users. When I was creating my account, a master password was given to me to unlock other keys to proceed into the next step. A pdf that contains several keys (posting, active, tron, owner and memo ) was also given to me in addition to my master password to be stored offline(pendrive/usb) because hackers can have access to any of my accounts and if stored online. I would like to dedicate my thanks to @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly for the training on this security measures.

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?
Yes I did, all my keys was retrieved and saved in a secured offline storage(pendrive/usb) mode that I can easily have access to.

Question2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
From the training I learnt, I was able to understood this;

I. Posting Key: This keys are used for log-in, posting, commenting, voting, resteeming, following, deleting, editing and muting accounts and it's restricted on limited number of posting because it can be compromise for others.

II. Active key: This keys are used for monetary and wallet related actions, such as transferring tokens or powering steem up and down, converting steem dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details, placing market orders and avatars. This key is only use for monetary and wallet transactions only and nothing else.

III. Owner key: This key is used to reset all your other keys including the owner key itself. It is recommended to keep it offline at all times. If your account is compromised, use this key to recover it. This key is only used for reset of other keys and not anything else.

IV. Memo key: This key is used for
encrypting and decrypting transfer memos. This key is for encoding and decoding memos and nothing else.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?
This is the only key you can used to retrieve your account and all keys in it, so this key is very delicate that you need to hold it firmly and a very secured place. The most important thing is that, I will not store this key to any online account because it can be hack and compromise my account, the best way is to put it in an offline storage device(usb/pendrive) that I can easily have access to. I will avoid using it on any third-party websites, I will always back-up my password if am not sure of it compromise status and make sure not use it regularly and also know very well that this password cannot be retrieved if loss.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
Yes, with the use of Active key I can transfer my steem tokens to other people and these are the steps with pointing arrows;

First of all, I will open my steem wallet

1.jpg

This is the wallet

Screenshot_20211012-160029_Chrome.jpg

Secondly, I will click on the o.oo1 steem dollar drop down arrow that is the tradeable token column, and select transfer

3.jpg

Thirdly, I will key in the amount and username of the person am transferring it to and the encrypted memo. After that and click next.

4.jpg

Lastly, I will click on ok button to confirm the transfer.

Screenshot_20211012-160517_Chrome.jpg

And that is how I understood about transfer of steem

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
Yes, after successfully opening my steem wallet, I will click on the drop down box and scroll down and select power up

Screenshot_20211012-160314_Chrome.jpg

I will then key in the amount and click on power up button

Screenshot_20211012-160907_Chrome.jpg

And that is how I understood it

Once again, thanks to @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly for the training.
Best regards to you all

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow! that's a great and awesome achievement written by you.You can now move to the next stage best regards.

 3 years ago 

Thanks man, I just wish all of us to thrive in this media. See you at the top


CURATOR NOTE :03



Congratulations.

You have completed this achivement. You can move on to the next achievement.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @dadylumber,

Your post has been supported by @sm-shagor from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

You are welcome to Steemit. I am @steemfitnesshub. Feel free to visit our newly launched community of fitness lovers. Subscribe and Win steem.
https://steemit.com/trending/hive-173552

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39