ACHIEVEMENT TASK 2 : BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMIT

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

SECURITY

A basic definition of security is to allow only authorized access to something, any attempt to access such a thing without the right authorization will be denied.

images (7).jpeg
Image source

Hence such things are said to be valuable and should be kept secure. The world is ever hanging and we have a lot of cyber attacks and online hacks happening keeping as we have improved technology.

Such a site which is a Blockchain based platform like steemit has a number of keys used for security and preventing unauthorized access.
The keys have their different functions depending on where they are to be used, a number of them are explained below.

KEYS AVAILABLE ON STEEMIT

  1. PRIVATE POSTING KEY
  2. PRIVATE ACTING KEY
  3. PRIVATE MEMO KEY
  4. PRIVATE OWNER KEY
  5. MASTER PASSWORD
  6. TRON KEYS

FUNCTION OF THE KEYS ABOVE

  1. Private posting key: This is a key that is used for log in and in performing some actions such as posting.

  2. Private acting key: This key deals with anything that is money related in our account such as making transfers of our earned tokens.

  3. Private memo key: it is used to decrypt private transfer memos.

  4. Private owner key: One of the most important keys in general as it can be used as a reset option for our other keys and is meant to be in offline storage all the time.

  5. Master password: this password is what is used to generate the document for all other keys and must not be shared at any instance.
    A password that must be kept safe at all cost, it is the one that is used to create the document that contains the other keys in the document. Knowing this it is pertinent to secure it safely.

  6. Tron keys: Any action that requires our Tron token access has to do with the Tron keys. They involve both the public and private Tron keys.

QUESTIONS
1 Has all your keys on steemit been retrieved?

I have done that for all my keys and secured them safely as well

2 Do you know the key functions and it's restrictions?

Yes by reading the document created for my keys during registration, I was able to understand what the various keys created for my account are used for.

3 How can you keep your master password?

The master password is really the most important password amongst our keys since it is connected to the document created for all our keys.

I have secured my password both on the cloud using my Google drive account, but since that's not the only way to secure it. I also carefully wrote it down correctly in my personal diary since I am the only one that access to it.

Doing all of this I believe my master password is safe from unauthorized access.

4 Can you transfer your steem token from your account to another steem user account?

Yes i have learnt how steem can be transferred, by going to my wallet as seen in the image below.

Screenshot_20211117-092109.png
Firstly I went under steem and clicked the transfer icon.

Screenshot_20211117-092137.png
Then proceeding I can now enter the recipient account username and the memo required as well

5 Can you power up your steem?
Yes i do

To Power up is also quite easy as I have learnt, firstly I go to my steemit wallet.

Screenshot_20211117-092302.png
Under the icon steem I select the power up option there

Screenshot_20211117-092322.png
The amount of steem I want to power up is entered and then I click power up.

After power up the amount will be reflected on my steem power icon.

Doing this achievement task has opened my knowledge to why it is important to keep my keys. This is a well needed tutorial as it will go a long way in educating a lot of newbies like me.

Sort:  

Hi @codedhalal, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

It's also very important for you to join #club5050. To join the club you need to power up at least 50% of your monthly earnings. You can also join #club75 where you will power up 75% of your earnings for 2 months or #club100 where you are to power up all your earnings for 3 months.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @codedhalal,

Your post has been supported by @reddileep from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63018.04
ETH 2471.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68