Achievement 2 by @chidosky98// Basic Security on Steemit// mentorship by @cryptokannon-Steemit

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Security is a means through which we safeguard ourselves and our properties. So, being security conscious over our daily activities protects us from any possible harm. Hence, security gives one the basis for ownership dominion over things he has a key to which no other person has. Therefore, the security engagement on Steemit blog should be of paramount concern to us on how to protect, use, control and properly manage our functional keys which are access to our blog, wallet, and other pages. Having given a brief background information about security above, let's consider the functions of the keys that are applicable to Steemit blog.

HOW CAN I KEEP MY STEEM ACCOUNT SECURE?
I can do that by saving my master password and keeping it safe somewhere that is beyond the reach of anyone. I should only login to my account using the key with the appropriate permissions for what I'm to do. For instance, I should use posting key for my everyday logins; the active key when I want to do transfers, power ups, and so on; and then the master password or owner key when changing the password.

WHY SHOULD I BE CAREFUL WITH MY MASTER PASSWORD?
I should do that because, if I am not careful with it, anybody that has access to it can use it to steal my account and all the tokens in it. To avoid that, I should be careful with my master password.

WHAT ARE MY DIFFERENT STEEMIT KEYS?
They are:
(1) POSTING KEY: It allows accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow or mute other accounts. It is also being used by many in logging into Steemit everyday.

(2) ACTIVE KEY: It is used for such sensitive tasks as transferring funds, power up/down transactions, converting steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.

(3) OWNER KEY: It is not being used often like the posting key. It is only when necessary that it is been used such as when I want to change my key of an account, including the owner key. It is because of its sensitivity that it is better stored offline, and only used to recover a compromised account.

(4) MEMO KEY: It is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. To encrypt a memo, the following is being done: use the pound/# sign before it.

WHAT DO I DO IF I LOSE MY PASSWORD/KEYS?
I can't do anything to recover my account if I lose the password or the owner key. That's why I always need to save my master password where I will not lose it preferably, storing or saving it in a digital offline storage like flash drive, and others.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MASTER PASSWORD AND OWNER KEY?
While master password is used to generate all other keys including the owner key even when the account is tampered with, the owner key can not unlock an account that has been tampered with by a dubious third party. Owner key can not have access to unlock an account that has been tampered with.

IMPORTANT QUESTIONS AND THEIR ANSWERS
(1) Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?
Answer: Yes, I have.

(2) Do you know each of these keys functions and restrictions?
Answer: Yes, I do.

(3) How do you plan to keep your master password?
Answer: I plan keeping them safe in two offline storage: (a)in my flash drive, and (b)in my file diary.

(4) Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
Answer: Yes I do, as the following screenshots show:

Screenshot_20210607-215321.png

Screenshot_20210607-213839.png

Screenshot_20210607-213810.png

Screenshot_20210607-213507.png

(5) Do you know how to power up your steem?
Answer: Yes, I do. The screenshots below will show that:

Screenshot_20210608-093042.png

Screenshot_20210608-093009.png

Screenshot_20210608-092947.png

I am grateful to @cryptokannon, @focusnow and @ngoenyi for their assistance to newborns like me on this platform.

Sort:  

Hi @chidosky, congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

Thank you for completing this Achievement.

Rate: 2

Hello @chidosky98, I do not see your screenshot referring to question number 5. You need to provide a screenshot of the process of powering up. Add this so I can verify you 😊 Monday, June 7th, 2021.

#onepercent #venezuela #affable

 3 years ago 

HOW TO POWER UP MY STEEM:
This is done from the wallet environment. When I click on the drop arrow close to steem, I will select power up as could be seen on screenshots below:

Screenshot_20210608-093042.png

Screenshot_20210608-093009.png

Screenshot_20210608-092947.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17