Achievement 2 @buikem Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

image.png

So this is my second achievement after doing my introduction post and I am feeling very integrated into the Steem community by the day. In this achievement, I have learnt how to secure my steem account as well as know the potentials and capacities of my master password and various keys.

Usually when I sign up for a new website or social media platform I would either create my own password or get a custom password usually one. That was quite different with steem. I was presented these set of carefully thought out passwords and it got me curious. The first thing I did was to store my keys away to (I wont tell where lol). But that was the first thing I did, put them away offline in a very safe place.

image.png

As I would recall from the briefing I received about the keys, they all have different functions and some are more powerful (and delicate) than others. And that is something to keep in mind. And also, while some can perform the function of others, you would want to only use them when absolutely necessary as overuse of them will put them in danger entering into the wrong hands. The various keys I got and their functions are as follows:

image.png

The Posting key is a limited key that enables you to do daily activities such as posting, commenting, editing, voting, resteeming, follow or mute other users. This is the one that should be used for daily login. But it is a limited key and cannot be used for more sensitive tasks like transferring funds etc

The Active key does more than the posting key. It enables you to perform sensitive tasks and at such can be used to transfer funds, power up or power down transactions, convert Steem Dollars, vote for witnesses, update profile details and avatar, and place market order.

Then there is the Memo key which is basically used for encrypting and decryption of memos when transferring funds.

While the Owner key is the most powerful key with no restrictions and can be used to change any key of your account, including the owner key itself. It is used to recover an account when it is compromised.

image.png

Because of how important and powerful (and not very frequently used) the master password is, I have stored it in writing and also to a secret flash put away is a safe place (where I will not tell you). Storing it online comes with some possibilities of being stolen or accessed, which may lead to all my tokens being stolen and me losing my account and all that I would have built on this network.

What else I learnt:
In addition to these, I have also learned how to transfer token from my account to another user. And that for this I would need my master or active key. I could create a memo for my transfers if I choose to. All I have to do is go to my wallet page, click on the steem or Steem Dollar balances and click Transfer afterwards. Then I would have to type the username of the person I want to send it to. Enter amount to send, create a memo for it (if I want) and click submit. And confirm with my Active Key.

Also, I have learnt how to power up Steem tokens in my wallet simply by clicking "Power Up" to turn them into Steem Power.

To the attention of @cryptokannon, thank you for your guide on completing this achievement. And that you @kiwiscanfly for your article on 'understanding your steem wallet'....very helpful. I am ready for the next task.

image.png

ACCOUNT SUCCESSFULLY SECURED!
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Buen dia bro...
Que bien que estés al tanto de como funciona la seguridad en Steemit...
Eso es importantísimo para la vivencia en este blog.
Nada más importante que nuestra privacidad y nuestras cosas y si se sabe proteger ambas en un logro grande.
Hasta la próxima...

 4 years ago 

Gracias amigo

Hi @buikem you have sufficient knowledge on basic security on steem demonstrate through this post.

In addition to these, I have also learned how to transfer token from my account to another user. And that for this I would need my master or active key.

as for this transaction, you only need your active key. You don't need to use your Master Password and Owner key for transferring token or log in to any applications or website on steem blockchain.

Master Password and Owner keys are meant to keep offline and only be used for changing your other keys.

Congratulations! You have passed the Achievement 2 on Basic Security, now please get ready for your post on the next for Achievement 3: Content Etiquette here
See you soon! 😊

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

 4 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86