Achievement 1 : Verification Through Introduction

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago

Hey y'all! 😎

id.jpg

What's up?! My name is Anna Panczner and I'm your average 20-year-old college student from the United States. I am pursuing my B.S. in Computer Engineering at Drexel University in Philadelphia, although I started out as a Computer Science major. Despite loving programming and having an interest in technology, I have close to zero knowledge of how blockchain works or what cryptocurrencies are best to invest in. When @cmp2020 posted to Facebook explaining his positive experience with Steem and the Steemit community, I decided to give this platform a try. Just by taking a look around the Newcomers' Community, I can tell that this is a very diverse and inviting group of individuals working to build connections through sharing a variety of content.

Though I've spent most of my life in the United States, I was born in Yiyang (益阳), China with the given name of 海怡 and later adopted by the most loving family. I don't know much about my birth culture or language, but I'm trying to learn. I'll admit I've lived a pretty privileged life. Growing up I never had to worry about food or schooling or housing, and I was even given ballet lessons for 14 years. During those 14 years I studied ballet in the Vaganova method and, on the side, trained in modern dance, jazz, and character dance. Now that I'm in college and have gone through the apartment search, done research, and taken a full-time 6-month co-op (internship) at a major company, I have a greater appreciation of both what my adoptive parents have given me and the sacrifices my birth parents made to give me a chance at these opportunities.

On Steemit, I want to learn about what life is like outside the States. My view of the world is so narrow (the result of being American), and I want to learn about other countries' politics, cultures, and languages. As for the kind of content I'll post, I'm thinking about introducing others to the wonders of the city of Philadelphia— the restaurants, the coffee, the sights, the people, and of course... the dogs 😁. I also like to review different products and give some tips on how you can save a few bucks 😉.

That's it for now. Oh, and don't forget to check out @cmp2020's blog. He not only posts clips of his amazing musical compositions, but also has some helpful tutorials for Steemit newcomers. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, Anna! Make sure to follow @steemitblog, and @cryptokannon!

Thanks for joining!

 4 years ago 

thanks for the resteem!

 4 years ago 

and will do :D

Hi, Welcome to Steem! I'm @cmp2020's father. Glad to have another local personality here.

I took some Comp. Sci. classes at Drexel back around 2008 or 2009, and I thought they had a fantastic program. I assume they still do, so you should be well-positioned when you graduate. Christopher's great-grandfather was a dean at their business school many years ago, too.

We'll have to compare notes sometime. I wonder if we've had any professors in common (if I can remember the names of mine... ; -).

 4 years ago 

Hi! Thank you for the warm welcome. Both the CS and CE programs are fantastic-- well-resourced and have good faculty.

hey @annapanczner,
welcome to steem world and its a good thing you are an upcoming developer/ programmer.
Presently, steem is setting up a Register of Developers for anyone with technical development skills who is interested in working on projects on Steem.

you can check out this post and make a comment below with an outline of the skills you have and at what level you are.

Also make sure to follow @steemitblog for more updates on steem and also join the 'The never ending season 3' of the diary game

I am @saxopedia
Thank you!

 4 years ago 

Hi! I did everything you suggested in your comment. the Register of Developers sounds like a great way to connect innovators and developers (and people who are both).

You are awesome.

STEEM ON😎

 4 years ago 

Hello @annapanczner
Welcome to the steemit world
I'm also a student.
Thanks for introducing yourself.

 4 years ago 

thank you! nice to meet you :D

 4 years ago 

Hello, @annapanczner.
Welcome to steemit.
Follow @steemitblog for more updates of the contests you can join.

Loading...
 4 years ago 

Hi, @annapanczner. Welcome to steemit.
Follow @steemitblog for updates.
Have a nice day

 4 years ago 

thanks! already did :D

Hi you're much welcome to steemit hive have fun steeming @annapanczner

 4 years ago 

I will! Thanks for the welcome

welcome to steemit dear...

 4 years ago 

thank you :)

Hi @annapanczner welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy it here. I think you might like these community, Writing & Review and Steemfoods. You can try completing Newcomers Achievement Program when you have a chance. See all the pinned post on Newcomers Community, if you interested to join any. Have fun! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51