Achievement 2 @afunkycares Task: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello Steemians! I'm glad to finally drop my second post as part of my achievement tasks here in Steemit.

Security,as Wikipedia rightly defines, is freedom from or resilience against potential harm caused by others; something that gives protection; something that safeguard.

Therefore, there is a need to maintain a sense of safety here in Steemit since every account has a monetary value.

safe-913452_1280.webp
Source

Hence,Steemit has provided different keys for accessing the Steemit account peculiar to every User. Each key is a unique row of characters,not easy to cram and serves specific functions.

I have retrieved all my keys. And I have saved them on an external hard drive and carefully written them in my confidential Journal.

key-3348307_1280.jpg

Source

The various keys used in Steemit are:

MASTER PASSWORD: This is the first password a user get after signing up for Steemit. It is used to generate the other keys. It is advisable that a copy of the master password is saved offline.

OWNER KEY: This is used to change the other keys,including the owner key. It is used to recover a compromised account. The Owner Key is the most powerful key.Hence it is strongly recommended to keep it secured and also save it offline because once it is lost, that account cannot be recovered.

ACTIVE KEY: The active key is used for more sensitive functions,such as transferring steem tokens,powering up/down,voting etc. It is required to access one's wallet. As a Steemit user,you should be careful with your active key. If someone else has access to it, your wallet can be tampered with.

POSTING KEY: Posting key allows the user to make posts,comment,edit,vote,resteem, follow or mute other account. It is the regular key used for logging daily into your Steemit account.

MEMO KEY: The memo key is used for encrypting or decrypting memos when transferring funds to another user.

Besides knowing the functions,I have also practised how to use these keys with the help of @talktofaith. With her guide,I was able to master the usage of the keys.

I have learnt how to transfer steem tokens to another steem user's account.

To do this, I simply log into my wallet with the active key( remember this is one of the sensitive tasks), Find Steem, click the dropdown arrow,then click transfer. I then input his/her username,amount,create a memo and submit.

IMG_20201209_231402.jpg

I have also practised powering up my steem for more steem power on my account.

Thank you all for reading through my post.

I'm grateful @talktofaith for guiding me and a big thank you to @crytokannon for the mentorship post on the basic security on steem.

@crytokannon here is my achievement 2 .

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations you have done a good job by understanding the importance of Security

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much.

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on the completion of your achievement 2. Nice job

 3 years ago 

Thank you 😊. I'm glad I did. I'm really enjoying my stay here in Steemit

Greetings friend @afunkycares

I am pleased to see that you have met achievement 2, so it is my duty to tell you that you should review the content of achievement 3 and meet its requirements to continue to advance and increase the opportunity to receive support from "Steem Greeters" and be eligible to apply for "500SP minnowsupport.

Remember to use the #achievement3 and #Nigeria tags and post from Newcomers' Community.

I'm @adeljose, Venezuela Representative at Steemit, our desire is to help you grow in this platform, so I want to invite you to be part of Newcomers' Community managed by @cryptokannon.

#onepercent
#Venezuela
#affable

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much @adeljose. I will do as you have advised. I have also joined the Newcomer's Community.

 3 years ago 

It has been voted by @adeljose and I am voting with Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03, it counts to support newcomers entering steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

 3 years ago 

Thank you @steemcurator03. I'll do as you have advised.

Hello @afunkycares, I am glad that you have gotten to this level in your journey here in steemit. It is very important that we understand the uses of those keys and how to safe keep them. Thank you for sharing but please, don't stop here. You need to continue till you complete all other achievements. It will enable you to learn a lot.
#twopercent #nigeria #affable

 3 years ago 

Thank you @ngoenyi. I won't stop here. Pls,I will need your support as I complete the remaining achievements.

No problem dear, I will be willing to assist

 3 years ago 

Thank you ma.

Congratulations on the completion of your achievement 2.

Keep steemit.

 3 years ago 

Thank you. I'm glad I completed my achievement 2.

 3 years ago 

@afunkycares, congratulations on completing your achievement 2.
You are making progress.
I look forward to seeing your achievement 3.
Best regards

 3 years ago 

Alright. Thank you very much. You have been a great support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61