Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA)//CONTEST//TOPIC OF THE WEEK NO. 32//HOW FAR DO YOU LIVE FROM WHERE YOU WERE BORN??

Special thanks to @slon21veka for organizing this contest and thanks to @faithilyn for inviting me to participate.

How far do I live from where I was born? 🤔 I was born in a place called Rukungiri district and I now live in namugongo. Rukungiri district is about 8hours-drive from namugongo; of course that is if you drive non-stop. Whenever I travel with my family, we take upto 12 hours or more. This is because we make alot of stops along the way. The images I am sharing below are screenshots from Google maps.

2021-09-07-17-07-55-097.jpg

Rukungiri district was once part of Kigezi district before it was made a separate district. There are other districts that parted from Kigezi which include kanungu, kisoro, rubanda and rukiga.
Rukungiri district has 2 counties, 11 sub-counties, 77 parishes and 825 villages.

By birth, my county is rubabo, sub-county is Nyakisenyi, parish is kahoko; all of which are in rukungiri district. I have been to my home town like six times in my whole life. To be honest, the journey itself is tiring and not to mention the coldness😨😨. It can get very cold at night to the point that one can cover themselves up with two blankets and still shiver.😂😂 You don't even need a fridge, you can just place a breverage on the table and come back after 10-20 minutes and find it cold.
It's mostly covered by mountains and trees hence the coldness; however, it has a lovely scenery.

2021-09-07-17-30-18-622.jpg

Although I was born in rukungiri district, I have lived in namugongo since I was 2years old.
Many people around the world know of NAMUGONGO because it is the home of the Uganda martyrs. Alot of people come to namugongo on 3rd June to celebrate martyrs day.

The Uganda martyrs were 23 Anglican and 22 Catholic converts to Christianity. They were executed between 31st January 1885 and 27th January 1887. They were killed on the orders of Mwanga II, the kabaka(king) of Buganda kingdom.

Namugongo is found in Kira municipality, it's town council constituency is Kira, its county is kyaddondo, and it is situated in wakiso district.
It is a peaceful place, and the weather changes every now and then so that's good.

I invite @nantaleesther, @cutieprossie and @littlemissmukene to also take part.

https://steemit.com/hive-171319/@slon21veka/contest-topic-of-the-week-32-how-far-do-you-live-from-where-you-were-born-prize-fund-30-steem

Sort:  

Намугонго интересно посмотреть бы

Thank you dear.

За что?

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62