CONTEST//TOPIC OF THE WEEK NO.50//MY INTERNET DATING EXPERIENCE

Special thanks to @slon21veka for this contest. This is an interesting one. I invite @gero2021, @brendakim and @faithlyn to participate too.

Gone are the days when people only met the traditional ways. With so many apps that have been developed and the internet, it has opened so many opportunities.

There are so many dating apps today. I tried to search for dating apps on Google play and the list was endless. You would be amazed at how many new things are out there that we have no clue about.

Covid times have made even worse because it has greatly reduced the need of people to meet face to face and this is where online dating goes in. I feel like the online dating platforms developed even more and became more popular with the call for social distancing being sang all over the world.

Screenshot_20220111-120144.png

This contest reminded me of the very first time that I tried online dating. It was during the first lockdown. That was a very hard time and truth be told, it was so so boring. I will be honest, boredom is what made me think about trying out online dating apps.

I wasn't single at the time so me joining a dating site was not because I was searching for anything. It was about being bored and wanting something to take away the boredom. I told my friend Anna about it and she agreed to do it with me.

Screenshot_20220111-120200.png

I searched through some dating apps and I didn't know which one to sign up for but Anna recommended that I try dating.com and so I did.
I created a profile with my own picture on it and waited to see what happens next.

Just a few minutes later, I got a bunch of messages in my inbox from really cute guys I must say. What amused me most were the messages themselves. It is as if all the guys on the site were poets or something. They definitely knew how to use words in the right way...I was smittened.

The only discouraging thing was the fact that this app required the users to pay inorder to send messages to each other. That was definitely what threw me off.

But I feel like I gave up on online dating too soon and so am planning to do it again some time soon. But am also scared of the possibility of being catfished because let's be honest, the chances of that happening are so high. If you don't know what I mean, look up a show called CATFISH hosted by Nev and Max.

Anyway, it doesn't mean that there are no truthful people on these platforms cause there are. You just need to keep an open mind.

The images I have used are screenshots from Google play store.

Sort:  

Действительно, смотрю ваш пост и понимаю, что приложений для знакомств очень много!

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85