Graffiti Of My City No. 28 - Musical Side Of Tribal People

Hello everyone. Welcome to Graffiti Of My City Contest No. 28 hosted by @slon21veka. The contest post can be found here. Do read up about this and join us in this exciting contest.

For this week, I will continue to feature the street art on the long perimeter wall of the Davao City National High School in my city, Davao City, Philippines. This is the city where the current president of the Philippines, Rodrigo Duterte, had been mayor for the last 29 years, before he ran and won for president. The Davao City National High School is located at F. Torres Street in Davao City.

The theme of the street paintings, as you must know it by now, is about tribal ancestors and indigenous people of the island where Davao City is located, the island of Mindanao. The past 3 weeks I have shown in different posts the ancestors of Mindanao, the tribal children and the tribal womenfolk. This week I want to show you that these tribal people are also lovers of music and have their own musical instruments. They have rituals for important occasions such as weddings, births and birthdays, harvest all played and danced to their tribal music, mostly of gongs, bamboo and their own version of guitar.

Although the murals and paintings are sorely lacking of musical instruments, still I saw a couple of paintings which I feature now.

IMG_20211030_145816.jpg

IMG_20211030_145849.jpg

The photo below shows an older tribesman holding the mallet or stick to hit the gongs which is one of the tribe's main musical instruments.

IMG_20211030_150431.jpg

And that's all for the musical side of tribesfolks. Perhaps when the wall is restored in the future I can recommend more depictions of the tribal musical instruments which are so much a part of them. Until then, we just keep on taking care, keeping safe and healthy. Until next week again.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

ух ты! классные муралы

Thank you very much. I am happy you like it.

Прекрасно!

Thank you. I am happy you like it. Have a great weekend @slon21veka.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67