Contest // Topic of the week №20 // Are you afraid of public speaking?

Amigos de la comunidad Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA) les saludo cordialmente, deseando que se encuentren muy bien todos.

Friends of the Steem-BRU (BY-RU-UA) community, I greet you cordially, wishing you all well.

No tengo miedo a hablar en público, pero aclaro que no siempre fue así. Aunque yo hacía mis presentaciones orales en el colegio, que eran frecuentes, no me gustaban, prefería las tareas escritas. Cuando llegué a la Universidad, me daba un poco de ansiedad que me estuvieran observando cuando exponía, pero igual lo hacía. Hasta que llegué a tener el honor de conocer a mi asesora de tesis, que a través de la técnica de mayéutica (preguntar y repreguntar) me llevó a revisar mis pensamientos, y llegar a descartar creencias irracionales que impedían disfrutar de una actividad que es tan esencial para un estudiante y futuro profesional.

I am not afraid of public speaking, but I clarify that it was not always like that. Although I did my oral presentations at school, which were frequent, I did not like them, I preferred written assignments. When I got to the University, I was a little anxious about being observed when I was presenting, but I did it anyway. Until I had the honor of meeting my thesis advisor, who through the technique of mayeutics (ask and ask again) led me to review my thoughts, and to discard irrational beliefs that prevented me from enjoying an activity that is so essential for a student and future professional.

En esa revisión, también llegamos a una conclusión que por simple, parece inverosímil: la falta de preparación. No todo es factor emocional, si el expositor no se prepara, estudia y practica, aumenta la probabilidad de nerviosismo y puede asociarla o sumarla a elementos emotivos como miedo, cuando en realidad lo que hay que hacer es estudiar y practicar. Eso, al principio me parecía absurdo, hasta que lo comprobé en mí misma. Mientras más me instruía mejores eran mis presentaciones y sin temores. He aquí la imagen como oradora de orden en la Graduación de Bachilleres en una institución donde trabajé.

In that review, we also came to a conclusion that seems so simple and unlikely: the lack of preparation. Not everything is an emotional factor, if the speaker does not prepare, study and practice, the probability of nervousness increases and can be associated or added to emotional elements such as fear, when in fact what you have to do is to study and practice. This seemed absurd to me at first, until I proved it to myself. The more I instructed myself, the better my presentations were and without fear. Here is the image of me as a speaker at the graduation of high school graduates in an institution where I worked.

IMG_3197.jpg

Foto de mi álbum personal donde estoy como oradora de orden en un acto de graduación|Photo from my personal album where I am as a commencement speaker at a graduation ceremony.

Actualmente disfruto hablar en público, soy instructora de cursos de Desarrollo Personal, en uno de mis roles. A mis hijos desde pequeños, les incentivo a participar en audiciones. Comparto la fotografía de mi hija, cuando estaba pequeña, quien representó a sus compañeros en la Graduación de Preescolar y hoy día ha participado en varios eventos de su colegio como moderadora.

Currently I enjoy public speaking, I am an instructor of Personal Development courses, in one of my roles. I encourage my children from an early age to participate in auditions. I share the picture of my daughter, when she was little, who represented her classmates in the Preschool Graduation and today she has participated in several events of her school as a moderator.

IMG_3196 (1).jpg

Foto de mi álbum personal, mi hija en su acto de graduación de preescolar|Photo from my personal album, my daughter at her preschool graduation ceremony.

Gracias por regalarme de tu tiempo y leer de mi experiencia en cuanto a hablar en público. Mi reconocimiento y respeto para ti. Invito a @bostonblake y @alena-vladi a participar en este interesante concurso y compartir tu experiencia al hablar en publico

Thank you for giving me the gift of your time and reading about my public speaking experience. My appreciation and respect to you. I invite @bostonblake and @alena-vladi to participate in this interesting contest and share your public speaking experience.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you, @ellieth, I am going to take part in it:)

¡Churún Merú!

I loved this post. It has been done not only by the personal experience but under a professional approach. It's important to understand that our disadvantages and weaknesses can be turned into strengths through the right use of techniques.

Thanks for this post.

In a few moments I'll share my part.

Mil gracias bostonblake

Спасибо за пост!

It is a pleasure to participate, greetings / Es un placer participar, saludos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95