You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pieces of My Life

in The Ink Well4 years ago

I'm really impressed by the strength of the narration in this story. It felt like I could here someone, sitting across from me telling me this story, bearing their heart. I sincerely hope this isn't autobiographical chiny?

I also like the poetic interjections. They add to the story in a poignant and unique way. I actually wrote a story similar in uni 15 years ago with passages of fiction interjected with poetry. I've looked for it to put on steem but can't find it anywhere :(

The themes that you cover in this short story are both challenging to express and important to address... and you do that very well!

Things changed more. The alcohol, the late nights. I wasn't surprised when the beatings followed. For the first time in years, I missed my paintings. I cursed the day I fell. I would watch makeup tutorials to learn how to hide my black eye.

Domestic violence is a terrible thing, that unfortunately just seems to be accepted by many people and institutions. I know that many sects of the church pretty much ignore it (correct me if I'm wrong, but I've heard this is something that happens a lot in Africa especially) and the police see it as a problem crime - something that they don't like getting involved with but will when it's serious. I feel like these societal attitudes need to change deep down at a social and psychological level. As someone who has rarely been in a fight, and only to defend myself, I abhor violence.

The idea of hitting a woman literally makes me sick. I've only ever encountered it second hand but there is a story behind that encounter.

I once saw someone beating their girlfriend in Liverpool city center on a night out and all my friends were saying don't get involved but I couldn't stop myself, I just saw red. That guy was too drunk to do much as I basically tackled him, put his arm up his back and kneeled on his arm pinning him face down until the woman ran away. The strangest thing is that for the first 3 minutes she was defending him and telling me to get off him. I just kept saying, "please love, just leave so he can't keep beating you" and eventually she did.

It is through highlighting these types of things that attitudes will change... slowly, but I truly believe they will change! Your story does a great job of highlighting the psychological effects of these types of things, and also, you place us right inside the main character's head.

Great story and poetry.

Sort:  

No worries. It isn't autobiographical. Lol
It's actually the first time I tried something like this. I've written stories of similar plots with poetry interludes but never like this. I'm glad it turned out this good.

I know that many sects of the church pretty much ignore it (correct me if I'm wrong, but I've heard this is something that happens a lot in Africa especially) and the police see it as a problem crime - something that they don't like getting involved with but will when it's serious.

I wish I could say this is wrong. The church and the society play a major role. A woman has to endure and all that crap. But the good news is that it's becoming less. People are waking up. It's slow but it's still progress, and men are beginning to understand too.

The strangest thing is that for the first 3 minutes she was defending him and telling me to get off him. I just kept saying, "please love, just leave so he can't keep beating you" and eventually she did.

I'll never understand this power the abuser have over his victim. They call it Stockholm Syndrome, I think. You feel like shaking them so hard to wake them up. The worst part is that they eventually kill their abuser when they can't take anymore. The stigma of being a divorcee? So they choose widowhood over that. Maybe the children, I'll never know.

Thank you for stopping by. It's always a pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61