History of my country

Warmest greetings from my own part of the world (Nigeria).

I hope you all are doing well and are enjoying your happy lives. I am delighted to participate in this contest titled: "History of my country".

Special thanks goes to @mostofajaman for organizing such an incredible contest.

Write a few words about where you live and your country.

national-flag-nigeria-vector-illustration-with-official-color-proportion_777312-125.jpg
Source

I live in Nasarawa state, Akwanga, opposite ola hospital to be precised.

Ola which is under nasarawa eggon local government in my state (Nasarawa) is a peaceful community which comprises of different tribes from different states.

But the eggon people are more populated because it is one of their local government. We have a famous missionary hospital, and also a missionary secondary school (Our lady's of apostle girls college) which is own by the same missionary hospital where I live (OLA).

My country which is the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is one of the country's in West Africa. And it happens to be the most famous country in West Africa. It has different cultures and alot of natural resources such as oil, iron ore, natural gas etc.

The capital of my country (Nigeria) is Abuja and its largest city is Lagos. We use English here in my country as an official language, we have Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo as the major ethnic group in my country (Nigeria).

What are the historical days of your country?

My country (Nigeria) has alot of historical days, which I won't be able to mention them all here.

Here are the few historical days of my country I will love to share with you all,,,,

  1. One of the most significant historical day of my country is the Independence Day: On the 1st of October 1960, Nigeria got her independence from British colonial rule.

  2. Military Coup is another historical day of my country: A military coup was led by General Aguiyi Ironsi overthrew the democratic government, and this took place on the 15th of January1966.

  3. May 29, 1999 - This day marks the end of military rule and the Return of Democracy in my country. It was the day where General Abdulsalami Abubakar handed over power to President Olusegun Obasanjo.

  4. Another historical day is the Amalgamation Day,, which took place on 1st January, 1914.
    It was the day that the British merged the Northern and Southern Protectorates to form the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria.

These historical days are significant to the journey of Nigeria ranging from the colonial rule to independence and it struggles with democracy etc.

Please share your country's birth history with us.

nigeria-flag-3d-cartoon-style-illustration_1082479-19663.jpg
Source

The birth history of my country (Nigeria) comprises of colonialism, amalgamation, and independence. Below is the brief review of my county's birth history,,,

My country's birth history started from the Pre-Colonial Era, that was before 1800s, during this period, there was various ethnic groups which inhabited the region, Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo, and others inclusively.

From 1800s to 1914, the British colonized the region, where the imposed rules and exploited resources from it (- British Colonization).
This was followed by Amalgamation which took place on the 1st of January, 1914.

Colonial rule then came in from 1914 to 1960,, during this period, Nigeria was ruled by the British colony, the British imposed their culture on it, and there was also exploitation of nigeria resources by the British.

Nationalist Movement then began from 1940s-1950s. That was the time in which Nigerians started requesting for their independence, which was led by prominent people like Nnamdi Azikiwe, Obafemi Awolowo etc.

It was then in 1st October 1960, that Nigeria finally got her Independence from the British colonial rule. One of the prominent people who led the request for Independence,,, in person of Nnamdi Azikiwe became the first president of the Federal Republic Of Nigeria.

From 1960 till date, Nigeria as a country has really been faced with alot of challenges such as the civil war, political instability etc. Though they have also made some progress in educational sector, the culture and even the economic sector as well as other sectors.

How much do you love your country and what do you want your country to look like?

I love my country Nigeria so much,, Nigeria is my father land and I am so super grateful to God for making me a citizen of such an amazing country.

Nigeria as a country is peaceful if not for some part of the country that are having little crises, it has a lot of beautiful and tourist center that you can visit and have fun. Cultural diversity is celebrated in colourful ways making the country even more beautiful.

I love Nigeria!!! Nigeria is my country!!! I am a proud Nigerian!!

I want my country to be so peaceful and united that every citizen will feel so save and secure to move freely without being scared of being harmed. There should be opportunities for all the citizens, so they can be able to showcase their full potential for the development of the country.

I want my country Nigeria to have quality education, infrastructural facility and quality and affordable healthcare as well. There should be new innovations, advanced technology should be introduced.

A country where there is easy assess to basic needs such as good water, food and shelter etc.
There should be minimal corruption, accountability, and transparency should be greatly encouraged.

What do you think we need to do to make a country better and better?

Things I think we need to do to make a country better and better are;

  1. Good Governance: Leaders should be able to serve the people's interests, transparency, and accountability should be highly promoted both among the citizens and leaders inclusively.

  2. Quality Education: The government should be able invest so much in quality education, develop skilled, and informed citizens. The government should also ensure that education is accessible and affordable for their citizens.

  3. Government should be able to create economic opportunities like job availability, and entrepreneurship in order to eradicate poverty and improve equality.

  4. Collaboration and Partnerships: Global partnership should be developed, local collaboration should be introduced as well in order to have an avenue to share knowledge, and fir best practices.

  5. Affordable and Quality Healthcare: Government should ensure easy access to quality healthcare, physical and mental well-being should be critically addressed in order to foster healthy living.

When a country focus on this areas,, the country will become better and better.

Thank you all for reading through my post🤍🤍

I invite @bossj23, @aspiya and @sampabiswas to take part in this awesome contest.

Kind regards @owulama💞

Sort:  
 6 days ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43