SEC-S17W3: "National Festival"

in Steem For Bangladesh20 days ago

Hello @everyone, I am excited to take part in this contest titled "National Festival."


What is the national festival of your country? How did it start

IMG_20240427_065459.jpg
collage photo

Nigeria is known for its rich culture and heritage When it comes to national festivals there are many which are celebrated in Nigeria. However, "Calabar Festival" is the most popular festival which I know of.

The Calabar Festival is best known as the biggest street party in Africa which is usually celebrated every December in the Cross River State capital. Calabar Festival was founded by the then governor of Cross River State who is no other person than Mr. Donald Duke who introduced the festival as an early celebration of Christmas in Nigeria.


How is this festival celebrated? Are there any special rules for celebrating it?

At first, when the then-former governor of Cross River State introduced the festival, the festival was celebrated a month before it was then reduced to a two-week celebration by Governor Benedict Ayade who modernized the festival to be the tourist celebration of Cross River State.

IMG_20240427_070607.png
Edited with canvas

Today, as I write to you, the Calabar Festival is celebrated to market the nation as a tourism hub in Africa. It is celebrated by traditional dances, fashion shows, pageants, power bike riding, and many other events which are carried out during the festival.

There are not many special rules for celebrating the festival the only rules that I know are the rule of putting on red attire, native clothes during the day of traditional dances and o, other small rules.


Are there any special outfits or foods for celebrating your national festival?

Yes, there are special outfits for celebrating the national festival. Red attire is the special outfit for celebrating the festival.

IMG_20240427_070445.png
Edited with canvas

During the festival, it is a must for anyone who wants to participate or wants to be seen around the premises of the festival to put on red attire such as a cap, shirt, or trousers. People are free to dress in their native attires but it must be in red.


Tell us about your favorite memory from celebrating your national festival.

The first time I attended the festival it was an awesome event for me and I felt like not leaving Calabar again. I stay in Calabar from day 1 of the festival to the end of the festival. My favorite memory was the friends that I came in contact with and the top celebrities and politicians that I saw at the festival.

IMG_20240427_070541.png
Edited with canvas

I met with a pretty South African lady with whom I have lost her contact now. She and her friends made me enjoy the celebration as we visited several places in Calabar, where I was also taught how to speak the South African language.

I am inviting: @dove11, @lhorgic, @patjewell, and @ruthjoe

Sort:  
Loading...
 20 days ago 

Hello @josepha! It seems that the Calabar Festival is an incredible celebration of Nigerian culture and a vibrant display of its rich heritage. I am impressed by how it started as an early Christmas celebration and has evolved into the largest street party in Africa attracting tourists and highlighting the beauty of Cross River State. Their experiences, especially meeting new friends and enjoying the festive atmosphere , really highlight the joy and community spirit these festivals foster. It's wonderful how these events can create lasting memories and even cross cultural connections. Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm and experience. Hopefully this year's festival brings even more memorable moments!

 19 days ago 

Indeed, the festival has become a very popular festival in Nigeria which is now attended by other countries. Thanks for your support.

 18 days ago 

Hi @joseph I must agree with you that Calabar Carnival is an exceptional event with beautiful traditional, and cultural heritage in display through costumes, dances, and the themes. And it is always a very beautiful sights to behold,for I have actually witnessed it severally. Because I'm partly from Calabar, and I don't think there are special outfits except meant for the participants inform of costumes but every other persons can wear or put on anything.

 18 days ago 

Thanks for your support. Indeed the people of Cross River State are blessed.

 18 days ago 

My pleasure ♥️

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 20 days ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 20 days ago 

Thanks for inviting me and showing me the rich culture of Nigeria. This Calabar Festival seems similar to the one we celebrate the carnival Days in my home state of Goa.

 20 days ago 

You are welcome sir.

 20 days ago 

Kalbar festival dresses look very attractive to me. Not only the dress but every activity including dance, fashion show, all activities are attractive. Attending this festival is a really great experience. You get to know African women and learn African languages. Good luck to you.

 20 days ago 

Well you can't talk about festivals in Africa, especially in Nigeria without mentioning Calabar festival. It a very popular festival that attracts tourist around the world. You have presented beautifully, I wish you the very best.

 20 days ago 

Honorable @josepha sir,,Greetings to this contest,,

Every country is unique for its own history and traditions. But Nigeria is ahead in these aspects. Nigeria is famous and rich in its traditions for the Ghedra Festival. Among these popular festivals, Calabar Festival is very famous. Thousands of visitors from different parts of the world flock to enjoy it. Each and every member of the cast mesmerized the audience with their dazzling attire.

The memorable incident you shared is really exciting, where you met a South Orfilan girl and traveled with her to many places while also enjoying the Calabar Festival. But, the sad thing is that you have lost his contact. I hope you will be able to meet him again.

 19 days ago 

Thanks for you support.

 19 days ago 

Honorable sir,,it’s my pleasure ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71