SEC-S17W1: "Season of My Country

in Steem For Bangladesh5 months ago

Hello Steemit friends how are you all doing? Trust you are all doing well, I'm fine over here. It's a rainy cool day here today. I am glad to participate in this first week of Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 17 and the Steem for Bangladesh community. I will be writing on the topic "Season of My Country" making emphasis on my country "Nigeria".

image.png
Source

How many seasons are in your country? Which one is your favourite and why?

There are two seasons in my country Nigeria which are Dry and Rainy seasons. In my country Nigeria, the dry season starts from November to March and is influenced by the harmattan wind which comes with a lot of haze environment. While in the other hand, the rainy season starts from April to September.

My favourite of the two seasons is the rainy season because I can deal with the rainy season but the dry season is a no-no for me because it shrinks my skin and makes me so conscious of moisturising my skin. There are other discomforts this also causes for me which makes me always want to align with the rainy season. The harmattan that is associated with the dry season puts me off each time it shows up.

If there was one season you wanted to skip forever, which one would it be? Explain the reason.

Just as I briefly explained above, the dry season is one season I would want to skip forever. It comes with a lot of discomfort that puts me off always. Some of us who have experienced this time would know what such a period looks like. I would want to skip the dry season because it does not do me well at all, it affects my skin in a way I don't like.

The dry season comes with a dusty environment which causes predominantly known sickness within this time known as flu. An ailment that affects the respiratory tract that either causes sneezing or cold.

Describe a traditional or special activity that people in your country do during a particular

image.png
Source

During the dry season in my country, farmers harvest and sell their farm produce, and it's time to cultivate the soil ahead of the rainy season in preparation for the next cultivation season.

In the rainy season and around the end of this season in August, my country celebrates the New Yam festival. The purpose of this celebration done annually is to give thanks for a bountiful harvest. On occasion, yam is prepared in different delicacies like pounded yam which is eaten with soup, roasted yam eaten with sauce and yam pepper soup, as the case may be.

Are there any special foods or drinks that people in your country enjoy most during certain seasons? If so, what is it and why?

Every season in my country comes with special foods, drinks and fruits which we always long for as the season approaches.

In the rainy season, it is time to enjoy the white star apple ( cherry) and in my local dialect, it is called Udara. Another fruit we enjoy during the same period is carrots, Citrus fruits, Sugar cane and Sweet potatoes.

On the other hand, during the rainy season, we enjoy Maize and pear which is typically called "Oka na Ube" in my dialect. There are lots of Okra in this season which is a major source of veggies and this is when we enjoy our native Okra sauce.

In summary, seasons are peculiar to every country over time and have been well managed to increase yield and excellent human habitation. My seasons have been tailored to the same ideology.

I will invite @kinkyamee, @chima09 and @hisgeneral to take part in this challenge

Sort:  

Sorry dear, the dry season treats you so badly making your skin steeved and giving the look of that of an elderly woman. The dust that comes with the dry season is something you can't cope with because it comes with diseases and sickness of all kinds. Rainy season rains fortune and this brings joy and happiness to mankind. Food and water for individuals in the country will be surplus, making us live a fruitful life on earth.

Yes, Rainy season brings joy and happiness to mankind making food and water surplus. Hahahahaha you said the dry season gives me the look of an elderly woman. Thank you for reading through my post and commentting

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

I really enjoy reading your entry, you have explained everything in great detail and to be sincere I enjoyed everything, I have seen in your country you have the best season so far, and one is your favorite. You have explained the reason you chose it and how people make used of this particular season.. wish you success

Thank you for stopping by on my post and finding it valuable.

Hello friend, you highlighting that there are 2 seasons in the country and you detest the dry season because you are an enthusiast of cool environment. There is much bliss in the fact that you love the cool environment during the rains. The discomfort you disclosed is so true as there is much too. Things like rashes and skin tanning can be seen during the season. Thanks for your insight and success in the challenge my dear friend

Thank you friend for commenting on my post with understanding, I'm not a fan of dry season because of the discomfort but have to manage it.

 5 months ago 

Hello dear @chilaw
It's fascinating to learn about the seasons in Nigeria and how they impact daily life. The preference for the rainy season due to its relief from dry skin and discomfort caused by the harmattan wind is understandable. The New Yam festival during the rainy season is a cherished tradition, celebrating bountiful harvests. Special foods like cherry and maize are enjoyed during their respective seasons, adding joy to the seasonal experience.

Thanking for reading through my post and i'm glad you have learnt about the season in Nigeria and the special foods enjoyed in each season. Good luck

 5 months ago 

Hello @chilaw

rainy season because I can deal with the rainy season but the dry season is a no-no for me because it shrinks my skin and makes me so conscious of moisturising my skin. There are other discomforts this also causes for me which makes me always want to align with the rainy season. The harmattan that is associated with the dry season puts me off each time it shows up.

  • According to your point of view you like rainy season then I also think that most people's favorite is rainy season because there is prosperity all around but when dry season and harmton starts everywhere. Drought and heat are extreme enough to damage our skin which is bad for our health.
    @mona01

Exactly the heat is extreme to cause harm to the skin. Thank you for stopping by to read and comment on my post. I appreciate.

 5 months ago 

You Wellcome

You are correct that Nigeria has two seasons, which is the the dry season which takes place from November to March and the rainy season from April to September.

Your favorite season is the rainy season because you can cope better with it, unlike the dry season which causes discomfort to your skin. The dry season brings the harmattan wind with dust that affects your skin and health, making you prefer the rainy season.

Yes thats is my reason of preferring the rainy season. The dry season comes with lots of discomfort. Thank you for reading and commenting on my post. Best of luck

 5 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

@chilaw Its refreshing to hear your perspective on the rainy season and the challenges of the dry season. Your description of the New Yam festival and seasonal foods brings back fond memories. Best of luck

Thank you for reading and commenting on my post, every season is special and unique in its way and comes with its special fruit and food. I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57