Steem inspiration contest/ The stranger I won't forget @Apphiahacer

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago (edited)

IMG-20210619-WA0000.jpg

I sat on the big boulder watching the cascade. The sound of the water brought back memories, from my time with Anthony, when it was all love and I thought I could build my home with him, but it wasn't so. I could still remember that November night when he rang, I was excited, Katherine my roomate said he was going to propose. I put on a red dress and the pearl necklace he got for me on Valentine's day, and I left for Romano's cafe.

After having the first sip of wine, he said there's something I have to tell you. "Let it out already", I said with a glee.
"I'm breaking up with you".
" Stop fooling around Tony",
"I'm serious Elizabeth I proposed to Angela my ex last week. I've wanted to tell you but I couldn't". Anthony's voice sounded distant as he gave me reasons why he decided to end us.I got up from my seat, I felt faint and would have fallen down if not for the chair that supported my weight.

I cried myself to sleep, with Katherine telling me it will be alright. Then the following week, I started stalking Anthony and his fiance, she was a skinny lot so I figured Anthony will come back if I reduced a little, I started being repulsed by food, it was new because I've never rejected food in my life; Katherine said I was going to fall sick.I started shopping at Angela's favourite dress shop and even copied her high pitched laughter. With each day, I was fading, becoming a shadow of myself. And because Anthony didn't notice me or reach out after a month, I started partying hard,meeting different guys everyday and uploading the pictures on the gram, a way to spite him, but still he didn't budge even though he liked some of the pictures. But each night after my outings, I came back drained and empty.

Each day I evolved into a different person; a copy of someone else.
Then one day, Katherine came home, and looked at me and said.
"Look at you Lizzy, I can't even recognize you anymore. You've become this stranger, a shadow of yourself, I don't even know who you are anymore. Do you even know who you are?"

She turned the question right back at me. You've always been so sweet and warm and full of life, but now... She shook her head and left me.
That night, I got up and looked at myself in the mirror, I needed to heal. The next day, I booked an appointment with a therapist and started a session and that was how I began healing.

Now here I am, sitting here just like the therapist had suggested; watching this waterfall, somehow the waters helped soothe the pain in my heart that reminded me of that stranger, at one phase in my life that I will never forget, the one from my love story with Anthony, a stranger that now defined my path, a stranger that I wouldn't want to be. I was that stranger, and the stranger was me.

Sort:  

wow. the story short enough for me to grasp the whole feeling (the desperate and I donno the exact word, redemption?) in one smooth flow.

Very well written.
best of luck for the contest

Life is full of surprises. So, expect the unexpected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59