THE DIARY GAME: 11/8/2020: A DAY IN THE KITCHEN

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

Dear diary,

I woke up today a bit early, 6:20 a.m. to be precise. I had to prepare for cooking and fix lunch for hubby to take to office.

There were cooked beans from yesterday, so I just warmed it for him, while he made breakfast for us.

A shot with hubby before he left
img_1597152801456.jpg

When he left, I went to kitchen to start my cooking. Today I planned to prepare affang and okra soups.

I started with okra soup. First, I sliced the okra with kitchen knife, boiled the periwinkle to remove dirt.

I grinned the crayfish, cut the odusa leaves, then put the empty pot on fire. I used our electric hot plate since there is electricity.

img_1597225312642.jpg
prepared ingredients for the soups

When the pot got dried, I put palm oil. I used 3 big spoons, equivalent to 0.3 litre. Amount of oil you use depends on the quantity of soup prepared.

I was preparing a full pot of about 5 litres. So, I had to put much ingredients. The periwinkle was 30g, crayfish, 4g, okra 10g, salt 0.5g, dry fish, stock fish and meat took 15g collectively.

For the water, I used 2 litres because the other ingredients took the remaining space. This is wisdom. If you put too much water, the soup will either be too watery or tasteless because the concentration of the ingredients will reduce.

After the okra soup, I set out to prepare affang soup. The affang leaves were grinned in the market for me. All I needed to do was to wash and cut the water-leaves.

Still making the ingredients ready
img_1597225255712.jpg

Already I had prepared other ingredients while preparing the okra soup. The affang soup was more in quantity than the okra soup. I did about 9 litres of the soup, using our big pot.

I took 1 hour 30 minutes to prepare both soups. After that, I prepared garri to eat with affang soup. Hubby was not yet back, so I ate with my brother.

cooking in progress
img_1597225171706.jpg

That’s it for today. I hope you learned something about my cooking.

I belong to @teamg-nigeria and HERE’S OUR TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

For more about me, HERE’S MY INTRODUCTION POST.

Stay positive and steem on!

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74