The Stranger I will never Forget (my submission to a contest organise by @prechyrukky

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

images (10).jpeg

He is not just a stranger but an Angel in disguise, 5th of April 2018 will always be a remarkable day in my life, a week earlier, John ( my husband) came back from work with a seminar invitation, he was to attend a week seminar in Lagos, it happens to fall into the 8th month of my pregnancy, john was very concerned about my delivery day as we had no relative or friend here in osogbo, because we just relocated to the city some months back, he was of the opinion of rejecting the seminar invitation but at the same time it is a good avenue to get some money which we will spend after the delivery, we concluded to visit the maternity the next day to confirm our Expected Delivery Date (EDD) but happily the date given by the Doctor show we still have two weeks left. Then I said to John, God is on our side you can go and attend the seminar while I take care of myself for the week since the doctor had given us some leaves of assurance that my delivery is still two weeks ahead.
On Monday morning, he dressed up, and get set for the journey to Lagos, he his traveling with our one only Toyota Camry. ...

On Tuesday the I started feeling a very strange kicked down my belly, this is far different from all this previous ones but I had to endure it, the kicked comes and after sometime I will be ok again, I just begin to imagine while this is happening when John wasn't at home, I I formed him on phone, he asked me to make sure I see the doctor the following morning.

On Wednesday 5th of April, I just manage to cook a small meal knowingly that I need to eat before going so I can take any drugs my doctor prescribed to me.
On getting to the maternity after my Dr examine me he said we will be expecting the baby earlier than expected, but you just go home and continue your normal activities then you can come back in the next 12 hours, but when coming, do come with all the baby material. I immediately said sir but you said two weeks time. But he replied you can go home ma without attending to my question. I managed to stand up and when back home. To cut the story short, around 6pm that same day the kicked was now unbearable this time it was as my entire stomach is working against me, I couldn't stand or seat. I took my phone to call John but wasn't reachable. I tried to call my naighbour even though we are not in good term but she wasn't at home yet. I said to myself be a strong woman, I tried to pack all the baby material the hospital requested for and manage to went out to get a bike or taxi to the maternity, it was already getting dark, just besides the road while I was standing and bending In pain a young man drive toward me and packed, he should be between the age of 35-40. madam what happened? He asked. My only replied was "maternity" he immediately understand and help me with my bags and take me into the car,
He drive as fast as he could to the hospital. On getting to the maternity when the nurses were asking for my materials, then I noticed I had forgot one of my bad on the center table at home, he then ask if those important items there can be bought with. Yes a nurse reply but the charges here are different, the man immediately ask the nurse to bring out those material as he made a transfer of 15k to cover the cost instantly, to the glory of God I went into the delivery room and deliver a baby boy, the young man was still very around performing all the responsibility my husband should have been doing. Those nurses on duty even call him the father of the baby. After the baby has been well taken care of, she told me he should be on his way home and the should be around 3:am on Thursday. And that he had settle all bills together with a booking of a taxi to take me back home when ever am been discharged, I tried to ask for his phone numbers but he refused to give me, why about your name sir? I ask but the only replied he gave was Pleased do take care of yourself as he walked out.
Ever since that time I have not been opportune to meet him again, he was just a God's sent. I narrated the whole story to John on his return and how I wish I meet the man to show our heart of appreciation, we tried all efforts but till today we couldn't find him.

Sort:  

It's rare to see persons with such amazing heart

Thanks for your participation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61917.78
ETH 3393.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51