Steemit Engagement Challenge-S13W3 | "Bare Feet 🐾"

in Healthy Steem9 months ago

It is another great moment to engage this week by participating in the third week of the Steemit Engagement Challenge. A time to make my quality entry into the community on the topic that wants to elaborate more on the feet health.

Just as little as that may sound, the feet are one major part of the body that we neglect most of the time. We only tend to pay attention to it when we get hurt because it brings some discomfort pains to us.

image.png
pixabay

Do you like walking barefoot? Explain your reasons.

I am not used to walking barefoot. Growing up, Yes, but now, No. While we were growing, I remember how my mom would always want to shout and scold me to always do so but as kids, we usually believe it disturbs our effective play time out there. We rather prefer it barefoot to have the feel of the earth except when the sand is hot and hurts the feet.

At present, I do barefoot sparingly while at home since that is the place for such freedom. At work, the feet are usually inside the shoe or sandals. But most of the time, I feel comfortable using the home slippers while walking around in the apartment. I always feel irritated, unsafe, and uncomfortable using barefoot at all times especially when I step on sandy particles and objects.

I think part of this discomfort and phobia was ignited from experience. First was when I was still in my adolescent era, I dashed one of my toenails on a stone which later healed and resulted in a very bad Tetanus that got my life on the line. The second was also during my play time in a field, I stepped on a snake that almost got me bitten. I hardly step on any cold object without remembering this ugly incident.

How important is taking care of your feet?

In my introduction, I did mention that it is that part of the body that we pay the least attention to. But I have become intentional about this part of the body by doing some bi-weekly or monthly cleaning called Pedicures.

image.png
pixabay

This routine cleaning enables me to remove germs hidden by the side of the nails or overgrown nails for the benefit of averting any possible bacterial or fungi buildup. Before cutting off the nails they are soaked in warm water to ease cutting and debris removal.

We have to care for the feet because it is the engine that physically drives the body everywhere it moves. If they are hurt, it does not only hampers our movement but how we move and the pains therein.

What do you think of the saying “Don't walk barefoot, parasites can get in”?

This might be true given my experience as earlier shared. There are no doubt that our environment are parasite and our feet are usually the first point of contact with the floor. So if there is any form of cut whether minor or major, we cannot afford to allow dirt in. And in doing so, we do not need to go barefoot.

I told us about my experience when I had a cut on my toenail. This healed because I was able to hide it and pretend that nothing happened to me. If I had told them about the injury that would probably be the last time I will join others in the playground. Not knowing the dangers and effects of untreated wounds.

Since I was using barefoot to play around or in the sand, it got contaminated and later I was admitted for days after some scary symptoms showed. It was Tetanus and we all the effects of this when it shows up.

It may be good we go barefoot sometimes but we have to maintain some level of hygiene to help reduce the parasitic load around us.

image.png
pixabay

What do you think of a world without shoes?

The advent of shoes was a timely and all important one to help protect the feet from harm. No matter how careful we are, there are tendencies to get hurting through our usual activities and other domestic accidents.

The shoes safely guide the feet from getting cuts and hurt and as well prevent the possible entry of germs into these cut areas. There is little we can do if the exposure is all unguarded.

No doubt, the shoe makes us walk and work smart during our daily activities as it continues to play a protective role.

Over time, it has become another added feature to its use by playing the role of fashion. Designers' shoes are now produced to help give what we wear more color.

The world without shoes would simply look like when we see the madman on the road moving aimlessly on the road.

I want to appreciate the organizers of this contest as this has added consciously some awareness to the feet and how much we should care for them.

I am inviting @ruthjoe, @sahmie and @ninapenda.
Sort:  
Loading...
 9 months ago 

Hola amigo

Yo como tú también llevaba regaños por andar descalzo pero volvía a andar descalzo al día siguiente.

Es verdad a los pies no les prestamos atención hasta que se nos enferman que es que nos damos cuenta de lo importante que son para nosotros.

Un mundo son zapatos es algo impensables porque estamos acostumbrados a usarlos .

Suerte en tu concurso

Saludos

 9 months ago 

Hahaha, funny we all passed through those time we had to go barefoot just to play. Thanks for visiting my post.

 9 months ago 

Playing on barefoot is something I did at tender age too but I think the boys enjoys it more because they can never play football with slippers on. My brothers would always return home with injuries on their legs.

Yes, the pedicure is a good method of taking care of the feet. I run this exercise in my place of work so I know the importance and how healthy it is for the feet.

I am glad that shoes, sandals and slippers were invented to help save the feet a little from infectious diseases.

Thank you Sir for the invite and for sharing this educative content. Good Luck!

 9 months ago 

Hahaha, exactly. The males are more culpable in this. I knew how many floggings that I got from all that but sincerely it was all fun growing up. Thanks friend for responding here. Niceday

 9 months ago 

Hi @xkool24
We know that the foot is a part of the human body, if any part of the body gets hurt, then the foot is all over the body. It is our responsibility to protect the feet because it is a part of our body. Bare feet does not go away. But you can walk barefoot, otherwise, if you walk barefoot on the road etc., then your feet will get damaged and you will suffer a lot, so you should take care of all these things and this nature It is a blessing given by , one should take special care of it

 9 months ago 

The feet is such an important part of the body that requires care as well. Thank you friend for such additions to my post.

Wow my boss what an implicit article you have here, indeed you have explained well and I don't think the world can consider only walking with their barefoot never.

Good luck in this contest..

 9 months ago 

Hahaha, thanks so much for the feedback. It gladdens me when I receive such feedbacks from users. Also thanks for the best wishes.

 9 months ago 

Good evening sir, walking bare-footed is very good when we are indoors because it frees our feet and there's no sharp objects on the floor in our home.

When we wear shoes we always look very smart because shoe is under the category of fashion so am glad it came into existence.

I wish you good luck in this contest. Have a nice day as well.

 9 months ago 

Yes,. Bro. No matter what, we still need our feet in the floor while home to have that feel of the cold ground and ease off feet tension after the days activities with shoes.

 9 months ago 

Very well said ✅
Happy new month.

 9 months ago 

Thank, bro... Best of the month

 9 months ago 

Oh my friend, that incident you had in your childhood with the snake no doubt that must have been disturbing and traumatic, I can see why you prefer to walk alone barefoot instead of alone in your home, because feeling something cold with your foot brings back bad memories.

Best of luck in your participation bro

 9 months ago 

Hahaha, thanks for reading my post in details. Those cold feelings being back the bad memories very quickly. Thanks for the best wishes.

Over time, it has become another added feature to its use by playing the role of fashion. Designers' shoes are now produced to help give what we wear more color.

This is really a powerful point as shoes serve as fashion to man and a shoeless world is a fashionless, uncultured and primitive man. For instance, A man wants tonbe employed as a banker
and dresses very well with a pair of trousers and a well ironed black suits with a tie to match without a fitting shoe, Funny isn't it?

Thanks for sharing.

 9 months ago 

Footwear adds decency to our looks. Thank you for your good feedback

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66239.71
ETH 3448.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61