Steemit Engagement Challenge / S11W2 - “The worst enemy, sugar."

in Healthy Steem10 months ago

Hello Everyone. I am @shiftitamanna
From #Bangladesh

Assalamu Alaikum everyone. Today I'm going to be participating in the Healthy Steem community in week 2 of the Steemit Engagement Challenge. As always the community has presented us with a challenge of public awareness. The topic of this challenge is "The worst enemy, Sugar." We all know that consuming too much sugar is very harmful to health. So today I will give my opinion about sugar intake and its problems in my daily life through this challenge.

Steem Fashion&Style - 2023-07-31T205123.208.png
Image Created By Canva.

f85of4KXmvsQJy974FRvm9w7ttkZ9K7PZ8JeKKtLWsiCW1GbQRTenjkYKWFU39cSTPSs7tGHFsEMtgL1neSRqgLjbfYgZf9DEzFnTWS13HYnn2ygjSrkboA49Ay83fRaHrmgZXYznRAnrtGxF8HEph8XSBjv6FfBdpCXrLLpje8wZwtdjrAFbVErMUPbCVhJc9uBnJ6UEJ.png

Do you know how much sugar you consume per day?

I know that sugar acts like a silent killer for us. Which gradually destroys the function of our body and makes us suffer from different diseases. So I limited my daily sugar needs. When I went to the doctor for my checkup he told me that I can eat an average of 25 grams or 5 teaspoons of sugar per day. We all know that eating too much sugar is very bad for health. As my blood cholesterol level was found to be a bit high the doctor gave me this advice.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-31 at 8.32.42 PM.jpegWhatsApp Image 2023-07-31 at 8.32.43 PM.jpeg

So I use 2 spoons in morning coffee and 1 spoon sugar in afternoon tea which is only like 15 grams. Besides, I dont eat much sugar during the rest of the day. Because I know very well that we can get heart attack, stroke, blood pressure and other diseases due to excess sugar consumption. So I try to prevent myself from consuming excess sugar every day.

f85of4KXmvsQJy974FRvm9w7ttkZ9K7PZ8JeKKtLWsiCW1GbQRTenjkYKWFU39cSTPSs7tGHFsEMtgL1neSRqgLjbfYgZf9DEzFnTWS13HYnn2ygjSrkboA49Ay83fRaHrmgZXYznRAnrtGxF8HEph8XSBjv6FfBdpCXrLLpje8wZwtdjrAFbVErMUPbCVhJc9uBnJ6UEJ.png

Do you have a family member who has diabetes?

Yes, my father has problem of diabetes. My father is suffering from type 2 diabetes since last 15 years. For which my father has to take insulin every day. His blood sugar levels are high and his body cannot produce the necessary insulin. Therefore, he has to take extra insulin through injections. I have been treating him regularly for a long time. Every week I check his diabetes.

Steem Fashion&Style - 2023-07-31T214124.013.png
Image Created By Canva.

Type 2 diabetes is a disease that my father didn't initially recognize the symptoms of. Because it is very slow its symptoms have reflected in my father's body. My father didn't get diabetes just from sugary foods. Due to his erratic eating habits, he is diagnosed with diabetes. Because earlier my father used to consume sugary food more. However, he is currently taking medication and insulin to control his diabetes.

f85of4KXmvsQJy974FRvm9w7ttkZ9K7PZ8JeKKtLWsiCW1GbQRTenjkYKWFU39cSTPSs7tGHFsEMtgL1neSRqgLjbfYgZf9DEzFnTWS13HYnn2ygjSrkboA49Ay83fRaHrmgZXYznRAnrtGxF8HEph8XSBjv6FfBdpCXrLLpje8wZwtdjrAFbVErMUPbCVhJc9uBnJ6UEJ.png

Do you have sugar problems?

No, I don't have much of a problem with sugar. I am not diabetic yet. I check the blood sugar label every week, just like my dad. However, two years ago when I had my blood lipid profile tested, my blood cholesterol levels came out slightly higher. Since then I have been careful about my health. If sugar alone is responsible for this, I am not saying so. This is because I used to eat sugary foods, extra oily and fast foods frequently. So I controlled myself before the situation worsened. Here's how I'm managing my problem :

Steem Fashion&Style - 2023-07-31T214155.227.png
Image Created By Canva.

  • First of all I have developed a habit of eating oats by reducing the amount of rice. Because oats are a fiber rich food that keeps my blood cholesterol under control.

  • Eat a variety of dry fruits. Especially cashew nuts which are good for heart and blood sugar control.

  • Try to eat less sugary foods and eat more vegetarian foods.

  • Since I have to clean the desk in the office, I try to do manual work instead of sitting at other times.

  • Blood sugar test every week in the morning before eating to control cholesterol.

f85of4KXmvsQJy974FRvm9w7ttkZ9K7PZ8JeKKtLWsiCW1GbQRTenjkYKWFU39cSTPSs7tGHFsEMtgL1neSRqgLjbfYgZf9DEzFnTWS13HYnn2ygjSrkboA49Ay83fRaHrmgZXYznRAnrtGxF8HEph8XSBjv6FfBdpCXrLLpje8wZwtdjrAFbVErMUPbCVhJc9uBnJ6UEJ.png

What do you think about sugar as worst enemy?

We all know that excess sugar is very bad for health. It is like the enemy in our life. And for diabetics I think sugar is poison. Since my father has diabetes, I may have a family risk of developing diabetes. Like sugar, it does more harm than good for our health. So I'm always balancing taking that. Consuming sugar has given me good health. Here are reasons why sugar is our worst enemy:

  • Fatty liver occurs in our body due to excess sugar consumption. Because excess sugar goes into our body and it turns into fat.

  • Due to excess sugar consumption, we have high blood pressure, heart disease, stroke, cancer, cataracts, kidney failure, liver failure and lead to death.

Steem Fashion&Style - 2023-07-31T214255.836.png
Image Created By Canva.

  • If the amount of sugar increases in the body, then slowly our weight starts increasing. Fat also starts accumulating in different parts of the body.

  • Sugar is the biggest cause of damage to diabetes. I think the cause of all diseases is that once you have diabetes you will never be able to eat normally again.

  • Consuming sugar lowers our body's immune system, which is a symptom of diabetes disease.

Finally, health conscious people like me will consider sugar as an enemy. I would like to say that actually sugary food is always very tempting to us but its harmful aspects act as enemies in our life. But the body also needs sugar. Therefore, sugar intake should be balanced.

f85of4KXmvsQJy974FRvm9w7ttkZ9K7PZ8JeKKtLWsiCW1GbQRTenjkYKWFU39cSTPSs7tGHFsEMtgL1neSRqgLjbfYgZf9DEzFnTWS13HYnn2ygjSrkboA49Ay83fRaHrmgZXYznRAnrtGxF8HEph8XSBjv6FfBdpCXrLLpje8wZwtdjrAFbVErMUPbCVhJc9uBnJ6UEJ.png

I would like to invite my friends @mdkamran99 , @irawandedy, @goodybest , @jyoti-thelight, @ridwant, @radjasalman to participate in this contest. Click here to go to the contest link.

Untitled (52 × 36 in) (2).gif

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xyWsw1kHnXVkn7Qp6hme6bwxmeXAsiaziMYqPesnvAxBKoZxpvAxoJGLfGnEUeMr1gEv2DbujLXro4ihMK4nci7VnRSHt.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

hi @shiftitamanna! You are very precise in your control of sugar amount! Your post is very informative. Me too I was told that blood cholesterol is linked to sugar, I discovered recently and I didn't know. So I am trying to reduce it. Good luck in the contest my friend!

You take your health very serious and does things not to jeopardize it. Your father's experience must have been enough lesson to take care of yours, so that it will not be the same thing repeating itself over again.

I love the things you do to ensure that to keep your blood pressure and sugar level in control.

I wish you luck in the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50