SEC-S13/W4| "The Role of the Caregiver ♥️ "

in Healthy Steem10 months ago (edited)

Screenshot_20231107-230440.jpg

INTRODUCTION

Hello friends, we are in season 13 week4 of the engagement challenge already, this topic is so interested that it makes the community to be so active.

Caregiver is what God has ordained me for,I have so many reasons of saying that.
Just take your time and go through my entry, you will know the reason I said so.

I want to invite my friends to join me, @ngoenyi, @eliany and @okere-blessing

Have you played the role of caregiver or do you know someone who has put it into practice? Tell us about it.

Personally I have several work of a caregiver before, not only to one person but to so many people in my life.

I was married to the first of the family were both parents were still alive then and they really need my care which I render to them.

received_798639994337182_1.jpeg

It first started with my father in-law, he had prostrate cancer and they had to operate him, bit since he was old the doctor refuse to operate him and as the results of that, he couldn't urinate on his own, so the doctor has to pass catheter through his stomach to help me pasd urine.

So since my husband was the first son, he had to bring his father for me to take care. He stays with me for months and along the line my mother inlaw went to church at cross river state, calabar and on their way going she had an accident.

Screenshot_20231107-230440.jpg

And since I was a nursing mother, I can't stay with her there in hospital at calabar, my late husband had to bring her to Akwa ibom state where base, and when she was out from the hospital, she was brought to my house because her right hand got dislocate and I happened to care for both husband and wife.

My mother-in-law and my father-in-law stays with me for over 2 years until my father in-law was call to the mother land.

Screenshot_20231107-230505.jpg

It didn't even end there, 2019 my father got sick she was operated, but after the operation, so many sickness set in that warrant we spending alot of money then at the end, every one was tired and he had to stay at home, so one day my husband as me to go bring my dad to my place so that we can put him in one of the best hospital, so from that day I start taking care of my dad then my siblings will just be coming and be going, but I will be the one that stays with him until he pass to the mother land. My dad stays with me for 8 months.

Do you think that caring for a sick person should be a team effort or the work of a single person?

To me, caring for a sick person should be a team work because is not easy for just one man to do that, I can remember when my mother-in-law and my father-in-law stays with me, I pass them hell. My marriage nearly scatter because of them.

No matter what you do, they won't see it, at times I will cook and they will demand for a separate food.

Had it been we divided the work to other of their children, the burden would have been lifted.

So caregiver work should be a team work to make it easier for the caregiver.

👩‍⚕️ What qualities do you think a caregiver should have?

  • A caregiver must be tolerance, that work is not easy. If you are not a patience type, you will definitely have issues with your patients.
  • A caregiver must be someone that has compassion, firstly, you must put yourself in their shoes, what if what they are going through happened to you, how do you want to be care for. If you think of this, there is no way you won't have compassion for your patients.

👩‍⚕️ What advice would you give to a person who is performing this role?

My advice to the caregiver is that when taking care of your patients, do well to take care of yourself too, stress kill faster than we can imagine. You can be mentally drained,.

I can remember those days I was caring for them, at times I will have black out, feel dizziness.

So meet your doctor for check up at all times.

Know more about me

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

You've really endured a lot I must say. Personally, I pictured being in your shoes if I'll always be able to do so especially with people that have stroke. It only takes grace and patience to continue. You've really tried a lot for them despite their limitations. Sometimes when I have a conversion with people that are experiencing such, they'll wish these people they are taking care of dies fast so they can stop spending too much money and time. Sometimes it would be as if it's a temptation to make you do what you didn't intend doing. I hope your parents are good now? Wishing you best of luck in this challenge

Loading...
 10 months ago 

Hello friend @mesola...🥺🥺....
What an emotional experience..
Having to take care of you parent in-law at the same time wasn't really and easy task. Prostrate cancer ♋ is a very dangerous type of cancer hence there must be a need for a caregiver which you were present at that moment. Kudos to you for keeping tied with them despite their circumstances... I hope your parents are all doing well by the Grace of God Almighty....

So sorry you have to face the weight of taking care of your parents at that time all alone without the allocation of team effort. Like you said if team effort was present at That time for you it would be more easier and less stressful...

So caregiver work should be a team work to make it easier for the caregiver.......

When it comes to caregiving, tolerance and compassion are two of the most important qualities to have. Tolerance means being able to understand and accept the different needs, preferences, and behaviors of the person you are caring for. Compassion means having a deep sympathy for the person's situation, and a desire to ease their pain or suffering. Without these qualities, it would be difficult to provide effective care. By combining tolerance and compassion, a caregiver can create a positive environment that helps the person feel supported and cared for.

Thanks for sharing and good luck with the challenge....

I must say, your great care giving qualities are so reputable, i must say taking care of someone who has prostate cancer is not such an easy task. You are indeed not only a care give but also a life saver. You deserve some accolades. Your in-laws and parents must be proud of you seeing how you took care of them too when they had accidents too!

 10 months ago 

Holaa sra @mesola veo que cuido varias personas y aprendio mucho de ello😎tiene razon tolerancia y compasion se debe tener al paciente. Suerte en su reto bye ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53