Steemit Engagement Challenge / S13W2 - "Protect your Mental Health from Social media Dangers"

in Healthy Steem9 months ago (edited)

social-media-icons-1177293_1280.webpsource

Preface

Welcome to my blog for today, it's really nice to be joining in this awesome engagement challenge in this community and I hope that you guys will find my post interesting to read through. Truely the social media has been part of our life as it has done so much good and at thesame time done so much hard to us all.

What is social media to your life? And how many hours to you spend on it in a day

I bet that the social media has become the part of life of each and everyone of us here and no one can deny it, the social media in one part has been really helpful and have yielded a positive habbit in our lives and also at thesame time has done some huge damages in some if our life, the social media has been helpful in such a way that it has brought us ways to contact with our families and loved ones who do not really life close to us.

To me, I spend so many hours in some if the social media platforms I Registered myself into, it has come to my notice based on observation that I spend so much time in the social media as I can really count the hours because every minute I get a free time, I used it to check if there is any message from a loved one on any of my social media platform. At last, I can say that the social media is gradually becoming part of my life.

Five ways the social media can be a negative impact to our life's and that of our loved ones

phone-869669_1280.jpgSource

The social media on its own has its negative effect on us, and I really think that it is normal and natural, because anything that has its positive impact in our life asli tends to have a negative impact one way or the other. Below are some examples of the negative impact if social media to our life's.

cyberbulling

This is the number one effect of social media in my list, and I know that it might sound off, in real life, buying is something that is done face to face and most times people do crazy things or get depressed because they were pullied or treated in a bad way, now what if you are bullied online without knowing the person that bullied you and there are millions of people around the world watching you and making mockery of you.

Online attacks really leave a huge scar in our mind and body and also in everything we do, most times it might drive someone to crazy and force them to do things that might hurt them in life, it's true that social media helps us in making new friends from around the world, but it also brings room for other bad people to dteo into our life and destroy something we have been building for a very long time.

unhealthy sleep pattern

In most occasion, the social media can really damage many things in our life's than we expect, numerous research have come to tell us that spending too much time on the social media can equally lead to unhealthy sleep pattern which is really bad to our health, these can happen in a situation that we might want to just check our notifications in Facebook for only five minutes, but to our greatest expectations we have spent more than an hour or more viewing pictures and watching movies.

It is advisible that whenever you feel that your sleep pattern is becoming irregular, you need to try your best in dropping the hours you use to spend on social media and have a good rest for a couple of days so that your body system can start working effectively.

depression and anxiety

If you are a type that spends much time on the social media, you will find that that it is gradually taking over you and shaping the way you think and view things, it only helps you to see the hood side and life that other people out there are living, and later you will start to compare then with the negative part of your life, if these happens to you, you will notice that you report poor mental health and unable to think straight which are symptoms of anxiety and depression.

Most times you will end up been upset because you have just viewed a social media video or picture which you think that you need to live up to that kind of standard, so to avoid these from happening, the recommended amount of time to spend on social media everyday is just half an hour.

fear of missing out

This is another bad effect of the social media in our life's, no one wants to be missing out in life, everyone wants to always hang out with their friends and have a good time, now in a situation that you viewed a picture of video of your friends who didn't invite you to come with them, am sure that you will feel bad and also these have created a bad mindset between you and your friends whereares the didn't mean bad, but due to social media you have hated them with passion.

This type of effect is mostly seen between teenagers of our age, we always want to be with our friends and have a good time, no one wants to be left behind.

general addiction

So many people have become more addicted to the social media than any other thing in their life, in a situation that they value their social media accounts and time they spend in it more than their family and loved ones, I have seen so many situation where a family fall apart because the wife or the husband do not have time for the family, all they focus us on the social media.

If you are not yet sure whether you are addicted to the social media, try to leave a day off without logging into any of your social media accounts and then check how you will feel for that day, am sure that you will feel bad and bored.

mobile-2563782_1280.jpgSource

If I had to implement five rules to make my social media more healthier in my environment, what would it be?

If it was in my power to make the social media more healthier for everyone in the world, there are some set of rules I would like to enact and they are:

keeping people's privacy private

Although smoke if the social medias today are really trying hard to see that most bad experience that people get today are gone in the social media, but if it was in my power, I will really try my best to see that people's privacy can never be accessed.

encouraging groups that can bring positivity to the world

If it was in my power, I would make sure that I promote and issue gifts to groups that have always wanted to make the world better by teaching others about many useful things in the world, such as dobating, teaching them about health problems and how to solve them.

diactivating any suspicious account

If it was in my power just like other social media platforms are doing today, I will do everything in my power to see that any fraud account or anyone that tries to go against the rules would be out down and should not be able to access the platfom for further notices.

insuring security

Security is needed in everything we do, to make the social media more good and healthier, you need to ensure that there is good security because I have seen so many cases where accounts are being hacked and nothing is done about it which is really bad, if it was in my power, I will put so many rules in such a way that no account would be attacked by fraudsters.

creating opportunity for everyone

If it was in my power to make the social media good again, I will create a circle where opportunities would be create for everyone around the world, in these circle you will be taught so many things that can help you live a good life, you will be though the positivity and negativity of the social media so that you can make the right decisions in life.

I invite @bossj23, @crowd1 ,@nathan10

Introduction post

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Hello my dear friend.

I am glad to be here on this post. And I agree with you in your considerations regarding this topic, which is very good to touch on and emphasize since, as you have said, the negative consequences of the misuse of social networks are already quite well known and yet there does not seem to be greater awareness about it in people. I wish you good luck in this challenge.

Regards,
Faran Nabeel

 9 months ago 

Thank you for commenting on my post.

 9 months ago 

As you mentioned, cyberbullying has become the number one mental health risk, particularly among the younger generation.

 9 months ago 

Yeah, many people end up hurting their self because of the things people do to them.

 9 months ago 

wow. after reading I think that you might be a critical thinker anyhow, nice writeup.

Debemos tener en claro que lo que compartas en las redes sociales por mas que lo elimines siempre deja rastro y mas en la actualidad donde la ociosidad puede mas la racionalidad si bien en cierto que se impulsa los valores y respeto en el hogar, ese avance tecnológico como lo son las redes jamas dejara algo lucrativo al menos que se establezcan límites y parámetros

 9 months ago 

Thanks for the nice comment, I appreciate.

You really wrote well

To be honest, Social media can have diverse negative effect on our lives and that of our families. These negative effects like anxiety, unhealthy sleep pattern, depression can cause drawbacks in the lives of an individual and his family.

Goodluck friend

 9 months ago 

Yes, these shows that you have read the post very well, thank you so much for going through my post.

I really appreciate
I was held spell-bound at the quality of the information you shared as I was fascinated to read more

 9 months ago 

Wow, thanks for the compliment, have a nice day.

 9 months ago 

My friend, the rate of anxiety, depression, cyber bullying going on these days on social media is too much, somehow I pause to ask myself why people just will allow other people's lifestyle influence them much to the extent of getting if they don't have the resource to keep that lifestyle.

Best of luck to you my friend.

 9 months ago 

Thank you for the juice comment, I appreciate.

 9 months ago 

Among the many other harms ,disturbed sleeping patterns are worst of all. It leads to many other kinda of ailments. And cyber bulling is a time which is not properly addresses in my country due to lack of awearness. And it results really terrible situations . Overall your publication gave a very informative overview. Thanks for sharing.

 9 months ago 

Yes, the lack of sleeping time part is really serious, and I wish that everyone would reduce the time they spend online on social media platforms.

 9 months ago (edited)

A beautiful presentation you have here @chukwu10...
Without doubt the invention of the social media platform where we all do one or more activities like messaging, watching videos and reading the latest headlines has made various impacts in our lives individually and as a community, positively and negatively.

To health, spending so much time on the net is destructive to our health, specifically mental health with effects such as depression, lack of sleep and hypertensive issues.....
Your self-derived points are great steps to improve the health of social media.... For example the immediate deactivation of suspicious accounts and the ensuring security and privacy will be of great help...
Thanks for sharing and good luck with the challenge...

 9 months ago 

Not having good sleep or rest really affects our mental health, it makes us to lack creativity when the times comes

Thank you for commenting on my post.

That's a well thought out write up. I really love it.

 9 months ago 

Good, to grow more in steemit you have to read the author's post and comment meaningfully.

Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67050.87
ETH 3252.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64