SEC19 W4: “The brands that shapes my style”

in Steem For Ladies5 days ago (edited)

My dearest friends,

It's interesting how certain brands can have a big influence on your lifestyle. So much so that it actually makes me smile.



We all know that style isn't just about what you wear. No, there is a far more powerful meaning to it. For me, style is a reflection of who we are, that one thing that can influence various aspects of our lives and those closest to us.
Whether it's adopting a loved one’s favorite brand, embracing a trend, or simply using what is known to us, it can forge deeper connections, new avenues, and shared experiences.

Let’s take myself and my husband. For many years, he has been a Crocs lover! As a child, he experienced problems with his feet, and no matter what shoes he wore, as soon as he wore them for a long period, his feet started aching. There is actually a name for it: plantar fasciitis. It is a common cause of heel pain caused by inflammation of the plantar fascia, a thick band of connective tissue that runs along the bottom of the foot from the heel to the toes, which in his case is caused by flat feet.

The advice he was given was to wear a good pair of sneakers. Well, he tried and tested them all with no luck.

Then we heard about a new shoe on the market that was not yet available in South Africa, Crocs. The more we read about it and heard about it, the more it sounded just like the solution he was looking for. The Croslite material that is used in the making of Crocs provides a unique combination of cushioning and support that helps reduce foot fatigue.

Those were the days when you could not just jump on the internet and order whatever you wanted, pay with your credit card, and have it delivered to your home in a couple of weeks. We had to wait in anticipation, my daughter’s biggest word as a child, to see their arrival in South Africa.

2007 was the year that brought this distinctive, comfortable footwear to a new audience, of which my husband was one. He bought his first pair of Crocs. Those were still the traditional gray ones. The ones with the closed-toe clog with a round, roomy toe box, a slightly raised heel, and, of course, those small holes along the sides and top of the shoe. Yes! The ones that, to this day, are still familiar to all of us and that cost an arm and a leg. They are also the ones that he has been buying year after year, seventeen pairs in total.

It turned out to be the perfect solution for his feet, but not for mine. I told him that I would never wear a pair of Crocs, as I found them the ugliest shoes on earth. I would rather walk barefoot. "Over my dead body" were my words.

On September 9, 2017, during a short holiday in Cape Town, he decided that it was time for a new pair and marched me into the Crocs Store at the V&A Waterfront.

It was the first time that I went into a Crocs store, and I was blown away by the different styles, the sizes, and, of course, the colors.

While he was looking around, I took a photo and sent it to the family WhatsApp group.

“Look what we are doing. Crocs shopping!”

He wanted to buy me a pair of Crocs, but of course, I declined. The family, everybody knows how I feel about Crocs. He did not listen to me and told the shop attendant to bring me a pair of "flops,” as he knows I like to wear flops when we are at our holiday home.

Not to make a scene, I took my shoes off, put the Crocs on, and paraded in the shop. “Are you now happy?” Of course, it was his turn to take a photo and send it to the group. There had to be evidence that I was wearing Crocs, despite what I’ve been telling them all these years.

It was only when we got home that I discovered that he actually bought the pair of Crocs. It was in the quiet of my bedroom that I took them softly out of the box and tried them on one more time. Not too shabby! "Squishy" and comfortable, indeed. I was hooked! We now buy two pairs of Crocs every year.

I now understand why Crocs is a brand that not only has a functional need but also has become a cultural phenomenon, leading to its widespread popularity and success around the world.

From a Crocs “flipflop” lover!

PS: Never say... never!



Note:
Images are my own.

I invite @wilmer1988, @dove11, and @jyoti-thelight to take part in this contest

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  

Hi dear friend @patjewell, That's really interesting how certain brands can have such a big impact on our lives! It's great to hear that your husband found comfort in Crocs despite his foot issues. Plantar fasciitis can be quite painful, so it's wonderful that he found a solution that works for him. Thanks for sharing this story with meand thank you for inviting to the contest. Have a nice day

TEAM 1

Congratulations!

THE QUEST TEAM has supported your comment. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags


post.PNG

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

Thank you @sduttaskitchen for found my comment worth reading

 5 days ago 

Hello friend!
I am that one who must say thank you for the visit and the engagement. 🎕

Thank you, I had a great day and I hope you also.

Saludos amiga lo bueno que tienen los zapatos de las grandes marcas es que son hechos con materiales muy buenos y hasta anatómicamente comprobados por eso nuestra pisada al caminar es totalmente diferente a un zapato normal y corriente, lo único malo de las marcas es que su precio es muy elevado en comparación con los zapatos más económicos y que ni son de marcas de renombre

 5 days ago 

Oh yes you are right! If you want to buy the original they come at a hefty price.
Thank you for the visit and the comment. ☕

Muchas gracias amigo @dove11 por brindarme tu apoyo

Thank you for supporting @wox-helpfund

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

BottoSTEEM OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

BottoSteem
Robust Automations on STEEM Blockchain using the Power of AI

https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

 2 days ago 

Thank you!

Quite a very touching story how your journey with crocs started and I believe those brands in years to come will still produce top qualities material

 3 days ago 

I cannot help but to smile all over again after I've read your comment.
Never say never... not even for Crocs (•ิ‿•ิ)

 5 days ago 

Hello friend @patjwell, in the case of your husband he has a problem and has to use brand name croos, that is indisputable, first of all health, the bad thing about brand names is the high costs and sometimes we don't have money.

Greetings

 3 days ago 

Yip! I agree 100% with you.
If you want to buy the real McCoy, it will cost you an arm and a leg, but at least you know that they will last for a very long time.

There will always be someone who is too glad that you are passing it on.

Thanks for the visit! ☕

You know I am a simple person with no style/s. I eat what I get and wear what I find sturdy and long lasting. But what you have mentioned about this footwear sounds great. I use Bata's similar product.

 5 days ago 

You are a lot like me.. keep it simple and enjoy it it my motto
(•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you for the visit and the comment!

Hello sir, your brand of slippers is very good and comfortable and I liked your way of describing them. I am also trying to make my place on this platform. I need your support. It has been 5 years since I have come on this platform. I do try but I make some mistake or the other and when I see everyone on this platform, I feel that I have not been able to do anything yet. I try to support as many people as possible, do contests. I am not able to be very active due to some personal problems, but I always try to be active and prove myself. Thank you madam, take care.

 3 days ago 

Well, welcome back!
There are things that is a must on Steemit if you want to grow.

  1. Post regularly
  2. Post quality posts
  3. Vote on the posts of your fellow Steemains
  4. Comment with good quality and relevant comments
  5. Power up on a regular basis

If you can keep on doing this you will grow.

Good luck!

Thank you sir, I will always try to act based on your advice. You explained it to me so well, for this I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart and I will do exactly the same keeping your advice in mind. I wish you a good day.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 5 days ago 

Thank you!

I have heard about crocs before and I will say one of the things that really draw me much more close to them is the fact that they always produce quality every and any single time

 3 days ago 

Haha! You are so right!
They are like a McDonáds burger or a KFC wing.. always the same no matter where in the world you go. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 5 days ago 

Yes! We received your entry for SEC19: Speak your style!

After reading your story, I understood that your husband knew that you don't like Crocs. Still he took you to the Crocs store because he knew that Crocs are really comfortable. You also tried it reluctantly keeping your husband's respect in mind. Crocs slippers are really good, very comfortable.

To put it in funny words, ventilation remains in it. It is a matter of great happiness that now you also like to wear Crocs. Because you have understood its importance. Well done for sharing this story with us.

The WhatThe How
Steem Exclusive✔️
Plagiarism Free✔️
BOT Free✔️
AI Free✔️
#Burnsteem25
Steem For Ladies
Rating (quality & rules)3



Steem For Ladies

 5 days ago 

Thank you for the verification my friend!
I cannot help but wonder what the next brand would be. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54