Raising boys and girls

in Steem For Ladies3 months ago



“Om kinders groot te maak is nie speletjies nie”.

These were my mother's words to me when I had my first child. What she was saying was that raising children is challenging. Indeed, this I discovered only a couple of days after my son was born, and the doctor told me I have a colic baby.

To crown it, I didn’t listen to her; I had a second child. This time, I had a premature princess.

Looking back, I can give myself some brownie points, as I think I didn’t do a bad job after all. Make no mistake, there were times that I felt like I wanted to strungle them, but each night when I went into their rooms to see if they were okay before I retired to bed and I saw their angelic faces, I was so glad that I didn’t.

This reminds me of my mother again.

“’n Goeie ma voel en minste een maal ‘n dag dat sy haar kinders teen die muur wil gooi.”

Well, mom, I was a good mother, as I did feel like throwing them against the wall at least once a day.

Back to raising them and the question of this contest: did I raise my children equally? Yes, I did.

I am a strong believer in treating children the same no matter what, and it goes for raising them as well. From the time I held them in my arms the first time, I made a promise to treat them equally with respect and love and to allow them to be their own individuals.

“Laat die kinders speel. Die dag wat jy die kinders nie hoor nie is die dag wat jy bekommerd moet wees.”

Mom’s words again. I was complaining about the kids making a noise, and she was telling me to leave them. It is when you don’t hear them that you must start to worry. Man, oh man, did I have a wise mother or not?

I had to discover that before they go to school, your words count. When they go to school, the teacher's words are what matter, and when they go to high school, only their words rule the house.

Still, I treated them the same way. When one got new shoes, the other also got them.

When the one started cycling and I had to drive for kilometers behind him in the afternoons, the other one started with ballet, and I sat for hours watching her practice.

When one was allowed to go to boarding school, the other was also allowed when it was her turn. Okay, there was a difference. When my daughter went to boarding school, I also went to boarding school. I rented a place close to her, and together we returned home on weekends.

They knew the rules of the house, the boundaries that were set, what was expected of them, and what their responsibilities were from a tiny age.

“Jy het jou kinders goed groot gemaak my kind”

This was my mother giving me a compliment, telling me that I did a good job raising my children.

Now my children are grown ups with their own children. It is when I look at them that I can understand how important it was to treat them equally.

They have learned and come to understand that we are all different individuals, and by being raised equally, they can not only live in harmony but also achieve common goals and contribute to the roles we all have to play in the family and the big world around us.

I have to admit that from when my children were kids until now, it is like day and night. It is more challenging to raise children these days, and I take my hat off to parents who deal with things like cyberbullying, peer pressure, gender confusion, stress, anxiety, and more.

It is no longer my mother’s words that fill the room, but mine.

“Let your children be children and allow them to develop as individuals."



Note:
All images are my own
Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
 3 months ago 

As your children have grown into adults with families of their own, it's evident that the values you instilled in them have shaped their character and relationships. Your emphasis on equality and respect has laid a strong foundation for them to navigate life's challenges and contribute positively to society. Thank you for sharing your experiences and insights into parenting, reminding us of the importance of nurturing children with love, respect, and understanding.

 3 months ago 

How nice to see your comment on one of my posts. Thank you!
Kids are special and it is the one thing we must never forget.

 3 months ago 

Yes ma
I enjoy reading your contents,
🤭🤭

 3 months ago 

Kinderen tegen de muur gooien?

Wij plakken ze achter het behang of... gooien ze met het badwater weg!

Dat heb jij goed gezegd!

🍀❤️

 3 months ago 

Yip! Die badwater kan net so goed werk.
Muurpapier.. is te duur om te mors. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Baie dankie vriendin! 🧁

 3 months ago 

Misschien dat wij behangplakken over jullie tegen de muur gekwakte kinderen...of die van onszelf.

Fijne zondag, fijn om jou als vriendin te hebben!
Een knuffie en een extra drukkie

 3 months ago 

Haha!
Dankie, 'n drukkie vir jou ook (づ๑•ᴗ•๑)づꕤ

 3 months ago 

Dank u, slaap jij ooit?
💕🍀

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 3 months ago 

Net so bietjie (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 16 in the Steem For Ladies Community.
Well written ma'am. Yes, I also believe that rearing children to be good to them is behind growing up. I am sure that your son and daughter get equal respect and love from you.

 3 months ago 

Well, then I am glad that we are two peas in a pod! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you for the visit and the engagement. ☕

Cuando hiciste la promesa de tratarlos por igual con respeto y amor, te convertiste en una buena madre y desaparecieron las ganas de tirarlos contra la pared al menos una vez. Ja Ja.

Inculcaste bien la disciplina en casa con equidad, tu madre te enseñó bien.

Hoy en día el reto de criar hijos es mucho mayor, están expuestos a nuevos factores con los que tienen que lidiar como el ciberacoso y la confusión de género.

¡Saludos y bendiciones para tí por ser una buena madre!

 3 months ago 

And it is for me to say... thank you for the visit!

Yip, we live in difficult times. Best of all, you say thank you that you've raised your children successfully, but once there are grandchildren, it starts all over again as you are pretty much also involved in their lives.

There is just no rest for parents. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Your obligation to treating both your youngsters similarly, supporting their undertakings, and it is praiseworthy to define clear limits. It's a demonstration of your adoration and devotion as a parent.

 3 months ago 

Thank you for the visit!
I have learned one thing from being a parent and that is that you always have to be one step ahead of your children even when it comes to raising them. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 3 months ago 

Thank you!

 3 months ago 

Greetings friend, you really did very well in raising them equally regardless of gender. hahaha wise words from your mother, that is the truest thing in the world! You have to worry when they are very quiet. It's true, I hadn't thought about it, nowadays raising children can be more difficult with the challenges of bullying, anxiety, gender confusion... that can affect them for life. Very good publication, success!

 3 months ago 

And it is for me to say thank you for the visit and the engagement.
One thing I can tell you is that it might be difficult to raise children but it is extremely rewarding. Just ask your mom,. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 3 months ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 16 in the Steem For Ladies Community.

Well written ma'am. Yes, I also believe that rearing children to be good to them is behind growing up. I am sure that your son and daughter get equal respect and love from you. I think they should be proud of you.

Thanks a lot for sharing your nice publication with us.

Best wishes for the competition.

Club Status#club100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25
Score (quality/rules)10/10
We invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses
 3 months ago 

Thank you my friend for the kind verification. 🎕
You have such a nice way with words.
I must have done something right as I know my kids love me to the moon and back. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Greeting @patjewell mam, You mentioned that your mother said when you had your first child that raising children is challenging, which I agree with. Although I am not married yet, I have seen many parents put in a lot of patience and sacrifice to raise their children. But it is clear from your words that you want to raise both boys and girls equally without any discrimination which is quite logical. I always say one thing and that is that boys and girls are like two wheels of a bicycle. Discrimination between boys and girls is bad for the family, society and the state, just as a bicycle is immobile without a wheel. I appreciate your logical presentation and wish you all the best.

 3 months ago 

Yip! That, the bicycle without a wheel. I 'm not going to forget this one. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you for the visit and the engagement!

 3 months ago 

Nice point though 🙂
Yes I totally agree they should be raised equally, your mom really did a good job and that's so nice of her.kudos to her.

I'm glad I stopped by this amazing content, I hope you get to win the contest too

 3 months ago 

Thank you! I appreciate your kind words and your good wish.
Unfortunately I cannot win as I am part to the Steem For Ladies community. I just had to say my say hence my post. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69479.52
ETH 3691.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26