Choices! What will it be? #41 FLASK

in Steem For Ladies4 months ago


All types of flasks

As I was scrolling through the contest posts put up by @disconnect, I came across this famous post by my friend @patjewell so I couldn't miss out on the opportunity to make my contribution to this contest so here goes...

What Types Of Flasks Are Talking About

We will be talking about Flask and in my case it will be about the different laboratory flasks that I use as a Laboratory Technician student. There are so many of these flasks with totally different uses and sometimes related uses. The main thing that's gives them the same definition is that there are used to carry liquids and their differences is in the resistance of the different flasks as I will be listed them out.

Laboratory flasks are vessels with long necks and an open wide body and can be used for mixing, heating, measuring, and holding liquids. The few most used laboratory flasks includes the following along with the main thing they're used for.

Classifying Laboratory flasks based on Use
  • Distillation flasks: These are intended to carry mixtures which are subject to distillation, and can also be used to carry other solutions. They come in different shapes based on the specific experiment but all have just 1 narrow neck, are made of thin glass making it easy to heat, as for shapes, it can either be spherical, pear shaped, test tube shaped, round bottom flask shaped. Examples includes, kjeldahl flasks.


Kjeldahl flask

  • Reagent flasks: These are the flasks that can be used to hold reagents and keep for future use in laboratory experiments. They can either be flat bottomed so it can be placed conveniently on a table or slab. These flasks are made up of weaker glass contents and so they can't withstand high pressure and temperature environments . They are accompanied by either a ground glass stopper or threaded necks.

Screenshot_20240118-150433.png

  • Reaction flask: These are usually round bottomed, they bear multiple necks, 3 to six at most or single necked flasks with ground glass at the end and are, they are made up of very thick glass


Multiple necked flask

To tolerate the high pressure and temperature exerted during reactions, and they are convenient for the mixture of various harmful chemicals like acids as it is very thick. Of these flasks we also have the following which can be used for chemical reactions.
Schlenk flask which is spherical with a long neck and a ground glass ending and a hose outlet alongside a vacuum lock this facilitate the reactions in vacuum and high pressure.

We also have a variety of flasks that I will just list for without explaining but for most of them, the functions is in the name and so no need to over check it...

Round bottom flasks
These are shaped like bulbs with long slender tubes that end at the opening, are used for distillation and heating products.

Cassia flasks
Used for the analysis of oils, aldehyde determination.
Erlenmeyer flask Comes shaped like a cone, with another tube bulging out of it at a joint.
Volumetric flask Shaped like a pear used to prepare solutions of high precision as it is graduated.

The list goes on and on but we should be able to know which flask we need to use to have a the best experimental results because using a wrong flask will impair your work and give false results.

I've come to the end of my presentation today I hope you've been impacted today, please feel free to make arguments and also ask for questions where necessary. I invite @pumpkinbae, and @chant to the contest

Thanks for reading

Sort:  
 4 months ago 
Club Status#Club100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI9.4
Steemladies10%
Burnsteem2525%
AI contentHuman
Word count609
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating…..

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 4 months ago 

Hi @bongk, I enjoyed your post.

Yes I have looked at different flasks, even when I was a high school student I got to use them, but only that.

I have seen them also in labs in hematology, but I didn't know their differences and purpose.

Excellent publication.

Regards.

Thanks I appreciate you passing by my post

 4 months ago 

I didn't think we were going to see a post about flasks and here you come and you surprise me with an informative post about them.

Good luck with the contest!

Thanks friend ☺️ I'm so full of surprises 🤣🤣

 4 months ago 

Haha!!! Well, keep it up! ☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67688.54
ETH 3821.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55