Let's do it...Do It Yourself👉Craft, Creativity, Drawing, origami, DIY, Recycling and more

in Steem For Ladies5 months ago

Have been tasting this delicious meal but never care to prepare by myself. All the one I eat is either buy it from the food vendor or my mom is the one preparing it. And today, I said to myself that I must prepare this meal just as I use to see and learn from my mom.

photostudio_1710163461572.jpg

Let start

Ingredients

  • Cocoyam (ikpong)

  • Cowskin

  • Beef

  • Red oil (2 teaspoon)

  • Edusa leaf

  • Periwinkle

  • fish

  • Onion

  • crayfish

  • pepper, seasoning cubes, salt.

Method

photostudio_1710163576485.jpg

Using the knife, peel the Cocoyam, cut it to your desirable shapes, wash it thoroughly 3-4times, put them inside the pot and place on fire.

IMG_20240309_143244_7.jpg

As the pot is on fire. Wash and cut the Cowskin, the beef, fish, Periwinkle. Using another pot, put the Cowskin and the beef. Add slice onions, pepper, salt, seasoning cubes. Stir everything together and keep aside.

Checking on the Cocoyam, it is soft enough to be pound. I bring down the pot and place the one containing the beef and Cowskin.

IMG_20240309_164925_8.jpg

I removes the Cocoyam one after the other and put inside the mortar. Using pestle, I pound it until it becomes very smooth.

IMG_20240308_213028_9.jpg

The beef and and Cowskin is now soft and tender. I added water, fish and allow to steam for 5minute. Then, Periwinkle and small red oil was also added.

Then, I add small portion of Cocoyam, crayfish and allow it open to steam. After awhile, I stir the food. Wash, slice the Edusa leaf, add and allow it for 2minute.

I stir the food again and bring the pot down. Efere usong-ikpong (cocoyam soup) is ready for consumption.

photostudio_1710163280654.jpg
This soup goes well with any type of swallow, such as the cocoyam, Garri, for, pounded yam, semovita.

Benefits of cocoyam

Cocoyam is one of my local food that is love by elderly people. It is known to be the ideal food for diabetic people. It has the ability to control blood pressure, weight loss, reduce muscles cramps, help in digestion.

Cocoyam consist of Vitamin B1, B2, C and minerals. Vitamin B1 in cocoyam is also known as thiamine, a very good vitamin for increasing focus, boost energy, fighting chronic stress. Cocoyam also help to prevent cancer, improve healthy eye.

I'm inviting @joymm, @saintprisca and @kidi40.

Cc:
@ngoenyi

  Thanks for visiting my blog!
Sort:  
 5 months ago 

My friend, the soup looks very provocative. Interesting preparation.
Thanks for sharing your mom's recipe.
Regards.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 5 months ago 

Wow! That is a very interesting array of ingredients @bela90! I cannot say I have ever had cow skin before! When you say "cow skin" are you actually referring to the hide or the layer just underneath the hide - because I would have thought that the hide would be VERY tough and almost impossible to each unless it is cooked until crispy. I am very curious to know!

I had to Google Cocoyam - it looks similar to ginger. I don't think I have ever had that before, but it sounds like it has a LOT of very good nutritional elements.

I had also never heard of Edusa leaf - which I also Googled and could only find "medusa leaf" - is that the same thing?

 5 months ago 

Am glad you visiting my blog with a nice comments. The Cowskin am referring to the the layer. Before you get it cook, you need to burn it very well and then wash and soak in water before cooking.

The cocoyam has many nutritional benefits on the body once you eat. And for the leaf, I think, the Edusa might be the same as Medusa leaf but called differently depending which part of the world the person is.

 5 months ago 

you need to burn it very well and then wash and soak in water before cooking.

That is fascinating!!!

And thanks for sharing that info with me :)

You learn something new every day!

Loading...

Thanks for sharing such awesome content
@bela90!
It has been featured in our latest
BLOG CURATION POST!
You will receive 10% of the rewards
earned on that curation post.

We have also given you an upvote and a resteem!

the luvbug.gif
An initiative by @jaynie

Please feel free to show your support to this initiative as well as to the authors featured within!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

 5 months ago 

I enjoyed your teaching ma. It's very nice learning from you😅 and getting hungry already, and thanks for the invite

 5 months ago 

Thanks for the invite dear.. Your food looks yummy😋.. Would love to have a taste of it..

 5 months ago 

This look so yummy 😋
Didn't know how to prepare this, from your steps I will give a try again to be good with it.
Thank you for sharing the steps with us.

 5 months ago 

This recipe of yours looks very delicious a dish looks common but the dish looks very unique I like your recipe very much thank you for sharing such a nice recipe with us

 5 months ago 

Thanks for the nice comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41