You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My entry - The Steemleo Weekly Writing Contest Week #4 | Can Social Media on the Blockchain Work in the Real World?

in SteemLeo4 years ago

Just off your title...
... it's not a question of can, but will. The world needs it. I believe digital asset value is crucial to the overall development of global communities and the overall society. If we do not see decentralized-sm beginning to take flight in the next couple of years, I believe it will because of opposition, not market factors.

In regards to many of the problems (i.e. plagerism and abandonment) you list, I believe these issues will be shown to be much less problematic on blockchains. After all, why would anyone (even a scammer) leave if a crypto has promising growth potential. Economic incentives in this way encourage a duality of responsibility because reputations inevitable mean money.

Now, I must admit that I only read up to your dark blue crow logo, then skimmed the rest. Was not prepared for anything more than a five minute read/thought exercise. Additionally, my decentralized social media experience is limited to Steemit and Whaleshares.

That said, I really took to the paragraph from where I pulled this quote:

7 days, and that users do not need to have an absurd amount of steem power to give a vote of 0.01$.

Both of these issues have been major drawbacks for me.

Glad to get to know you through Project #Hope.

P.S. It is my belief that the Steemit devs want their tech to become a customizable social media tool rather than a usable platform- to run as a bottom layer for others to develop attractive user interfaces on top of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44