Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 2 (Week 3)| Local Business review: Tell us about a market, shop or business in your City || Contest Entry By@Talktofaith

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

Hello friends, it's nice making my entry for this week's edition of steemit engagement challenge contest by @steemalive.

In this week's contest, we were asked to make a review of local business, shops or local markets. If you missed the Contest post, you can check it out here.

So for my entry into the contest, I am going to be reviewing Barriga Market.

BARRIGA MARKET

Barriga market is a food stuff based local market located at Barriga Lagos Nigeria. It is a popular market and located quite at the center of the city, along the road.

Barriga market is known for majorly food stuffs and house hold equipments. It is also known for it's affordability. Majorly, the food stuffs in Barriga market are usually affordable, though the prices of things in the market these days have skyrocketed, but one can always get anything based on the amount you have at hand.

The below is a view of one of the market lines.

IMG_20220620_165959_009.jpg
What3words

One can get virtually all edibles in Barriga market, including herbal medicinal drugs. It's a very popular market well known in Lagos Mainland.

Herbal Shop:
The below is a local herbal medicinal shop, they deal on all kinds of herbal drugs and related supplement like honey, nim, tumeric, gorontula, coconut oil, soyabean etc.

IMG_20220620_165859_662.jpg
Herbal shop in Barriga market

I also bought honey from them. Since I came to know about the shop, I do shop my honey from them. They sell quality and original honey.

The below is the honey I got from them.

IMG_20220621_163623_092.jpg
My honey from herbal shop

The honey costs 1,000 naira Nigerian currency. Which is approximately 10 steem.

Foodstuffs Shop:
The below are some local food shops in Barriga Market. They are all owned by one person. Though the prices of these food stuffs has gone up more than it use to be, but one can still afford to buy these things in a cheaper rate than other markets. From my picture below you can see some of the things they deal on. We have rice, crawfish, Nigerian processed red Oil, groundnut oil, sachet tomatoes etc.

IMG_20220620_172159_704.jpg

IMG_20220620_172217_143.jpg

IMG_20220620_172206_857.jpg

I also got a couple of stuffs from them, as can be seen from my below picture.

IMG_20220621_164646_936.jpg
My red Oil, groundnut oil and sachet tomatoes

The red Oil cost 400 hundred naira Nigerian currency, which is approximately 4.21 steem.

The groundnut oil cost 700 naira which is approximately 7.5 steem.

The sachet tomatoes costs 600 naira Nigerian currency, and approximately 6.32 steem.

Provision Shop
The market has a couple of provision shops located in it as well. The Below is one of the provision shops you can see in Barriga market. Funny enough, this shop sells at wholesale rate.

I couldn't take much pictures in the shop because the owner of the shop was so mean.

IMG_20220620_165405_765.jpg
A provision Shop

IMG_20220620_165320_755.jpg

I also got a couple of provisions from them, as can be seen from my below picture.

IMG_20220621_164935_325.jpg
My provision from the local provision shop

The 3 set of provisions costs 2,150 naira, Nigerian currency.
It is approximately 22.63 Steem.

The below are other food stuffs sold in the Barriga market. Just like I said earlier, Barriga market is majorly meant for food stuffs.

Screenshot_20220621-161704.jpg
Food stuffs in Barriga market

I also said earlier that you can also get some other house utensils from Barriga market. The below is a shop for house/kitchen utensils. They all ranges from pots, plates, bowls, spoons, knives, plastics, cups etc.

Screenshot_20220621-161804.jpg
House utensils

Mini-Cold Room:
In the Barriga Market, you can also get a Mini-Cold room where frozen foods are sold. From this cold room, we can get frozen fish, chicken, turkey etc.

The below is the shop with the owner inside of it.

IMG_20220620_170225_413.jpg
Mini-Cold Room

I also bought some frozen ice fish from them, which I used in preparing a small Vegetable Soup.

From the picture below we can see the scale and the fish.
That is half kilo of fish which costs 500 naira Nigerian currency, which is approximately 5.26 Steem.

IMG_20220620_170608_789.jpg
My frozen fish

Total goods purchased from Barriga Market in Steem rate:

ProductsNaira Price (#)Steem Price
Honey1,00010 steem
Red Oil4004.21 Steem
Groundnut Oil7007.5 Steem
Sachet Tomatoes6006.32 Steem
Provisions2,15022.63 Steem
Frozen Fish5005.26 Steem
Total5,30055.92 Steem

My Rating Of The Barriga Market

Rating FactorsPercentage %
Location90%
Prices of goods85%
Goods Quality95%
Distance98%

My rating above is based on my experience and analysis of the market.
Location:
The location of Barriga Market in Barriga area is very central. Anybody can easily access the market. It is located quite along the major Barriga road.

Prices Of Goods:
Though we a know that the prices of goods are quite high now a over the world, one can still afford the goods, no matter the amount one has. So the prices of goods are quite affordable in Barriga market.

Goods Quality:
Though not everyone in the market sells quality products, yet you can still get good and quality products in Barriga market from most vendors.

Distance:
The Barriga Market is very close to my house. The highest I can spend going to Barriga market will cost me 100 naira Nigerian currency. It's quite close. Whenever I think of buying food stuffs or household items, I think of Barriga Market.

Conclusion

The Barriga Market is a local food stuff market for both rich and poor. For any class anyone belongs to, he can get whatever he wants to buy from Barriga market. It is a market in the heart of the Barriga area.

Barriga market is a good market for any kind of food stuff shopping. And I love shopping my food stuffs from this market.

Thanks guys for visiting my post, I hope you would love to visit Barriga market any time you come around Barriga Lagos.

I also invite @ceedy20, @jovita30 and @gracie20 to participate in this contest.

Best regards

Sort:  

Waooo this market sold good things, I can see every food stuff is available in the market

Yeah
Virtually every food stuff you can think of is on the market.

You have done a great review about Bariga market, truly it is a market for everyone when it comes to foodstuffs, it is also my aunt's market as she love getting her foodstuff there.
Thank you for sharing.

Wow
Yeah it is the market for both the rich, the middle class and the poor.

A well detailed and organized article dear friend I am glad you just explained about my dream market, I have heard so much great things about this market an it's economical value in the country.

Although things are quite cheaper than the are here because of bad government, I just hope we elect a good leader to save us from this problem.

Wow
You mean Barriga Market is your dream market.
The country in general is suffering from bad governance, not just your city. But God will help us.
Though we all have a roll to play in this present election, to elect our choice of leader.

Belly market is very big, and they sell different types of foodstuffs. Seriously you have done your review so well about the market. Those crefish are calling my name 😋 I wish to visit the anytime I come to Lagos. I wish you all the best in this contest.

Yeah, it is a market that you would definitely love to visit when shopping for food stuffs.
Thanks for visiting.

You are welcome 😊

 2 years ago 

Barriga market is a food stuff based local market located at Barriga Lagos Nigeria. It is a popular market and located quite at the center of the city, along the road.

We all need food to survive. I wish Barriga Market will be shifted down here in Uyo. But, to compare the prices you bought your red oil and groundnuts oil, it's the same thing here. That means, IFA Atai market is cheap too. Thanks for the review

Wow
Ifa Atai market, I have not heard of that market before, if the 2 goods are same price, then they are both cheap.

 2 years ago 

Yes ifa Atai is one of the markets here in Uyo. Though there are other market's that sells cheaper than Ufa Market. But I always prefer it because it's very close to my house.

Bariga is a big town with lot of activities, i often visit bariga alot, i have friends close to bariga and and also at a bariga, so am familiar with the market and how goods are being sold in the town.

You a have highlighted a good number of goods purchased and also presented us the amount and value in steem, i must say you have spent a lot doing shopping In bariga town
Best of luck

Yeah Barriga is a large town in Lagos.
I actually spent in purchasing those stuffs.
Thanks for visiting my post.
Best regards

You are welcome

I was just commending someone for reviewing a whole market cause that was the first of this challenge and her I am reading about another market 😀. All I can say is that you have done a great job going round the market reviewing it.

How was the journey though?

The honey costs 1,000 naira Nigerian currency. Which is approximately 10 steem.

Is it from your picture or I think the honey at 10 steem is a good bargain. But hold one looking at the picture again I think the bottle is small oo😂

Did you go the market in the morning? It seems the sellers products are still looking fresh

Smiles...
Honey is actually expensive now. Getting that one at 10 steem is nice and it's original honey.

 2 years ago 

Do you know to capture all this things in the market took you hours to do, you also bought things from the market.
It is Interesting to that the market is located in a very nice place.
Add fintech to your tag since is busines review

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1.5/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2/2.5
Total7.5/10

Thanks for the grade ma.

Your post has been successfully curated by our team via @pelon53 at 50%. Thank you for your committed efforts, we invite you to do more and keep posting high quality posts for a chance to win valuable upvotes from our team of curators and why not be selected for an additional upvote later this week in the Top Seven.


Note : You must enter the tag #fintech for your post to be reviewed.

Hello @talkofaith You have done a great and courageous review about Bariga market.

I couldn't take much pictures in the shop because the owner of the shop was so mean.
Sorry for the challenges you faced I really do commend you boldness. I surely know that it worth it

I wish you good luck in the contest

Best Regards

Thank you brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64