MY ENTRY TO CONTEST || 2020 AND ME ( 2020 A HISTORICAL YEAR)

in SteemAlive4 years ago (edited)

year-2020-4674937_1920.jpg
Source

INTRODUCTION

Thanks to @steemalive for this contest, in this contest we are expected to talk about our journey so far in 2020, what had the experiences been. If you missed the contest announcement, you can check it out here.
Meanwhile I'm so glad making my contest entry, though the experiences were really an ugly one, but I'm glad I'm standing strong today to tell the stories. And I know there are better days ahead.

2020 AND ME

When I look back to the previous years with the vibes and expectations everyone including the government had concerning 2020, I'll just be wandering what's going on.

First I will start by thanking God almighty for preservation after the ups and downs. I started this 2020 journey with lots of expectations. I had lots of personal and family plans written down to accomplish, both financially and otherwise.

One of my decisions for 2020 was to be self employed, learn a skill and focus on my business. So when I came back from camp by first week of February, I went for a digital marketing and mini importation seminar. I was so interested in learning the stuffs. Though the seminar was just to give a basic introduction of the business and the benefits in it. I was so interested but doesn't have enough fund to start the training. The training was meant to run for one month @50,000 naira registration fee, which is approximately 667 Steem. I planned starting the training by April, so I went to get myself ready financial wise. It was in the process if trying to gather put myself together that the pandemic broke out and lockdown started. This was how I ate all my training money via food only.

Though it was at the vedge of looking for what to do with my life while at home that I stumbled into a Facebook sponsored ad by @focusnow concerning blogging and content creating, by May of which I finally joined by June.

But one thing by I discovered about 2020 was that it opened people's eyes on the benefits of having an online office. I discovered that businesses with online presence made waves more than those with the traditional way of trading. So businesses resorted to going online.

THE GREAT LOSS

Though I had always had this strange feeling right from time that something strange was about happening in my family of which I prayed about. It all started July, Daddy got down with thyfoid and malaria before we knew it, it graduated to high blood pressure. Though started recovering gradually, all of a sudden it turned to stroke. Oh my goodness. Everybody was drentched financially already, at a point the doctors were not discovering anything at all. Saii, we watched dad slip through our hands. On that faithful day Thursday 5th of August 2020, Daddy finally left. Saii that was the horn that broke the carmel's back. The pain was so unbearable. Being the first daughter, oh I didn't know where to start from. As we were still talking about Daddy's departure, his younger brother followed him on Saturday 7th August 2020. We now had 2 deaths same week in one family. That period was the most scary and painful period of our lives. We had to do a fast burial for Daddy's brother while we prepared for Daddy's burial of which finally held on 13th September 2020. That period was something else for me and my family, I'm glad we were able to pull through. I had to be strong for mum and every other of my siblings. Seriously, 2020 left us with a vacuum that can never be filled no matter what.

THE PEACEFUL PROTEST VERSUS MASSIVE KILLINGS

As though everything was returning to normal, a peaceful protest broke out due to the excessive brutality of sars and police on the masses, coupled with the high rate of food and other things in the market. The masses were only seeking for justice from the government, and instead of listening to the masses and seek for ways of settling their problems, there was a massive killings of the peaceful protesters by the Nigerian solders. Of which a good brother in Church h was a victim of the deaths. Tony a final year student of Michael Okpara University lost his life. It was a very sad news that caused me tears for days. After the killings, there was a declare of lockdown of which people resorted in staying at home again for some days, then we continued from where we stopped.

This 2020 was just playing and pausing like a movie. Everything happened so fast. It is really a historical yeah for me and my family.
But I believe, these ugly experiences will never repeat itself again.

Thanks for reading through my contest entry
@steemalive, this is my entry.

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep following all the rules in the Diary Game, as well as improving your Diary post content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

@talktofaith. Yours is a truly momentous 2020. We are sorry about the death of your father and uncle. But we congratulations for discovering Steemit because it is really a positive thing in your life. Amid the dispairs and uncertainties, you have done great work as a City Coordinator for Lagos. Keep working hard. There is always light at the end of the tunnel.

@steemalive, thank you so much.
You guys was there for me during that season. I can't heart you less.
Thanks for all your care and encouragement.

We're really sorry for the ups and downs. It's such a difficult year but thank God for life.
We hope that God's kingdom will bring and end to suffering and injustice. Have a nice day.

@chizikky187, thanks dear.
I thank God for the grace to pull through. At least it is now a thing of the past.

This year is so uncalled for

@gracellagift, my dear it was something else.
But thank God we are still standing strong.

@talktofaith I keep reading this post for some minutes now, am speechless and bittered. What a year (2020) to remember.
You have always proved to be a strong and brave woman. Looking forward to see you outshine other challenges.

@fluzzy thanks dear.
Better days lies ahead.
Thanks for commenting.

Indeed 2020 is an eventful year. Am sorry for your dad and uncle's death. Been the first born calls for a higher responsibilities but I know of a Good that upholds the hand of men, He will strengthen you.

Thanks for sharing

@exceptional20, thanks for those words so of comfort.
2020 was really a historical year.
Thanks for commenting.

On that faithful day Thursday 5th of August 2020, Daddy finally left. Saii that was the horn that broke the carmel's back. The pain was so unbearable. Being the first daughter, oh I didn't know where to start from.

My condolence dear regarding your dad's death. Thank God you are done in your studies before he passed away. Be strong dear and keep on encouraging your mom and siblings for it well be better.

God allowed 2020 to look so rough and tough for the betterment of his children. Thank God you are alive.

@armstrongdiho, thanks dear for those encouraging words.
I know all things works together for our good.
Thanks for visiting my post.

You are always welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41