Spotlight on Relatives - A personal story of how my Aunt helped me|| by @samuel20|| 03-03-2021steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive4 years ago

help.pngsource

INTRODUCTION

A family is the smallest group in the society.Relatives are members of our extended families both Maternal and Paternal members alike.

HELPED BY A RELATIVE BEFORE????

Well,this is a mixed feeling at best.There are cases where relatives don't give a damn or care especially paternal relatives.Those relatives from our fathers side are always misers.

However,relatives from our mothers side (maternal home) are always helpful.Even when they don't have enough,they will always find a way to help.Such help from maternal relatives is prevalent in Igbo land though not always so.

I HAVE BEEN HELPED BY AN AUNT

When I say my aunt,I mean an aunt from my maternal side.It happened a few years ago.

It was during my undergraduate days.At some point things were a bit bad on my side.The debts in school has gone above the roof.

At that point I was owing school fees and a few other departmental levies.My debt had risen close to 80,000 NGN or even more.

Mehn,It was as if the walls are closing-in on me.Exam is fast approaching and I would be bundled out of the exam hall if I don't pay up.This is serious.

My mum told me to call an aunt of mine,I have not seen her in person.She had traveled out of the country when I was much more younger.

It was a difficult task for me to call someone that I have not spoken with before,and now it was to seek to help.

I summed courage,made the call.She wasn't around to take the call,but I just made my point.

The next day,she called me back and said that she has gone through the records of the call.

Surprisingly,she sent the money via Western Union and I quickly went to a bank nearby with my valid I.D and cashed the money.

It was about $500 which amounted to 90,000 NGN at that time dollar was exchanged at 180 NGN.

I believe she(my aunt) was capable of providing that help although giving is a matter of the mind.It only takes a benevolent heart to give.

It was a sigh of relief for me at that particular moment.I paid my school fees and completed my departmental dues.I was free.It was a moment of bliss for me.

I thanked my aunt afterwards,That was the first time she has helped me directly.

Maternal relatives are always good.Paternal relatives are stingy.😄😄😄😄😄

MY ADVICE

Sometimes we may not get help from relatives.We should NOT be so angry about it.
It is only our parents that are our Chief-helpers,anyother person that helps is doing that out of benevolence.
Let's not have an entitlement mentatility.

Sometimes our relatives don't help because they don't have the funds.So lets not hate our relatives because they failed to help us.

I have not hated any of my paternal relatives because they don't help.Never.

help.png

I believe in trying to help myself.God is our provider.He will also make things smoother for us if we keep the right attitude.

Thank you @focusnow @steemalive for this interesting contest.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

You made a good post here.
I agree to what you say,
"Sometimes our relatives don't help because they don't have the funds.So lets not hate our relatives because they failed to help us."
That's 100% true because I had an experience, which I finally found that, they might not have at that particular point in time. I think this post highly served as an advice.
Keep posting more of this.

 4 years ago 

Thank you @prolee for visiting my blog.
It is true.Sometimes paucity of funds can make one not to help.

Continue to make Steemit a better place.

#onepercent #nigeria

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72