Spotlight on Relatives-A personal story of how my uncle refused to help me.

in SteemAlive3 years ago

INTRODUCTION

This is a very interesting contest and am glad am a part of this. Special thanks to @steemalive for such platform to write about my personal experience. And thanks to the organises too.

Below is my story..

Family they say is "Everything". Family can be describe as group of people that are related by blood, whither its be nuclear or extended family.
I have a nuclear family so also an extended family. I want to tell you about my experience with one of my uncle my relative,which is a part of my extended family.

My uncle has always been a man loved outside except in the family, I heard my brother saying to a friend of his "charity begins at home" because his friend was telling him about the good deeds of my uncle. Well i was still growing up so i didnt understand what that phrase meant not until i found myself having the same experience my brother had.

The Difficulty I was facing:

I just graduated from my secondary education with so much vibes to further my education, i wrote the necessary exams i was to write and was waiting for admission list to come out, from all indication, i knew i will gain admission into Imo state university Owerri, Imo state why? Because i always do well in academics and was a bright student. It was no surprise to me when my name came out on the list of those offered admission, well i was happy.
Dad didn't have so much money at that time because i had 3 of my older siblings in the university at that time and Dad needed some help. So i felt i can call my uncle for help.

Did he help me?

My uncle that i know help pay other people's fees in school, he even does much more than that..He is well known as a philanthropic man.
I called him that Sunday afternoon and told him everything.
Guess what he said to me?
"Ruth you are too young to start thinking about school. Why don't you come to my house for holidays, i know what you need, you don't need school now, all you need is little exposure and maybe get knowledge of how a computer works.
Next year i would pay for all your registration so you can write another exams and i will sponsor it till you are done"
It sounded like fun to me so I told my parents.

I travelled to Lagos for the first time. Got to his house and met his wife and children. He introduced me as his niece who has come to help them with babysitting the new baby and take care of the house. Wow it dawned on me i just made the mistake of my life.
He didn't help me and had no intentions of helping me. He just deceived me.
I didn't know my left from my right there in Lagos at that time so I stayed back doing the job he assigned to me, they were times i reminded him of the promise he made to me, but he snubbed it. A time came i told him i wanted to go back home. He laughed and said " Ruth you have not even started staying and you want to go"
It wasn't fun staying there at all. I heard about my friends who got into school at that time and i will seat down for hours crying. Finally I found a way to back home to my nuclear family. But then i had already lost one year

Do you think my uncle was capable of helping me then?
Yes he was, like i said he helped other people who are not related to him. He had the money but didn't want to help. And yes now i understand that phrase charity begins at home.

My advice to friend shunned or not helped by relative.

In this life never put your dependance on a man Don't wait for bread to come and meet you. Go out, make your self valuable, Get a job, if you cant find a job, look for where to give your services even if it is for free! Add value to yourself everyday and one day men will sort for you. Even money will run after you. So don't feel bad when you are not helped. It is just an opportunity to become better.

Imagine if i had not called my uncle that day, imagine if I stepped out to look for something to do so i can get the money?

IMG_20210213_075639_1.jpg
@ruthjoe fully grown, a graduate and more

Conclusion

This is my story on how i was not helped by my uncle, hope u enjoyed it..thank you for reading my post.

Special thanks to @steemcurator1 @steemcurator2 for continued support.
@stephenkendal for promoting this contest

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Cool write up @ruthjoe. This is a situation that is so common in our world today especially in the African context. There are so many people who will never assist you when you need assistance

Like you rightly said we should never wait in anyone to assist you rather working hard will give you everything you want and will expose you with so many opportunities which you can make use of. Thanks for sharing
#twopercent #cameroon

You are so correct..thank you for reading and for your comment

Well my dear, your story is touching. Not always do we receive help from those whom we hoped they will. But one is sure from your experience, you learned some valuable lessons at least the house keeping thing.

Hahahah yes i have leant o.thanks for reading.

@ruthjoe, I'll try to sit on the fence while I give an unbiased response to this ok. To start with it's good we always seek out the good in people and turn our sights from their weaknesses no matter what our experiences in their hands might have been. You referred to him as a philanthropists and admitted that he has helped some people to your knowing? In other words and from your own words, he's a good man. Probably there's some misunderstanding between the two of you and that's personal, you really need to sort out your differences and find ways to forgive. It's always safer to have an open mind and expect anything from your encounter with people. Your literature is great anyway, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading my post

Good write-up @ruthjoe. Honestly some Relatives are not what who we think they are but thank God you were able to chase after your future.

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda) and a member of the SteemPOD team. We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Participate in the various contests on steemit to maximize your rewards.

Always follow @steemitblog for updates on steemit.

Thanks for visiting..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69