CONTEST: ADULTHOOD, WORK- LIFE BALANCE

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

1630589522883.png
Source

INTRODUCTION

Good day great steemians , am really excited to participate in this contest as organized by @uzoma24. This will be the third contest I will be participate under @uzoma's organization hoping to come up top. The thing is i will really be revealing a lot of things about me so sit comfortably and read.

MY CHILDHOOD

I grew up in a home were my parents were always trying to make me and my siblings feel comfortable. By always provide for us yet I had always felt there was a life they other kids had in the neighborhood that I didn't have.

My Father was a soldier my mom was a trader. I lost my dad when I was just five years of age . I was born in the barracks precisely Engineering Barracks Benue state. What3words

The difference between the soldiers who are recruited and those who become officers via the Nigerian Defence Academy was in the salary and homes they lived.

The officers had the privileges of luxury hence their children had a luxury life too but for me I had what my parents could provide but I felt I could have more and I could have better.

I loved that fact that those big parents mostly the officers in the barracks took their children out to relax but I never had that opportunity to go out for relaxation with my parents. I admired it when they go to play grounds with their children to play but I didn't have all the privilege.

Most times as a child our ratio of feeding was 2/3 and and it never passed that ratio but I also wanted 3/3 as every other rich kid had.

I can't begin to count the number of times I was sent home for not paying tuition fee. I was sometimes flogged before driven out of school. Apart of tuition fee there were things I could not afford as a child growing up. Which included text books new socks etc.

MY DREAMS.

Now due to my experiences, I started think that I was broke because I was young or let say small. I thought any one who is big had money and was living very comfortable eating what they want when they want to .

I felt every adult was having a nice life, I admired adulthood more than anything else. I thought responsibility was not a word that existed nor a world in the adult life. I thought responsibility was only a shadow in adulthood.

I was dreaming that if i was an adult i would afford anything i want, I will go out and eat want I want and pay for it.
I was dreaming that if had been in adulthood I will buy the best cloths any time and any day . I will just buy a car and drive around even without a direction.

ADULTHOOD

When I was approaching adulthood I started to observe that most of my dreams or thought per say on how adulthood looked like was more of fictions and ignorance. I became an adult I was still asking for transport to go to college, I was still being fed by my mother.

I became an adult and I understood why my parents where not always going out to relax and sit out. The reason was because as an adult you are expected to pay for every luxury you take . Bills are at the for front of every adult.
I became an adult and understood another side of life .

WHAT I NOW UNDERSTOOD AS AN ADULT

I now understand that I must work for me before I eat, I must go the field before I go to the eatery , I must have money before I can enjoy luxury.

Now that am an adult I understood my parents were only doing their best to make sure I have a better adulthood than they have. I now understand why most times my adult uncles were not always at home but at work. My big sister were not always out doing nothing but at work.

Now that am adult I go to work from 9am and I close from work by 5pm at times even 6pm . I try to take other side hustles that consume my time. I work from Monday to Saturday just earn a living and support my mom and younger ones .

I hardly go out or even take a rest am always trying to make a lot of money so as to never go broke in fact I prefer to eat at my office and at my house than going out to eat because I feel I should be making money with that free time.

>Here is me trying to have some time at my office refectory

Indeed my perceptions about adulthood will only come true if I have a lot of money to spare else it has been really hard for me to go out and spend money in the name of relaxing or trying to have some luxury.

Right now I still got a lot of responsibilities to cover , not just for my self but for my self, my siblings, my friends and other family relation.

THE BALANCE

The balance is that as much as i don't go out frequently i go out once in a month to eat some chicken and fried rice and relax . I go out to have some luxury once in a month especially when my salary comes to me .
For me, it is really hard but we can always try to strike the balance no matter what it takes.

At this point I will love to invite my friends
@hilz.hustle, @caleb-marvel and @patience90 on steemit to participate in this contest organized by @uzoma24 in the steemalive community.

Sort:  

Am lost of words.. Its not easy being a man talk more of loosing the head of the family at a tender age. Bro you are really trying your best to make end meet.
One thing you said in this post i so much cherish is this

For me, it is really hard but we can always try to strike the balance no matter what it takes.

We can always try to strike the balance no matter what it takes cause our health is at stake too. Keep doing your best God will see you true.

 3 years ago 

Thank you Sir @osolife

 3 years ago 

There’s really much to learn from your post and I really commend you for the way you carry yourself and work really hard. I’ll advice you let your guard down a bit when it comes to friendship and having fun, that way you’ll have a healthier relationship and fun with your friends.

 3 years ago 

@kingrechy thank you for the advice sir

 3 years ago 

My pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58