Ancient & Modern - See some of my old items and the new ones (10% to @steemalive)!

in SteemAlive2 years ago

Greetings friends!

Feels so good to be a part of this amazing fun contest organized by @steemalive community. Coming across this contest brought back the memories of the old items I have used in the past and what made me replace them with better ones. At the moment I'm not with my family, so had to plead with Daddy to take some shots of the old items that I have used. And he did!!!
So I'll briefly discuss about my old and new items below.

CollageFrame_1645517363713.png

KEROSENE LANTERN/RECHARGEABLE LAMP

IMG-20220221-WA0008_1.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Where and when my mum bought the kerosene lantern & the amount it was bought

This is the kerosene lantern I used when I was with my family before I moved to the West for my service year. It was bought by mum in the year 2014. She bought it from a market at Isigate town in Umuahia South Local Government Area. As at the time when this lantern was bought, it was sold for N2500 in my local currency which is about 16 steem.


How long have you used the old kerosene lantern?

Just like I said earlier, I used this lantern when I was with my family till when I left to the West for my National Youth service. Just when I travelled back home after service, I noticed that it was no longer in use again because it was already getting old, leaking kerosene and bringing out fumes which is very harmful to the body. This kerosene lantern was in use for 7 good years (2014-2020)


Quality and durability of my old kerosene lantern and other details

Honestly, this kerosene lantern is more durable than the rechargeable lamps that we use today. During the times when I used it, there was no need for Nepa light to charge it. Towards the evening time, just when the house is about to get dark, all I did was to top up the kerosene tank with kerosene and wash the globe carefully so it doesn't slip from my hand and break because the globe is very fragile (glass like) then I'll light up the kerosene wool with a match stick and voila!! the whole house gets illuminated. I like sleeping with the lights on, so one advantage then was that I could just lower the light a bit using the lantern controller and there would be no panic of my lantern will go low before morning oo😃


Currently, I use this rechargeable lamp.

IMG_20220222_083030_932.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Where and when I bought my rechargeable lamp & the amount it was bought

I bought it at a tech shop at Isigate in Umuahia South sometime around January, 2021. I bought it for N5000 in my local currency that is about 31 steem


How long have you used the new rechargeable lamp?

I have used this lamp for a year and few weeks and so far it has been amazing. Thank God the power supply in my area never disappoints so i make sure it's properly charged so it can last for a while without getting low.


Quality and durability of my new rechargeable lamp and other details

It has a good quality I must say because I have seen someone that bought a rechargeable light that never stayed up to 3 months and it spoilt.
One amazing thing about my rechargeable light is whenever it's properly charged I can use it for 5 hours maximum before it starts getting low. I remember using it to illuminate my room for my mini birthday party when NEPA disappointed me and it sure lasted that my guests were asking questions😄


PLASTIC MORTAR AND PESTLE/ MANUAL BLENDER

IMG_20220222_082248_546.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Where and when I bought the plastic mortar/pestle & the amount it was bought

I used this plastic mortar and pestle during my university days. I bought it at Eke Awka Market in Anambra State in the year 2015 and then it was sold to me for N1800 in my local currency that is about 11 steem


How long have you used the old plastic mortar and pestle?

It was used through out my university days. Then there were things that needed to be pounded for food such as dry fish and because I felt getting the real mortar and pestle would be very expensive and kinda awkward I bought the plastic one instead.


Quality and durability of my old plastic mortar/pestle and other details

IMG_20220222_082313_485.jpg

As you can see from the picture above, it's very portable and easy to use and trust me the plastic is very very strong.

While using this plastic mortar and pestle, a very good protective measure had to be taken by me to avoid what I'm pounding to enter my eyes especially while pounding pepper😝


IMG_20220222_082134_448.jpg
HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Where and when I bought my manual grinder & the amount it was bought

This is the grinder I am using at the moment. I bought in Ilishan Market in Ogun State where I currently live. I bought it for N2000 in my local currency that is about 13 steem.


How long have you used the new manual grinder?

I recently bought it so it has not even stayed up to a 2 months but so far it has been a stress free one while grinding food items.


Quality and durability of my new manual grinder and other details

IMG_20220222_082103_457.jpg

This manual grinder grinds my pepper, tomato and onions into a very fine paste that makes it look like it was grinded with a commercial grinder. It also has a cover that prevents any food item that I'm grinding from entering my eyes unlike my old grinder and I believe it will last long for me.


KEROSENE STOVE/ GAS COOKER

IMG-20220221-WA0005.jpg

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Where and when my mum bought my kerosene stove & the amount it was bought

This stove was used by me during my university days. It was bought by my mum as one of the lodge items that I took to school when I gained admission in the year 2014. She bought it not less than N10,000 at Isigate market in Umuahia as at then.


How long have you used the my old kerosene stove?

I used it till my 300 level in school after I switched to using a gas cooker.


Quality and durability of my old kerosene stove and other details

It wasn't really a good one because I spent money always buying kerosene for it. And it took time to cook a solid food like beans. I really never enjoyed using my stove.


IMG_20220222_085520_407.jpg

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Where and when I bought my new gas cooker & the amount it was bought

I currently use this gas cooker and I bought it at Eke Awka Market in Anambra state as at 2016 and it was sold for N6500.


How long have you used the new gas cooker?

I've been using it since my 300 level till date.


Quality and durability of my new gas cooker and other details

I've been enjoying my cooking with it and it has really saved me a lot of stress unlike when I was using my stove. My food gets done at the appropriate time without hesitation and that's the most amazing part of my gas cooker😄


Anyways, I have lots of old and new items but let me stop here for now.
Thank you for reading through!

Warm regards ❤️
@niglys8

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you @niglys8 for participating in the contest.You have actually shown us some of your old items and its recent equivalence.The lamp looks very old,I remember when we were using that old lantern.

ClubPlagiarized?SteemExclusive?Used Bidbot?
5050NoYesNo

My pleasure sir!
Yea! The lamp is really very old😄

 2 years ago 

Wow! This is a detailed post and I remember when I broke one of my sister's lamb bulb (we use to call it egg). Chaiiiii, I was not beaten but the insult no be here.

Hahahaha 😂
I can imagine the embarrassment you felt.
But seriously that lamp globe can take you unawares which is why one has to be careful while washing it.

Thanks for reading through 🤗

 2 years ago 

I was so annoyed but thank God it was a lesson and you're welcome

Smiles☺️

 2 years ago 

Wow! You really have lots of ancient and modern items around you. Thank God for this contest, everyone is really pulling theirs from where ever they are hidden.😁😁. Every body's items almost look alike, thanks for sharing.

Yes oo! I do
Thanks for reading through ma'am!

 2 years ago 

Thanks too, it's like you love cartoons, I can see it representing you, maybe one day we shall see your beautiful face.😀😁😌😌

Hahahaha!
Yes I do.

 2 years ago 

Yes can we know how you look...

Waooo first time I am seeing an old lamb in this contest, I can remember those days that once a child is born you have to light a lamb and keep in his room until the child is grown up, I wish you good luck dear

Old memories indeed 😄
Thank you!

 2 years ago 

@niglys8 you really amazed me, I never knew there is Plastic morter that can be so strong for pounding pepper.

As you can see from the picture above, it's very portable and easy to use and trust me the plastic is very very strong.

Thanks for sharing.

😄😄😄
I'm glad I did ma'am!
Thanks for reading through..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67