Steemalive presents: "My Mum" contest.|| I have the best Mum in the World - Here is why?|| @ngoenyi (100% power up)steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive4 years ago

INTRODUCTION

image.png
image source

Hello friends and fellow steemians, welcome to my entry in this amazing contest by @steemalive. It is my pleasure to to write about my late mum. It is true that she is late but her memory is still intact. By means of this contest, I want to express my appreciation for her and show how muchi love her. Please read along and see how the following 8 questions will be answered.
  1. Who is your mum?
  2. What is her state of origin?
  3. Where did she marry from?
  4. How many kids does she have (dead or alive)?
  5. What does she do?
  6. What special sacrifices has your mum made for you or for the family (at least two)
  7. Are their difficult situations your mum face? (past or present)
  8. What unique qualities of your mum would you want to copy?

who my mum is

IMG_20201219_161427.jpg

My mum, always rejoicing
IMG-20190323-WA0003.jpg

The name of my mum is Late Mrs Lydia Okoko Awo. She was married to Late Chief Okoko Awo. She was the 3rd wife to my father. And she bore him the second son. She was a devout Catholic Church mother who acted as a mother to a lot of people in the church.

my Mum's state of Origin

My mum hailed from Ndi Ebe Abam in Arochukwu LGA in Abia State, Nigeria.

where my Mum Married From

She married from the same place where she hailed from and that was Ndi Ebe Abam, in Arochukwu LGA Abia State Nigeria. But the are from different kindred. For instance, my Dad was from Ndi Okorotisi compound while my mum was from Ndi Okekerewe compound but the same village. But the same community .

How many kids my mum had

She had 7 kids but her first and second sons are late. So 5 is alive. 2 men and 3 women. I happen to be her last child.

what she does as profession

She was a farmer. Yes, my dad was a great farmer so his wives joined him. But my mum occasionally acts as a business woman who sales little things in fronting our house especially when farming season is over within the year. She was also an assistant woman leader in our village when she was alive.

Special sacrifices she made for me or for the family

The first and foremost sacrifice that my mum made particularly for me was when I had an injury on my elbow. That injury refused to heal. I was taken to several places for the treatment but all to no avail. My mum stood by me especially when the wound will be smelling, no one will like to come close to me but my mum didn't mind. She took it upon her self to take me round to ensure that I get treatment. Even when I was finally hospitalised of which I spent more than 3 months in the hospital, she never left my side for a day. It was a great sacrifice on her part for me. Check below to see the scare of the wound so the you will understand what I mean. They were even planning to amputate the arm but thank goodness that they found a solution to it. I am ever grateful to my mum for such care.

That is the scare at my elbow
IMG_20201219_153832.jpg

Another sacrifice she made for the family was when my mum would travel from my village to the next village on foot to sale farm products for the family. That village is 6 miles away from my village. It was not an easy task. Sometimes I will accompany her and mehn, I will even start crying on the road. You will carry may be garri, or corn or any other thing that needs to be sold. She really made a lot of efforts to see that we have food to eat. I drop my cap for her.

Are their difficult situations your mum face?

Yes, there was. Before she died, she suffered from partial stroke. It was not easy for her at all. Though she was treated but it was not complete. She never regained her health after that incidence until her demise some 8 years ago.

She also suffered the loss of one of her sons. It was not easy to bear the loss of a child but she went through it. The other son that died was after her demise.

She as well suffered the loss of a husband. You can imagine what it means to be a widow for more than 10 years. But she went through it all.

What unique qualities of your mum would you want to copy?

My mum had a lot of beautiful and appealing qualities that endeared her to both her husband, children and the whole village and even beyond. I will like to emulate all her unique qualities as I am going to enumerate below.

She was known for her generosity. Her belongings were for the public. There is no other way to explain how generous she was. You are free to walk into her house and take whatever you want. She will always grant you access.

She was humble and kind

She was accomodating

She was self-sacrificing

She was industrious

She was caring.

And about all, she was loving and God fearing.

If I can be able to imitate 1/4 of all her unique qualities, then I will be the happiest person.

From the point mentioned above, will you not agree with me that I had the best mum in the whole world? Yes she was for me before Death took her away from me. I can't quickly forget her in a hurry. I pray to be as good as she was to my husband and children and to all who came in contact with me.

Thank you all for reading my post. Thank you @steemalive for this wonderful contest. I also thank @steemitblog and @steemcurator01 and @steemcurator02 for their immense support to us here in @steemalive community.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoMM9JCvkFJcFGCj9rfB7RGoYT4TE5Z4NeCKz62v9r3FLbfoS8MmXhCbR9wBjtiRcdowyE6.jpeg

This is my introductorypost here

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail :::Steemalive Website

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoMM9JCvkFJcFGCj9rfB7RGoYT4TE5Z4NeCKz62v9r3FLbfoS8MmXhCbR9wBjtiRcdowyE6.jpeg

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

@ngoenyi.DEAR MAMA. Gone but not forgotten never

Your mom, really try when you are in the hospital, may her soul rest in peace amen.

Great experience @ngoenyi your mum really tried for you and that is worthy of emulation

 4 years ago 

Wow!!! Your mother is such a great woman. I now see why your a good mother. She instilled in you all that a daughter needed to make her home lovely. I really admire she's almost like my mother too. Mother's are the best we can ever ask for in life. I have actually learned something from this post Be the best mother always to your children. Thanks for sharing
#twopercent #cameroon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48