CONTEST: MY TOP 5 INVENTIONS OF ALL TIME || By @meymeyshops//21/06/2021

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

I love this contest because there so many inventions that have added meaning to human lives. Yes most have made life easier and better than in the dark ages. So I hereby present my entry hereunder.

The First among my five (5) Inventions of all time is a three-wheel motto car.

It was first invented by a German Mechanical Engineer - Karl Benz in 1885 and was patented in 1886. See the picture of the first car below:

image.png
Source

After the three-wheel motto car was invented, there have been an evolution of cars of different makes, colors and brands. Upgrades were made from a three-wheel care to four wheels; from being and open car with one sit to becoming a covered built car with many sits.

What was life like before the evolution of cars?

Two foremost areas of human endeavor was dramatically given a boost since the evolution of cars. What are these areas?
1). Economy: Invention of cars created employment for the teaming society. Think of how many thousands of people work in the automobile industry worldwide. Think too of the many employees of the oil and gas industries. Think about the countries like Nigeria whose economy is largely dependent on oil which the brain behind the exploration of oil is mainly for driving of automobile.

2). Traveling: Aside from traveling by sea with ship for those living closer sea, most people have to walk many days on foot through rough and sometimes dangerous roads before reaching their destinations. Moving to nearby villages do take hours to walk few miles away. But since the 1900s, the evolution of automobiles has changed human lives drastically for the better. Most of us do not presently live where we grew up, we travel many miles away from home just in few hours to live in the urban cities. We travel for leisure, adventure or for work by means of automobile.

IMG_20210621_160101.jpg

MYXJ_20210621155817_fast.jpg
me inside a three-wheel car popularly called Keke Napep going to work

The invention of car has affected my life positively. I go to work daily with a three-wheel car popularly known as Keke Napep. I travel to far distant places conveniently with a car and arrive my destination within few hours.

The second five is Cooking Stove/Cooking Gas

Sir Benjamin Thompson, a prolific scientist, invented a kitchen range or stove in the 1790s while Zachaus Winzler invented cooking gas in March 8, 1802.

IMG_20210622_175052.jpg

IMG_20210622_174931.jpg

Life before the invention of cooking stove and gas was a hassle. People cooked their food in an open air fire using either charcoal or fire wood and made clay chimneys in their kitchen. This is still in use till date especially in the rural villages where means of livelihood is still very low. When I was growing up at home with my parents, we cook with firewood. I often join my mates to the bush to cut firewood which sometimes takes us hours and would come back home late in the evening. You can visualize right now some villagers carrying firewood from their farms on their way home.

IMG_20210622_172638.jpg

Picture a child that came back from school very hungry, the mother told him to make fire, boil water to prepare garri before eating. He goes to the kitchen, put the firewood together, scratch a stick of matches to light the fire, but the firewood couldn't catch fire. He tried several times but failed, he burst out crying loud because without making the fire to boil water for garri, he would not eat. So angrily he scatter the firewood and ran out of the kitchen crying. Such was my usual experience.

The invention of cooking stove/gas has changed my lifestyle tremendously. Cooking food is with ease especially with a cooking gas. No more the hassles of going to the bush to cut firewood.

The third is a computer/laptop

Charles Babbage in the 1830s was credited with the invention of the first computer. Prior to this invention, those whose jobs were to make calculation for tax purposes, arithmetic and scientific predictions usually took longer hours in reaching their results until Babbage made his first computer called the Difference Engine. Computing began to be made easier and easier till the evolution of latest versions of the microsoft company.

During my secondary school education, I learnt typing with a typewriter. I type very well with a high speed but the punching the hard keyboard left my fingers and my neck painful.

Today I type with ease as I do not have to punch my laptop keyboards with fatigue resulting in pain neither do I have to bend my neck to the left while typing, resulting in my having constant stiff neck. All thanks to the invention of computers laptops.

IMG_20210622_154313_6.jpg

The forth is eyeglass

In the 13th century, in the year 1285, an Italian named Salvino D'Armate originated the first pair of wearable eyeglasses with metal or bone frames. Since then there have been an evolution of eyeglasses in different frames and sizes. The need for this invention can not be overemphasized. It serves many purposes such as correction the eye retina, supporting sight seeing, assisting in reading and writing.

image.png
Source

Having done computer jobs for over a decade, I developed blurriness of eyes such that I find it difficult to read clearly. But all thanks to the invention eyeglasses, it has given me a big and timely support, I am able to read and write clearly because right now, am wearing my reading glass. Assuming I don't have any eyeglass, it will be a hectic task for me to type this contest.

IMG_20210622_154007_2.jpg

The fifth is Water Bore Hole

In the year 1808, the Ruffner brothers from the city of Buffalo in Virginia drilled the first water borehole (well). From there neighbours began imitating them by drilling theirs. Today in every rural dwelling, the only source of drinking water is by drilling water borehole, then treat it and package it in either waterproof sachet or bottle water.

IMG_20210622_183218.jpg

In the city of Aba Abia State of Nigeria, we drink water from a water borehole, from street to street, from compound to compound, everyone get water from water borehole. In my compound we drilled water borehole and that have saved me from going to neighbouring compounds to buy water and carrying it on my head even when I am not fit to do so.

IMG_20210622_183532.jpg

Thank you @uzoma24 for this contest, and thank you my fellow Steemians who joined in this contest. I also invite @essygold; @goodspeed22; @simeon00 and @mobibliss to run this contest.

Warmest greetings,
@meymeyshops

CC:
@stephenkendal
@bright-obias
@focusnow
@whitestallion
@njaywan
@alejos7ven
@ngoenyi

Reference
Reference
Reference
Reference

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail

Sort:  

Reviewed

Meaning what please? @uzoma24

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00