The diary game 21/10/2020, the bloody Wednesday in the City of Aba.steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive4 years ago

Greetings to you....

Today been Wednesday was a terrible day for me the experience I had today is something I wouldn't want to see again.

In the morning by 5:00am I was already awake as I am getting used to waking up by that time. I said my prayers because in this country we Only survive by prayers and God's mercy.

When I was done with the prayers I went to the bathroom washed my face and brushed my teeth, then I went to our group chat on what'sapp made my #lidlivereport.

When it was 6:30am I started arranging some items in the kitchen trying to put things to order after that I continued with the other house chores.

Around 10:26am I went to the ATM MACHINE at Union Bank Asa road Aba to withdraw some cash, there were lots of persons there as other ATM MACHINES were not dispensing money at the moment. Because of the crowd people decided that everyone will be on a que so as to avoid quarrels and arguments of who came first and who should withdraw first. I spent close to 2hours waiting for my turn to withdraw, finally it got to my turn and I withdrew.

On my way back from the bank I saw some group of young boys singing and matching towards the Aba North local government Office as they were protesting due to the bad governance by the Nigerian government and police brutality . You see in this Nation Nigeria is as if the police protect the government more than the masses.
I quickly ran home because they were too crowded that they could traple upon me.

When I got upstairs I got my phone to capture them.
protesters
IMG_20201021_101127.jpg

They kept moving on they were moving in anger because of what the government did to other peaceful protesters in Lagos State Nigeria. The government gave order to shoot the people Who were protesting in Lagos State on Tuesday so with that anger the youth of Aba city decided to retaliate against the government by engaging in violent protest since they were against peaceful protest.

So they burnt Army checkpoints and fought against them which made them to run away.

Army checkpoint on fire in Aba city
IMG_20201020_171211.jpg

IMG_20201020_170930.jpg

They continue to move destroying most of the things that the so called government built.

They set up the local government headquarter called ABA Town Hall on fire

Aba town Hall on fire
33707ce6a906432582707aec665599c3.jpg

This protest continued till 2:45 when we started hearing gunshots people began to run at a point the gunshots became severe. We came to know that it was the police men attacking the protesters, the shooting continued as people kept running for safety.

Later on we saw a dead man who Was been carried in a wheel barrow, people gathered around, the man was shot dead by the policemen. He was one of the protesters.

This really scared The protesters and they all went home still the police men continued shooting, they moved around the town shooting at any body they set their eyes on.

Till night fall there were gunshots everywhere steady gunshots.

All of us were at home nobody in my family actually left the house again after I came back from the bank.

In the night we made our dinner, had our shower and talked about what has happened before everyone went to bed.

Today was Like a nightmare to me, this is my first time watching police men shoot people face to face , it was my first time seeing gunshots in reality and I honestly wouldn't want to experience this kind of thing again in my life.

I couldn't sleep so early I just laid on my bed praying to God for my country Nigeria. I told God to please show his mercy on this Nation. As it stands now it is only God who can save us in this country. I slept off by 1:45am while I was still saying the prayers.

All we ask for is good governance and protection from the security forces not brutality and insecurities 😥😢😥😥

@Steemalive2 Team
See me here

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited)

@marydexplorer it was really terrible, Nigeria youth are not happy at all. The killings that took place was a huge shock to Nigerians, but in all, we look unto God to save His people.

Thank God your are safe. Remain safe pls.

#twopercent #nigeria

 4 years ago 

Yeah, I'm safe thanks.

It's only God that Will solve this problem for us in this country.

@marydexplorer, that was a horrible one. I can attest to the killing of peaceful protesters here in Lagos State. The properties destroyed cannot be equated to lives lost. The only hope we've got now is Good. The worst part of it is that the government is not ready to do anything about the protest and all they could do is to order for the death of peaceful protesters. We are done with this government, they must come down.
#twopercent
#nigeria.

 4 years ago 

They must come down exactly....!!

I wish is possible for all of them to be sent out starting from the president to all the governors and their cabinet.

@marydexplorer...
Let's keep praying, God has a way of doing his own thing.

Really shocked to read your diary game.😓

Where did the man who died of starvation want his government to accept his movement, that's all.
The man's parents, brothers and sisters are suffering so much, maybe for the man, I am also felt this pain a bit. However, the man was destined to die, so that it is happened.
However, sister, you should be very careful in your country. The funny thing is that just like you and me both are a customer of Union Bank, because Union bank also a popular bank in Bangladesh, where my own uncle doing works. 😊

#onepercent #Bangladesh #affable

 4 years ago 

Yeah..
Thanks for your concern

Welcome, It's my pleasure.
#onepercent #Bangladesh #affable

 4 years ago 

@marydexplorer thanks for your diary update ,the country Nigeria is really going to face war from what am seeing,if the president didnt do the needful there is going to be more blood shield,cause the protesters are not ready to giveup niether is the president willing to comply.
I pray God hear the cry on the innocient.
Good to hear, you and your home is fine.
Please ensure you guys always close your doors very well!
Stay safe
@priceless cares!
#twopercentnigeria

 4 years ago 

Yeah thanks a lot for your concern.

They have already used gunshots to scare the other protesters so for now I don't think there would be any protests.

 4 years ago 

@marydexplorer (60) you are most welcome.
No more protest,but i believe the youth are upto something bigger.
So let watch and see.

 4 years ago 

Nice diary @marydexplorer you know when things are in such a manner as it stands in our country, the best approach to managing it shouldn't be the use of cohesion but dialogue, which is never in the genetic trait of our government, but I pray as Uncle Charles may have it " there may be light at the end of the tunnel" nice diary hope seeing more of your post.

 4 years ago 

Thanks for your support.
Everything will be fine. By God's grace

 4 years ago 

I pray so dear

I pray to God all your worries may vanish soon. I want to say pray a lot with the firm believe that everything will be fine. Everything is written better days are coming soon don't worry dear @marydexplorer
#onepercent #twopercent #pakistan

 4 years ago 

Thanks @warishayy

I believe everything will get better soon..
I really appreciate your concern.
Thank u

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

And thank you for setting your post to 100% Powerup.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44