7 Day Writing Challenge Day 1 - My School History | by @manuelhooks

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

photostudio_1629761150926.png

My School History

Education regardless of its type whether formal, informal and non-formal. is essential for proper development and functionality of an individual.

My parents must have believed in the words of Malcolm.

Education is the passport to the Future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today.

- Malcolm X -

As for me, I believe the foundation where you start you education matters a lot as it serves as the bed rooks, or foundation on which you lay any future knowledge acquired.

manuelhooks.jpeg

Primary Education



Location
I started my primary education at Government Bilingual Primary School, Bastos (GBPS). I was registered in to the English section where 80% of lessons were conducted in English and 20% in French. The French section of the same school was the exact opposite. Only 20% of classes were thought in English while the rest was in French. I guess that is why is was called a bilingual school. This is the What3Word for the school's location.
Screenshot_20210823-233729~2.png

This is a picture at my school then and now

photostudio_1629894391716.png


My Favourite Teacher
Miss Nga Noah was my primary three teacher. She tried to have me recite the time table and my inability resulted in my being whipped daily. She was slim and dark and her Cain was painful. I don't think she noticed me but she is the only teacher I remember so well. I cold not recite the time table but I still remember her lessons. She was my favourite Teacher.


Classmate
During my schooling at GBPS I had two friends, Mofor and Ogug. I have made efforts to contact this old friends but all attempts have proved abortive. Though I am still making frantic efforts to reconnect with this friends.


Grades
photostudio_1629753579156.jpg
I was not on top of my class, but I put in a lot of effort.


Fun School Activities
I remember being asked to plant beans in a jam jar containing cotton. And another containing moist earth. I also joined the boy scouts and was thought how to make binoculars by sticking together two toilet paper rims.


Primary school 2
I did not finish my primary education and was move. I had to repeat primary three.
I completed my primary education at Christ the King Primary school (CKS) along Willington Bassy way where I got my first school living certificate. This is the What3Word for the school's location.

Favorite Teacher
At Christ the King Primary School Mrs Rosemary my primary six teacher was my favourite teacher. She noticed my potential and had high expectations for me. In my attempt not to disappoint her, I had to work hard.

Classmate
Emmanuel Eshiet was a classmate and is still a friend, we keep in touch through phone calls and chats.

Grades
photostudio_1629754451651.jpg

I had better grades in this school, It could be as a result of a lower standard on the part of the Christ the King Primary School, or may be I just got better.

Fun School Activities
It was all fun when the school declared a hand work day and we had to construct things to get scored. Those who could not make anything had to get broom out of palm leaves. But building houses out of cartons and cardboards fetched better scores and I loved it.

manuelhooks.jpeg

Secondary Education



I schooled at Uyo High school in the middle of the city of Uyo. A public secondary school with a reputation that lies between popular and notorious. The school had many awards from competitions, local and national which lead to its popularity. But we had inherited a feud with Government Technical College and the frequency of clashes resulted in the school becoming noterious. It's almost 20 years since I graduated from Uyo High School but as at this moment the school is sealed due to an altercation with the same Government Technical College. If you are thinking about asking how it all started, I will save you the stress. I don't know and I don't think anyone does. This is the What3Word for the school's location.

Screenshot_20210823-234807~2.png

Favourite Teacher
The award for favourite teacher goes to My chemistry teacher, Mr. Rafael. He used his position as chemistry teacher to make sure we got practical lessons in chemistry. If this does not sound like a big deal to you then you should understand that a public school in my area is senonimus to substandard Education. You are not expected to see a test tube let alone having to touch it.
Mr Rafael is still in Uyo High School as a vice principal. The last time I meet him, we were discussing how to activate the smart classroom donated by Samsung..

Classmates
Screenshot_20210823-224047~2.png From left to right: I, Edidiong, Ubong and Augustine

photostudio_1629757822631.png

Ubong , Edidiong and I were friends and classmates. We are still friends. Augustine was a classmate but not really a friend. Mr. Ubong Frances got married on the 14th of August which coincided with @dequeen's wedding.

Grades
My grades were good,

Fun School Activities
It was fun to engage with the introductory technology teacher in his workshop, the biology and physics practical and most especially the chemistry practical organised by Mr Rafael.

manuelhooks.jpeg

Tertiary Education



I made it through a polytechnic, the AkwaIbom State Polytechnic locates at Ikot Osurwa in ikot Ekpene. This is the What3Word for the school's location in the heart of Ikot Ekpene.

Favourite Teacher
The award for outstanding teacher in this category is to be presented to Mr. Ben. He was my C++ and Java instructor and was good at his job. I also liked his style and method of teaching. He allowed us use computers to confirm the programme codes he wrote on the board and letter got a laptop for himself.

Classmate/course mate

photostudio_1629893371961.png

I got in contact with Mr. Sunday Udo at the polytechnic, he have been friends ever since. The friendship is fueled by the fact that we have common interest in Electronics and often depends on each other for practical solutions.

Grades
Grades was encouraging.

Fun school activities I enjoyed.
Mr. Ben often arranged for practical sessions with the whole class, he often took us to Ettetronics Computers where we engaged with the computer. I guess that is why I liked him.

manuelhooks.jpeg

Conclusion



I have been opportune to find myself in the hands of public school teachers who were ready to make a difference at various point in my journey through education. It is my resolve to touch the lives of my students by creating an environment that promotes learning. While trying to also make a difference.

manuelhooks.jpeg

Inviting the following to participate
@Munawi
@nickjon
@arau
@padmore

Contest link

#writingchallenge #myschool #contest #nigeria #krsuccess

Sort:  
 3 years ago 
@manuelhook, from your writing I can tell that you really a good and intelligent student. You have all the records. Even primary school report sheet and picture. While reading I was also wondering why your favorite teacher in primary three class may have not noticed you, but then you her to be your favorite teacher. Your writing is so nice and detailed. I read it over and over again. Thanks for sharing your school history with us
 3 years ago 

I am happy you liked my post.
Having a good number of intelligent student in the same class made me invisible. That feeling you get when the teacher calls you by your name is what I craved for.

 3 years ago 

You said the truth @manuelhooks,in those days if you love your teacher you will do your best not to disappoint him/her

 3 years ago (edited)

And doing this resulted in working hard which at the end benefited us the more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80