Steemalive contest: NIGHTMARE

in SteemAlive4 years ago

Contest entry: My Worst Nightmare




source


A lot of sad things happened to me while growing up. Although I'm not one who keeps memories especially when they're sad ones but there's one I can never forget.

The year was 2007, I was in Lagos then, living with my parents and a very close family lived above our flat then. The man was a senior pastor in our Christian denomination and he was also my father's boss. the two families had very strong ties that extended to both extended families. The children, we were like siblings. We spent time together, slept together, played together, went to the school at some point and we worshipped together. Needless to say, we grew up together.

Then one day, I overheard them say they were relocating.

Hmn.

Okay, that's plausible... wait a minute, they were relocating outside the country.

Their dad was going over to pastor the denomination in Europe and their family would base in Italy. At this time, my only brother (elder) had gone to boarding school and I would have been the only one at home but I had this other 'siblings' upstairs.

To cut the story short, the day they were leaving, I could not be consoled. I cried from Surulere to Muritala Muhammed International Airport(MMIA) all in Lagos. I was left alone. Even people in our denominational branch knew about my grief. I was ALONE. Nobody to play with, not my brother, not my other 'siblings'. I won't forget the day they left, August 17, 2007.

I was supposed to enter the boarding house with my brother that year but my grief worsened when my parents told me I won't be going due to financial restraints.

Nine years later, in 2016, they all came back for their cousin's wedding. When I saw them I was beyond glad. We're all grown now but I will never forget August 17, 2007. Nothing has made me more sorrowful till date.


Thanks for reading.


image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail :::Steemalive Website


Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep following all the rules in the Diary Game, as well as improving your Diary post content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53