Spotlight on Relatives - A personal story of how my Aunt helped me (100% power up)steemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

best-auntie-ever-t-shirt-260nw-1826522753.webp
source

It was the evening of a Saturday in the month of November, 2006 that I met an angel in the form of a woman. She is the wife of my Uncle.

I had just gotten admission in to one of the Universities and the plan was to stay briefly at their house before moving into the hostel. My parents had drawn my ears before time about how 'wicked' some Uncle's and Aunts can be based on their experiences. Infact my dad never fails to tell the story how an Uncle that was supposed to be his guardian almost ruined his educational career courtesy his wife.

Armed with such tales, I was shocked when I met the opposite of all I had heard. This woman was warm, kind, you would not even know the difference between her children and other relatives living with them.

When I got there, there were about six relatives all students who were around plus her children, the household was about fourteen people. The house is a big one and so had the capacity to hold everyone.

By the time I got my accommodation and moved out, she it was that would call me to come home for weekends, check up on me to make sure I was doing well, buy me clothes, give me foodstuffs before my parents would rally to send me money. Her help benefited me immensely especially as regards my studies. Her husband and her always asked about my studies, scrutinized my results and admonished me when I performed poorly. I graduated with very good grades, thanks to them.

At a point, I stopped going home for Christmas rather I spend it with them at their village which is just a stone throw from mine anyway. That is in addition to her always giving me 'christmas money'. She was so amazing and still is.

After graduation, years later when I was to further my education, I ended up at her place again. This time I became her 'personal assistant'. There was no occasion she was to attend, you will not find me tagging along. Together, we toured cities, having the time of our lives.

travel-collage-famous-places-world-600w-1144071677.webp
source

To cap it up, I finally married her brother, my wonderful husband.
IMG_20210219_140540_929.jpg

Mrs. Anthonia, I will forever be indebted to you. Thank God our paths crossed.

To friends that have been shunned or ignored by relatives, even though that was not my experience, my advice is to forgive such people and be different by helping others. At last, all will be well. In addition, our minds should not be conditioned that all relatives are wicked. There are exceptions, there are good people.

I thank @steemalive for this contest and @stephenkendal for his support. Not forgetting @steemcurator01 and @steemcurator02 for all their support.

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail

Sort:  

Nice write-up.

@chinma, this is really a nice story. Women are rare and I choose to be her type.
Maltreating other people's children and not extending help when you were opportuned to is really not a good one, but I guess some of them do regret it on the long run.

thanks for sharing.
Best regards

Thank you so much for reading my post. She is the best I have seen and God is really rewarding her for her kindness not just to me but many others.

This is a very nice post @chinma. Such women are rare to find but when seen they do everything in their capacity to help out. I do hope you will pay forward the kindness bestowed upon you to others.

Yeah, they really are rare. My dad says the same thing you have just said about paying the kindness forward. I do hope God gives me grace. I really am trying my best. Thanks for reading.

7th Anniversary Airdrop Party

Get 3200 JST & 10 SUN Airdrop
Power up your Steem to participate! Keep an eye on your progress for this Steemit community event
Join And Claim Now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72