My favorite City: FCT, Abuja, Nigeria Using Google plus codes and What3words

in SteemAlive3 years ago

My favorite City is FCT, Abuja in Nigeria. It's my best solely because it's the capital of Nigeria and it's well taken care of.

It has a lot of beautiful buildings and fun filled places to be in especially with it's skyscraper buildings.

I've been living in FCT Abuja for close to 10 years now. My mum moved over in 2010 and since then we've not moved out of the city though we've visited other states in the country like Imo State (my state of origin), Abia State etc.

Abuja is known for a variety of things. It's the capital of the country and a lot of investors move their headquarters to the capital city.

Abuja to me is best known for its rock, Aso rock, Jabi Lake and Dominos Place.

  • Aso rock;

Aso Rock is a gigantic rock located on the outskirts of Abuja. Though it's not located in the city but it's a site to behold when entering the state.

Screenshot_20201124-114358.png
Aso rock (Screenshot from google map)
Google plus code: 3GMP+8C Abuja)
What3words: ///cupping.idealistic.sledgehammer

The funny thing about Also rock is that at any where in the city and you look up you'd see a part of the rock.

The Aso Rock is a 400-metre (1,300 ft) prominent monolith with a peak height of 936-metre (3,071 ft) above sea level.

It's surrounded by The Nigerian Presidential Complex, Nigerian National Assembly, and Nigerian Supreme Court

Aso traditionally means victorious in the native language of the Asokoro ("the people of victory") ethnic.wiki

Elevation: 936 m (3,071 ft)
Prominence: 400 m (1,300 ft)
Coordinates: 9°5′0″N 7°32′10″E

  • Jabi Lake;

There are a lot of controversies about Jabi Lake but one thing we should note that it's a water body formed from a man-made earth dam that was initially created to provide water to the residents of Abuja.

The total surface area of the lake is about 1,300 hectares (3,200 acres).

Screenshot_20201124-120618.png
Jabi Lake (Screenshot from google map)
Google plus code: 3CFC+46 Abuja.
What3words: ///polarity.punchline.staircases

Jabi Lake is tourist attraction in Abuja and it's surrounded by comfort zones such as ShopRite etc located inside the Jabi mall.

I've been to the lake once and it was sometime in 2016 when I went on a picnic with my classmates in school.

FB_IMG_1595056462853.jpg
My friends and I during our picnic in 2016

  • Central Bank of Nigeria;

The CBN is as the name implies. It sits at Plot 33, Abubakar, Tafawa Balewa Way, Cadastral Zone, Abuja.

It has a branch in almost every state of the country but it's headquarters is in FCT, Abuja Nigeria.

Central_bank_nigeria.jpg
Central Bank of Nigeria
Google plus code: 5897+FF Abuja.
What3words: ///inching.buxom.alleys

I love it because of its unique structure and I don't forget to stare at it anytime I happen to pass by it.

It was established by the CBN Act of 1958 and commenced operations on July 1, 1959. The CBN Act was amended in 1991, 1993, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2007. in the and it's owned by the Nigerian Federal government.

There's nothing that I would change in my favorite City as a whole but I would definitely change the governance structure if given the opportunity to rule.

Cc:
@bright-obias
@steemalive
@steemitblog
@stephenkendal
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02

I'm a member of team @steemalive and this is me

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

image.png
Subscribe:::Discord.
:::Whatsapp :::join trail

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Thank you, Steemit Team!

 3 years ago 

Twitter proof of share
https://twitter.com/BeckyOgoke/status/1331203975794872320?s=19

Screenshot_20201124-125244.png

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

 3 years ago 

Abuja city AKA federal capital Territory is really beautiful, from my previous visits to the block it was a great experience with the malls and great road network. I was only able to stay around just for a few days, my next visit would be longer and more fun.

Great post and keep steeming hot 👻

 3 years ago 

Lol 😂😂
Thank you
I hope you visit Abj more often. It's a cool place to be in.

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

 3 years ago (edited)

Wow! What a wonderful city you've got here. Abuja FCT is indeed a city that one needs to explore.

I have been hearing about the Aso rock but have not seen with my eyes, i hope to visit your city someday. Its really funny that the rock is seen at anywhere in the city, that means the height is unimaginable. Thanks for participating on the contest, it was a great read from you.

#affable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87