ProWriters Hub Week 6: Getting Help From Extended Family Members - My Story

in SteemAlive2 years ago

The family has always and is still one of the most important parts of a functioning society. The family has a very strong effect on humans; it can make, break and rebuild.


pexels-photo-302083.webp
Image of grandparents with their grandchildren from Pexels

An extended family is a family group which consists of relatives such as uncles, aunts, grandparents, cousins etc. It is seen as the part of the family that consists of other relatives apart from those in the nuclear family.

I have been helped by a few relatives but one stands out every time. I have this guy that I am related to by our parent's grand grand grand grand LOL that's how our connection is so unexplainable. All I know is that he is my relative and my father and his mother share a certain grandparent.

I knew Ekomobong when I was little and then I did not like going to their house. We were all students and whenever I went there it was either to help anyone with an assignment. I got to see him more often when I started my Junior Secondary School 1 (JSS1) in the school his mom was a teacher and I had to go to school with them every day. They lived closer and my dad thought it wise I follow them while going and coming back from school because I was still new and young to know the new route. One thing I noticed was that he especially among his siblings treated me nice, he was always concerned about my comfort.

Fast forward to when I finished secondary school.


pexels-photo-1835926.webp
An image of a large family

Early this year, I had a coding virtual class to attend on zoom and this class stated having a laptop or computer as one of its requirements. I applied with the hope that before the application was processed I would have gotten my laptop. As the day drew nearer, the possibility of owning a laptop grew fader and I had to call a friend asking her to please lend me her laptop for 2 days as I planned to go get the laptop in the afternoon of the day before the class, use it for the class the next day and then return it the following day. I got the assurance that I will get it but due to unforeseen circumstances, I couldn't get the laptop according to schedule. I got stranded.

On the day of the class, I put a call across to this my cousin (relative) a few hours before the class, explaining the situation to him and to my surprise he told me that on his way back from work he would bring his laptop to my house an hour to the class. I was happy. I told my dad that I had gotten a laptop to use. I later thought it wise to go to his house instead so he could be there in case I need certain help.

My relative saved my day as he stayed with me from the beginning of the class to the end, helping me do some things on the laptop, putting on the generator set when it became dark, and forcing me to eat so I can focus well and finally taking me home after class ended late at night.

IMG_20220102_165110.jpg
Myself with my lovely sis

Right from that day, my mindset about extended family members offering geninue help changed. I have now come to accept the fact that there are truly different types of relatives and people. I respect this my relative so much, as he continues offering help and care even when I am okay he still wants to make sure I am overly okay as far as he is in that vicinity with me.

My wish for him is that he gets the required help he needs whenever and wherever and that may God Almighty bless all his endeavours.

Although I won the scholarship, I had to defer since I still don't have a laptop oI mine, I am grateful for his assistance because without him I would not have recognized my abilities. I still wish to continue with the program and I will continue keeping my hope of getting a laptop high.

I miss my steemit friends, I have not been active for a long time due to the unavailability of a phone. I am still hoping for a new phone. I will continue stopping by once in a while. Thank you @steemalive for this wonderful opportunity to share my story.

This is set at 50% payout to Steemalive

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow,it's so good to hear that you have really been helped by a family member.

She did a great thing by staying with you through out the day.

Thank you for this nice story.

Yes dear.
It's a him not a she.
Thanks for engaging.

Actually families can provide support for one another and create a sense of belonging.

That's true.

An extended family is an important aspect of any family because it provides support for one another. It is important for the members of an extended family to be willing to support one another in tough times.

Yes sir. It really is.
That's what family does right?

Some people are hesitant to ask for help because they feel that it makes them a burden on their family.

That is true. But I have learn to speak up and seek assistance when I need it.
You do not know who is capable of offering that help.

Wow you really have a good family members who can help their relatives, am proud of such family

Thanks @innocent10.
I'm proud of them too.

My dear you really have a nice cousin.

Yes dear. And I am forever grateful for him.

 2 years ago 

My relative saved my day as he stayed with me from the beginning of the class to the end, helping me do some things on the laptop, putting on the generator set when it became dark, and forcing me to eat so I can focus well and finally taking me home after class ended late at night.

When all hope was lost, he happened to be a savior at just the right time and even offered other assistances as well

Most extended family members of ours should be highly appreciated

Yes @precious123
I came to full realization of the wonderful sacrifice most of our family members make and my mindset did change.

 2 years ago 

That's it, it's all about luck

 2 years ago 

@ahbaz. Such a positive experience on relatives. Thank you so much for sharing your story. It would have been horrrible to miss that coding class without the last minute assistance from your relative.

Myself with my lovely sis

Right from that day, my mindset about extended family members offering geninue help changed

Who will not be positively motivated with this experience as yours. Honestly, there are still good relatives that will stick out their neck for you in times of dire need. Thanks for sharing this story.

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2.2/2.5
Use of Markdown2/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2.1/2.5
Total8.1/10

Thanks @focusnow.

It was a pleasure sharing my story and I am glad that this will motivate someone out there.

 2 years ago 

wow that good many extended family are really good and also indeed love help some one indeed you really have a lovely family

Yes dear.
Thanks for engaging.

 2 years ago 

Good relatives still exists and I'm glad that you can testify about this too. It's now our turn to sustain this or better still get better than them for the sake of the future generation.

This is absolutely true.
"It's now our turn to sustain this or better still get better than them for the sake of the future generation".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18