The Old Guard review - Is it worth watching?steemCreated with Sketch.

Charlize Theron is one of the best paid female actresses in Hollywood at the moment. In other words, when Netflix manage to bring her to the screen, they for sure expect millions of people worldwide to see what's up. We don't know yet, and it might take a while before we will know whether or not The Old Guard with Charlize Theron will get into the Netflix Top Ten list, but based on the movies included in the recent list Netflix published, I would for sure say that this movie is way better than many of those on the list.

the old guard.jpg

But, what is up with The Old Guard?

The movie has been on Netflix for a couple of weeks, and I was looking forward to finally watch it. I like superhero movies, so I thought this would be a cool addition to that category. I didn't know very much about the movie, except for the fact that Charlize Theron and her companions in The Old Guard are impossible to kill, at least, almost.

Now, the movie actually has a quite interesting concept and that is what surprised me. The fact that it is impossible to kill someone sounds to me like as it would make them impossible to stop. But, then they shared a story in the movie about what happened to a friend of The Old Guard (Andy - Charlize Theron) back several hundred years ago, and it made me shiver... They took an immortal friend of her, placed her in a cage, and threw her into the water. Now, she might not be able to die, but man... it sounds terrible. And yes, that is why they are very watching out so that they will not get caught and walk in the shades and in the darkness.

Do you get it? It might be a super-power that you are unable to die. And yes, you will for sure learn some skills throughout the decades that will help you stay alive. But, these people are still human beings without the ability to fly, punch with super power, or so on - making them actually quite humane.

guard old.jpg

What's the story about (spoiler alert!!!)?

The guards is taking on a mission to save some kids. Andy resists the task, but the others convince her that it needs to be done. However, it is all a trick mission orchestrated by a person in order to check the actual skills and abilities of the crew. It is all recorded, and it proves that they are impossible to kill. That makes them valuable for research, and now a crazy entrepreneur wants to grab hold of them to do research on them and find their secret to "eternal" life.

We also meet a young girl named Nile, played by Kiki Layne, who is on a mission with the army. They are about to catch a bad guy, when she is killed... or at least, she is supposed to be killed. However, the wound heals and now she is confused. What happened? Why didn't she die?

She is taken into the heat and into the "old guard" club by Andy, and even though she is hesitant, she is about to join the fight against evil in the world together with the other guards.

Why I enjoyed The Old Guard?

I didn't have big expectations, but I actually enjoyed this movie quite a lot. I would for sure have watched it in the cinema (if I had to go to the cinema to watch it), but now, I could stream it on Netflix instead. That is awesome. It is a very typical introduction movie, meaning that first in a series, where it is very possible that we will see further movies in the future. In that way, it reminded me a bit about Captain Marvel, as it is quite slow and needs to spend time introducing us to the actual story and the characters within it.

No matter what, I had a great time, and I would much rather watch this over again that Extraction, the most popular Netflix original movie ever published on the streaming service.

My The Old Guard score

8/10

Have you seen The Old Guard? How did you like the movie? I would love to hear from you!

The movie is a Netflix original movie, meaning that you can stream it on Netflix all around the world. As a result, there is no need to change your Netflix region, nor to deal with VPN services or other stuff. That is great!

Sort:  

Great review! I watched it, I like the fight scenes. Her martial arts skills is superb! Can't wait to see Charlize on her next film.

I thought it was ok, but not spectacular. I don't even remember exactly why I didn't think it was awesome but it was nice to have something new on Netflix for a bit.

It was nice to have something new to watch but overall i wouldn't say that this story was anything particularly awesome but most of the reason why I feel this way is that it was pretty predictable after it was revealed that the guard was immortal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30