The most popular Netflix original movies (Top Ten List, based on Netflix stats)steemCreated with Sketch.

in Netflix & Streaming4 years ago (edited)

We can consider ourselves to be lucky, because Netflix has recently published a list of the ten most popular Netflix original movies up until now. Yeah, that is true... based on the number of views in the first four weeks after a movie has been published. So, the list is official and you can now discover which are the most popular Netflix original movies ever based on the number of viewers.

I should add to the calculation that Netflix is growing each day, meaning that new movies have a bigger potential than those published a year ago. In addition, the COVID-19 has given many people spare-time, which means that quite a large number on the list are movies published during the COVID-19 time.

It should also be mentioned that the Eurovision movie is too new (hasn't been out for 4 weeks yet), and the brand new Charlize Theron movie (The Old Guard) cannot be on the list let because they are too new.

You can see my video presentation of the top ten list below, or read my comments on each title further down.

Top Ten Netflix Original Movies

Once again, this is not my top list, but this is the actual Netflix top list, based on actual number of views.

Number 10 - The Perfect Date

This is the only movie on the list that I haven't watched, and after watching the trailer, I don't feel anymore like watching it. So, can't say much more about that.

Number 9 - The Platform

This is a thriller that I kind of enjoyed. It is asking some important questions, and it has a very special atmosphere. This is the highest ranked movie not originating from the USA or the UK.

the platform.jpg

Number 8 - The Wrong Missy

It feels kind of strange that this movie is on the top ten list, but I guess it was very lucky to be released during the COVID-19 isolation time. I have got to say, I laughed a lot and I had a great time watching The Wrong Missy, but I do understand those blaming it for having terrible humor as well. I, however, enjoyed it!

Number 7 - Triple Frontier

I know it was liked by many, but personally, I found it to be boring and not engaging at all. The story was just okay, and I felt quite depressed after watching it. I would much rather stream The Wrong Missy over again than this one!

triple frontier.jpg

Number 6 - The Irishman

Well, I have seen this movie, but only the first hour. After that I was so bored that I didn't manage to continue, and I have never felt the strength to continue after that. But, at least it was enough for me to be counted as a viewer by Netflix.

Number 5 - Murder Mystery

This is a great comedy with Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston. I laughed a lot watching it, and it has a great atmosphere. It is a mixture of a crime movie with action and laughter combined, making it a perfect choice for a laidback evening in front of the TV.

murder mystery.jpg

Number 4 - 6 Underground

This is a testosterone bomb... it is just action from the first second until the last. I do have testosterone in my body, but it was way too much in this movie. I don't like car hunts either, so 6 Underground wasn't really for me. I am still a big fan of Ryan Reynolds, but this is not at all one of his favorite roles to me.

Number 3 - Spenser Confidential

I don't understand what this movie is doing so far up at the list. It is an okay comedy with some action, but it shouldn't even be close to way better movies like The Irishman and others (even though I didn't like Robert de Niro in The Irishman). It works as a comedy and action movie, and I will watch the successors to the movie, but still - not a highlight.

spenser.jpg

Number 2 - Bird Box

I don't like scary movies, and I didn't want to watch Bird Box. But, the movie got so much attention in newspapers and online magazines as people walked around blindfolded, that I ended up watching it. And to be honest, I liked the movie. It was tense, it felt scary, and I really enjoyed Sandra Bullock in the role. This is the oldest movie on the list, which makes us understand how much easier it is for newer Netflix movies to get high-ranked than those old ones.

bird box.jpg

Number 1 - Extraction

I guess this movie got out with great timing. You are sitting there with no stimulus in isolation, and when Chris Hemsworth shows up with a gun in his hand, we are all watching what's going on. The movie is okay, but nothing more. There are way better action movies out there. But, once again, the timing was great. I was a little bored watching it, so if I had to choose, I would much rather watch any Thor movie with Chris Hemsworth than Extraction once again.

extraction.jpg


These are my thoughts on the top ten list of Netflix original movies. What do you think? Do you have any favorites on the list? Do you completely disagree with me on some of the movies? I would love to hear from you.

Or, are there any movies you feel like should have been on the top-list that you cannot find there?

I would love to hear from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26