British drama series are better than USA ones (for the most part)

in Netflix & Streaming3 years ago

Before anyone gets all nationalistic on this I want you to hear me out. I'm not talking about all series but more specifically about dramas. The case in point for me is Sherlock, which was aired on BBC.


image.png
src

First off, this series is absolutely outstanding and is probably a big part of the reason why Benedict Cumberbatch was able to become the A-list star that he is today. The episodes are masterfully done and you can see how this series was influenced by the really awesome Sherlock original film that happened in 2009.

The reason why I am saying that this and other British drama series are superior to USA ones is because of the fact that they don't seem to be attached to a strict deadline as far as episode release is concerned. I have seen many series in the USA that were ruined by the studios being dedicated to a certain number of episodes that had to be released every year, even if they don't actually have a story. This results in what could have been a great series going downhill fast, or failing to ever capture an audience in the first place because they have 4 episodes worth of material that has to be spread out over 12 episodes or something like that.

Sherlock on BBC did nothing of the sort. They released new episodes when they felt like it, or so it appears.


image.png
src

They would take 2 years break between releasing a mere 3 episodes and because of this lack of studio pressure (or so it would appear) they end up with a quality product. Also, they don't continue the series when they don't have any material. I presume this is because Cumberpatch and Martin Freeman moved on to other things like films but I would imagine that if this was a USA series, they simply would have created a new Sherlock and a new Watson to milk the audience for all it is worth before the series fades into obscurity.


image.png
src

LOST sticks out in my mind as far as this "we WILL release episodes every year!" mantra is concerned. This show was absolutely amazing in the first couple of years but then, I would say about mid way through season 3 the episodes just went in so many different directions that none of it made sense anymore. The number of people that watched it diminished as a consequence and even though seasons 5 and 6 had almost nothing to do with the original story, they kept making them and more and more people decided to not tune in. When they did the grand series finale, people were left so confused that it just made fans mad. I still don't have any idea what that was all about.

Let's look at another series, but this time one that is out of Britain. Black Mirror in my mind is one of the greatest TV shows ever made and once again, they didn't seem to be focused so much on getting a certain number of episodes out every year.


image.png
src

Sometimes there would be a year between releases, sometimes 2 years. Some seasons had 3 episodes, some had 6, some had 1. However, every single episode of the show is damn near perfect IMO, even though one episode is not connected to any of the other episodes. Sadly, they haven't made anything since 2019 and there isn't any definitive information out there about if they even intend to do so. I'm sure that at least in part this is due to Covid.

I feel as though this show would have been ruined if it had been on network TV in USA because studios executives would have demanded that new episodes be made, even if these episodes were not of the same caliber as previous seasons.


src

The Punisher was one of the biggest series letdowns of all time in my book because it was one of my favorite comic books as a kid. Some of the films are ok as well. However, they decided that each season HAD TO BE 13 episodes long which would have been fine if they actually had 13 episodes worth of material. If you are one of the few people out there that bothered to watch this series, you already know that they definitely did not have 13 episodes worth of material.

The end result was that each episode was 70% filler and this is supposed to be an action series. It had very little in the way of action and should have been called The Punishing Dialogue-er .

Netflix ended up cancelling this after 2 seasons and I don't think there is really anyone out there that is disappointed by this.

So I am not necessarily America-bashing here but I do feel as though in the United States that producers and studio executives push to make as much of something in as short amount of time as possible and there are very few exceptions that I can think of.

If you have any series that you can think of that were based out of USA that did a limited release but only when the product was truly ready I'd love to hear about it. I'm not saying that I am right but in my mind I can't think of any dramas other than Breaking Bad where creators of a US-based show didn't just continue to crank out episodes until the public lost interest.

Sort:  

I recently had to watch lost this year, and this time around I finished it. I personally don't like the ending seems like the writer was out of 💡 ideas

This is precisely my point. I think they were out of ideas before the end of season 3. When I was digging into it a bit more I discovered that when they started filming on the pilot, they didn't even have an overall story written because they weren't sure if it was going to be a hit. Once it became a hit they struggled to keep up with both filming and having an actual story. This becomes more and more evident as the seasons go by and things just become increasingly silly and new characters have to be introduced as they slowly kill off all the original ones.

The finale was such a massive letdown to basically everyone.

i would agree with you here, i wish the writer/writers would have taken more time while writing the movie, after season 2 the rest of the movie looked like it was written by different writers that were not working together .

i think this is why the British series that I referenced are better. They take breaks until they have an entire story written whereas most USA series make the story up as they go along and stick to a schedule of number of episodes even if they don't actually have a story for it.

I like British movies for the 'posh-iness'. Is that word even exist? 😂😂

They have that air, you know. Please tell me you get what I'm saying. Lol.

I kind of know what you mean but in all honesty I haven't seen many British movies and am talking about series in this writeup. Perhaps it just sounds posh because depending on the actor, British accents tend to sound a bit posh compared to North American accents.

I haven't watch others, but mine was also reflecting to that Sherlock show. Even if Benedict was insulting me, it would take me minutes to notice.

I mostly watch British movie nearing Christmas.🤣🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61