Low sugar dessert

in CCC2 years ago

I don't often eat dessert but when I do, it is often my meal. I don't really pay attention to calories or carbohydrates or the amount of sugar because I don't eat very often and I don't eat a lot and food is food even if it is past its date. This does not mean that I like or eat everything.

I don't have any recipes for desserts without sugar. I do not have diabetes and nobody in my family has it either. My mother does have a cookbook for the slim line that also has desserts in it. I don't remember us ever eating them.

I did not grow up with sugar in everything. Neither did my mother. This means that we drink tea and coffee without sugar. Our yoghurt is very sour and we eat it without sugar. We don't eat sugar on bread either. In the slimline cookbook, by the way, sugar is replaced by sweetener. The question is whether all sweeteners are healthy. Nowadays, everything we eat is carcinogenic, so it's probably not. Natural products are better than chemical products from factories. That only leads to more eating, weight gain and addiction. Stevia can also be used and I think that is healthier if you have your own plant.

If you want to lose weight, you better decide whether you are going to count calories or carbohydrates or maybe both.

@gertu wrote about a dessert with banana and I read that sugar is used here anyway. I think fruit is healthy but I have learned that banana is a fattener.

I asked my mother and she says she adapts existing recipes. The minimum of sugar or, for example, adding sultanas, apple or apricot to make it taste sweeter. Adding a little salt also enhances the flavour. She no longer adds sugar to whipped cream, but sometimes she adds vanilla sugar. She leaves out a lot of icing sugar for the good looks.

I think a lot of desserts can be done without sugar or with much less than in a recipe. It's just a matter of trying it out, and my mother does that when we can't buy it. Anything sweet doesn't need sugar, so anything with fruit is suitable, like fruit cocktails.

My favourite dessert is chocolate.
Especially chocolate mousse, but I have never made it and neither has my mother. It is quite expensive.
What you need is melted dark chocolate bars 70% cocoa, mix in egg yolk and then whipped cream and put in the fridge to set. There is no sugar in it. Some recipes also use the stiffly beaten egg white as the last ingredient to make the mousse fluffier. So no sugar is added.

The darker the chocolate, the higher the cocoa content, the less sugar it contains.

chocolate-mousse-ge45ac83ab_1920.jpg

Contest: @gertu

Link: https://steemit.com/hive-166850/@gertu/tenth-challenge-tell-me-week-4-47

Photo: pixabay.com

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

 2 years ago 

Yes, I agree with you. In that any sweet fruit does not need more sugar. In fact my sweet fruit juices have no sugar or sweeteners in them because I don't like them.
I like stevia and that is what I usually use in green tea. I had a plant that is now gone but I am looking to buy another one.
I also like chocolate, I love it.
Thanks for your post it is really good.

I wish I had a Stevia plant but never saw one. I hope you will find one and it will grow. How do you use it? The leaves? Chocolate makes a good treat.
Thanks for the compliment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59087.19
ETH 2580.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47