Rice porridge

in CCC4 years ago (edited)

Today we eat rice porridge.

You can buy it at the supermarket as a dessert and eat it cold or make it yourself and eat it warm or cold. I prefer warm because it is winter. It is good to have something warm in your stomach.

So rice porridge will be our dinner today.
I could say "milk rice" but I will not use milk to make this. Besides the fact, I need and want to save money rice contains "milk" and it is sold in the shops these days as a luxury product, it's the same for oatmeal milk. These kinds of milk you can easily make yourself.

If you ever boiled rice in a huge pan with water, poured the rice through a sieve and saved the water, you know what it looks like after some hours.

If it comes to the porridge I'll keep it simple.
I use rice for it and will not buy rice flour or a special type of rice that says it's meant for porridge only. Rice is rice. I do not like to waste money on products I can use for one purpose only. I buy basic ingredients.

Rice porridge needs to be soft.
One of my grandmothers made it for my grandfather on Saturdays. It was thick and he made layers porridge and brown sugar of it on his plate before he spooned it away. I doubt my granny liked it since I cannot recall she made it after he died.

My pan is small and I used two cups of rice.
It's too much but that doesn't matter. I simply add some more water to the rice while it is on a low fire getting soft.

My granny probably used milk and vanilla sugar but I do not have any left.
I thought about using (canned) peaches on top but I skipped that plan too. At the moment I am not in the mood to cook or bake something with the peaches left and I do not want them to get spoiled.

I have raisins and will add them instead.
Rice is sweet, raisins are so there is no need to add extra sugar.
I stir the raisins through the rice. This way they get soft and give more taste to the rice.

There's no need to keep the pot on the fire. I switched the fire off and added some more water.

After a while it looks like this.
It's thick so I can add more water to it.
Since the children are still at school there's no need to keep it warm. I can if I wrap the pan in a blanket.
The porridge can rest now and will get a better taste if it stands longer. There's enough for two days.

PhotoGrid_1567237329129.jpg

#CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @wakeupkitty! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @davidke20
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wakeupkitty :) | For investors.

Thank you so much @davidke20. I wish you a great day. 💕

I remember my grandmother making this for us as children, or at least very similar. I forget what she called it. I think it was "raisin pudding." It always seemed like a very odd desert with the rice in it, but it was very tasty. I haven't had it in decades now. Thanks for jogging those old memories!

@worldbuilder It is strange how easily we forget all the good and simple food since we have fast food. As a child I didn't really likebit, especially not with raisins in it. I hadca huge problem with porridge and "things" in my food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41