What do you do with...

in CCC3 years ago (edited)

your seasonal fruit

A question asked by @gertu see here if you like to join this contest.

A long time ago there were apples.

Apples, pears and plums. That basically was it. There are no children rhymes about apples or pears but there are about plums. "Jantje zag eens pruimen hangen oh als eieren zo groot" (little John once saw plums at the size of eggs..)
Little John decided to take them, climbed upon the tree till the sexton came and beat up the boy. Like we all know stealing is wrong and religion teaches little boys a lesson, scary lessons.
From this verse I also know plums were tiny. Most likely as tiny as I once saw in my garden. The size of a big marble or small ping-pong ball. At least I assume the eggs didn't had the seize of geese eggs. Have you noticed everything became bigger during the past years?

We had a plum tree for several years. Yellow plums and I climbed into it and ate them. No, my intestines didn't hurt, no run to the toilet. A lot of what we are taught turns out to be nonsense. Ways to scare the people and keep them into slavery.

My granny had an orchard and apples. I remember how the floor of her ceiling was filled with apples. I remember apple pie, the real one but no apple sauce although we eat it a lot. Apple sauce, apple syrup (instead of ahorn syrup), pancakes with apple, Apple beignets.

Pears... They are too hard or too juicy and the skin is hard. The good thing is you can eat the entire pear. No need to peel, no waste. In the old days we ate "stoofpeertjes". I never really liked them because sweet read pear with dinner sounds odd to me. Today I would love to eat them. The pears used for this dish are different from the one you eat raw. They are cooked with cinnamon, perhaps some wine is added to it. I once tried to make it. Once in another life.

PhotoGrid_1615055364912.jpg

Seasonal fruits no longer exist

Not like it used to be. Fruits are imported and always available. Just the destination changes. In the shops they tell you with little shields where it grew. That can be helpful because there are countries using way more pesticides than allowed with us.

I try to buy what is cheap and what is cheap is in most cases seasonal. Fruits that doesn't need to travel around the world, isn't picked too early, isn't without a taste.

PhotoGrid_1622441535776.jpg

Today I have some trees but my cherries are eaten by the bird's (May), the walnuts fall off the tree (the years before not), the almond tree looks more dead than alive and my apple tree is eaten by ants.

PhotoGrid_1622441476070.jpg

Perhaps I have some mulberries soon and some currants.

PhotoGrid_1622441366279.jpg

I might have blackberries (3 or so) and that will be it.

PhotoGrid_1624211586598.jpg

Our fruits are mainly picked and ripe in Autumn. Usually good to survive the (strong) winters with but it rarely comes that far. What I have I eat as soon as possible.

@marblely @heartbeat1515 @sarix @eve73 this is the place to be!

CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Me gustan las peras y ciruelas pero en limpias son muy costosas así que tengo mucho tiempo sin comerlas. 😔. A los niños hay que enseñarlos que robar es malo pero la gente debe aprender que también deben compartir para que la enseñanza no sea tan dura para el. Saludos

 3 years ago 

In the good old days of my youth I ate a lot of pears and apples. Now I have a hard time getting one. But I like cherries and those are wild in my country. I love fruits.

I gave you my vote and resteem.

There were times here in Venezuela when buying pears and apples was very common, although they cost a little more than the seasonal fruit could be bought easily, now you think it is too expensive and does not yield. @wakeupkitty.pal

I do not buy what is expensive either. Many fruits remain at the trees or fell. No one is willing to pick them. I would.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.77
ETH 2736.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60