What do you do with...?

in CCC3 years ago

Your harvest asks @gertu in her weekly Friday contest. It's a contest about nature and if you don't grow anything you can still join. Be creative!


One day I hope my tree will have apples again. It's good for applesauce and applepie. I am looking forward to that.

It''s a few years ago I planted tomatoes,

cucumbers, green beans, red pepper and more. The idea was to have fresh vegetables and a bit more variety in our daily menu. That variety didn't come because I had way too many tomatoes. Hours a day I was busy cooking them. I made tomato soup, ketchup, curry sauce, tomato juice and everything else I could think of. To be honest, next to all the other work it was too much.
My elderberry bushes provided me in blossoms which I made syrup out no one really likes and I did the same with the berries (syrup and marmalade). We, my fily, have no sweet tooth which means till today a lot is still stored and it's a kind of a waste of energy, ingredients and time. I gave up on the garden. I tried strawberries and so much more but most of it dies. Not enough water or burned by the sun, the wolves ran over the plants or slept on it and next I had to fight with the insects. If I need to grow the plants inside first because the weeds grow faster but it's too cold and I have hardly sun (light) inside. Altogether it's cheaper to buy what I need instead of seeing what I invested dying.

If I really want syrup or marmalade I can use what already grows with me.
No need to plant anything. The elderberry, mulberry, poppies and rosehips. These ingredients are free, no need to plant I only have to harvest. My favourite syrup and marmalade is... rosehip. It contains a high amount of vitamine C and is given to babies. Not cheap if you buy it but easy to make.

One walnut tree died, the past years the other had nuts but for some reason they no longer fall of the tree. We noticed all trees in this area have the same problem. The reason isn't clear. The walnuts always were of a great quality.
The almond tree doesn't do well either so I let it be. I decided it's better to let mother nature figure it out herself. I hope to have more fruit trees and be able to eat fruits instead of vegetables.

The fruits I usually eat straight from the tree. The cherries for example. I rarely wash them. Same for the currants. I don't eat that many mulberries lately because of the webs and my fingers turn red if I pick them. I can't wash the red off my hands it remains for weeks. So if I want some I ask my children. For some reason their fingers don't remain red. Perhaps I try to make a mulberry pie this year.

The best, most delicious salad I made was out of "leftovers" of my harvest. Small tomatoes, hot peppers, garlic, cucumber I used and filled little jars with (added herbs and vinegar to it). I stored it for at least 6 weeks and as I tried it this tasted so delicious. I really regret I didn't make more of these salads.

This is my entry to the CCC contest What do you do with... 3.50
Theme: products of your harvest
Hosted by @gertu
Deadline: June 3, 2021 6 p.m. (GMT-4)

I invite @garcieux @sarix @sexycarmen and @heartbeat1515 to join too.

loopgrn.gif

Need support?

https://steemit.com/hive-166850/@wakeupkitty.pal/giveaway-an-upvote-for-a-read522d255f8d2cest

loopgrn.gif

#ccc = hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

#wakeupkitty



Posted using PLAY STEEM https://playsteem.app

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have sown and reaped a lot, I love that.
I wish someday someone would write me a creative article, apart from yours.
That person would write me something like "I don't sow or harvest but in my mind I have this image of what I would like" and besides, that person would draw me a flower or a horrible fruit because he doesn't know how to draw. But make a post with a good description. I think he would win all the prizes I had at that time.
I always say that creativity is the limit but people only reproduce, they don't create. That's why I like your articles because you always invent and create and that's what matters.
Thanks for coming and writing all that you like to do with nature.

I hope someone will read this. Today I only reap what nature gives me and preferable eat it straight picked from the tree or bush. My dream is a garden filled with fruit, walking through it and puck my meal. Most of what I planted died or dies so I guess that dream will never come true.

 3 years ago 

Who knows? life takes many turns. Maybe you will move to another place where your plants will be beautiful and you can make your dream come true.

And I doubt very much that anyone reads.
They don't even find out about the new rules is because they don't read the other comments. I wish someone would read.

If I move again it will be at a small place. Perhaps something will grow there. To be honest I always have dark, cold houses.

I know hardly anyone reads. They want to post quickly. If they don't read or do not or can not respond there isn't much one can do about it.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for joining this contest. May many follow.

@wakeupkitty.pal I like tomato juice, but a variety that here we call tomate de arbol. But nuts and dried fruits are not my weakness, but they have become very expensive and cannot be bought.

I do not eat dried fruits. I don't like it. Nuts are expensive with us too. Most of what we have in the shops is imported therefore expensive.
Walnuts I like and they are very healthy but I cannot afford buying them.

We are in my country and we can't buy some things because of how expensive everything is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67