CONTEST: C stands for... certificate!! || By @sarahraudhah

in CCC2 years ago

Hi!

How are you?

online-3412473_1920.jpg
Source
C stands for... certificate (aka cert)!!

I'm working as an English teacher at a religious primary school (under a non-government organization) next to my area. It's a 20 minutes ride. I've been thinking of having a teacher certificate as I have been working 'illegally' for nearly 10 years. The school has been around for like 15 years. It's compulsory to have a teacher's cert to be working in a government school but we're more like working as a volunteer so thankfully, the govt didn't close our school yet. lol.

The cert cost like MYR10K (around US$2400) and that's my yearly salary! So, I think you get the idea why we had to work 'illegally' and why I didn't get my cert earlier. I had to save my money for 10 years. Some of my friends are thinking of having a teacher cert too. Finally, after 10 years we can spend our savings!! The teachers working at govt schools earn at least 5x of what we earn. At least my mum earn 10x my salary right before she retired. She was working as a teacher at a govt school. As I said, it's volunteer work. More than half of our budget (staff salaries include) comes from charity.

The school started with 2 classes and 4 staff. Now we have 32 classes from standard 1 to 6 (6 years old till 12 years old) with nearly 100 staff - the teachers, clerks, cleaners, kitchen staff, guards, van drivers and nursery assistants. We had 34 classes before but the pandemic cut our budgets and some parents couldn't afford the school tuition.

We do attend some classes as a teacher. We have more opportunities to attend online classes during the pandemic, we feel more confident with ourselves but a certified teacher (a teacher with a teacher cert) and a volunteer teacher (a teacher without a teacher cert) have a very different life. Working as a volunteer teacher, I earned half of my earnings right now when I first started. A teen part-time wages. lol

Some of my coworkers left for a better life. They had their cert already. I think a volunteer job is for rich people cause they don't have to worry much about money. Some of my coworkers are that type. They didn't care about how much they earned else, they would be working somewhere else.

And there are some who just want to work for their community so they had a double or even triple job!! And there's me. I like this job. I like doing the work for the community. I love teaching!! But I also like money. Working somewhere else would be better for me but I don't have enough money for the required cert.

For now, we only have 5 English teachers. We had 7 last year and it wasn't enough. This year, we're understaffed.

I just couldn't do it. I also am not healthy enough to find another job actually. lol.

I never really intend to move to another job. I like to retire from this school. I planned to retire in 8 years. So, I was hoping to get a cert 5 years before I retired and open my own tuition. Then maybe work independently for another 5-10 years before passing my business.

I'm not sure I can live that long. I already started making some preparations, making some connections etc. If I don't live that long, I'll just pass my past work for someone else if they're interested and asked them to prepare a fund for my child.

A certificate isn't necessary but a certificate might make your life easier. But for those who couldn't afford it like us.. I'm not sure. For me, it might give me a business opportunity later on. I could use it for a passive income, so, I want to pursue it. lol

What is your thought on the certificate?

border_1-removebg-preview_50_smaller-removebg-preview.png

Thanks for stopping by. I'm doing CONTEST: C stands for - 4.45 cause it's fun. 🤩

Come and join me! ❤️❤️

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I'm glad you're working on something you enjoy.
In my country only degrees are accepted for work. Certificates are only given to those who already have a degree in order to give you credit for some training you do after you get your degree.

I do have my degree. In marine science to be exact. To become a 'full' teacher, we need to pay, study and passed the exam for a teacher's cert. Which is a kinda costly for some of us.

you'll live that long and some more.💪

Ameen! Thanks, darling! ❤️

I wonder if you can't earn more if you give private lessons. That's what people do over here. Just a certificate isn't possible, you have to visit school, next work for several years to pass.
A year's income is a lot. I wish you luck dear.

Thanks.

I'm loving myself more now that I refuse a project if I'm having too much unless they're willing to pay more. I didn't notice I was doing a 3 person job. Only noticed it when they rotate the responsibility.

I know what you mean. I've been there and worked all holidays, weekends even at night. Looking back it wasn't worth it. Even a career passes.

Yeah. True that. Now is better than later. Need to enjoy life more. lol

A friend teaches since the C19 restrictions at private schools and is paid very well because they have a huge lack of teachers. It's just for periods but good enough to live from and for the extra money.
It's hard to say 'no' but it's better to do so otherwise they take you for granted and find it normal you do all the work while they lean back. The harder you work the less need there is to hire someone extra or offer you a well-paid job. It's not all about certificates but about quality, love for the job too.

A friend teaches since the C19 restrictions at private schools and is paid very well because they have a huge lack of teachers. It's just for periods but good enough to live from and for the extra money.

I'm glad for them. For us here, it's a bit hard to land a job. My husband still working part-time at a stall after a year as he didn't hear back from any of the companies yet. He got weekly wages as sometimes they couldn't open the business for some reasons like weather but we make it somehow. On a good note, I'm just glad we live under one roof and can take care of our daughter together now. Praise the Lord. It was harder when he was away for work and we can only meet once or twice a month. Now Anne's daddy's daughter. lol

It's hard to say 'no' but it's better to do so otherwise they take you for granted and find it normal you do all the work while they lean back.

I couldn't agree more.

It's not all about certificates but about quality, love for the job too.

Yes, I do love my job. Hence, I'm staying. I was working in a bad environment with not much support to grow before. The first kids I taught are already 16 years old. They were 4 when I first met them. I thought I'm still a bit younger. Alas, time flies fast. lol

 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your C with the community. A certificate isn't necessary you proof it. May the children and parents reward you.

CCC_1643050958790.jpg

Thanks! 💐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68096.92
ETH 3795.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59