Weekly Report as Steem Representative, 27.09.2023

in Steem POD Team10 months ago

Hi friends! Hello Steemit Team!

I have been looking forward to writing this report because I think I have a great idea that I want to share with you. And its implementation does not require major changes or the allocation of many resources.

Art

I don't know why, but I often think about our platform as a whole, what can be done to improve something in it, attract more authors and readers, make it more successful. Although with my capabilities I could of course limit myself to only one or two communities. But no, for some reason my flight of thought is full of being much broader :-)

I think everyone agrees that if good authors with quality content receive good rewards on Steemit, it will only benefit the platform. As far as I can see, the Steemit team and a large part of the community are actively working in this direction. But I think we missed an important detail.

Here again the question arises: "What is quality content?"

Is telling about your day quality content? Many will say no. And indeed, if in each of the author's posts we read about brushing teeth and cooking eggs, it can hardly be called a very interesting post. However, as a curator, I have seen dozens of authors who can write interestingly about their day, focus attention in the post on certain non-trivial events or situations. After all, if you constantly follow these authors, reading the diaries turns into something similar to watching a series.

What am I leading to? Above, I just gave an example that the issue of content quality is very subjective and it is very difficult to say exactly what quality content is.

In order to somehow define the scope of the curators' activities, the teams prescribed a requirement that in order to receive support, the post must contain at least 300 words. That's fair, since the rewards should go to those who work on the post, but what about the visual art? Is it quality content? How much time does it take to write 300 words and how much to draw a picture?

It so happened that as an author I was formed in the creative community WORLD OF XPILAR. And this despite the fact that I am absolutely ignorant in art. But thanks to the openness of this community and support, I even became a moderator there. For more than two years in this community, I have seen many works of art, and when the Steemit Engagement Challenge spread in the community, I submitted the process of determining the winners. Then real professionals discussed various details of the competition works and believe me, creativity is a real science. Even photography is not just pressing one button, it is a full-fledged and quite complex art.

WORLD OF XPILAR has many professional artists displaying their work. Is it quality content? Yes of course. But these posts are rarely accompanied by 300 words of text. Sometimes artists just don't have a word as well as a brush, sometimes they lack time, sometimes their works speak for themselves. But such posts will almost certainly not fall into the sphere of attention of the curators.

Another question: "Are curators capable of competently evaluating a work of visual art?" I don't. And most curators can't either. And therefore, this requires people who are well versed in art.

Artists are very social people. Often they are quite famous. They have cool accounts on Instagram, Facebook and other social networks. They are trying to blog here and could bring their fans here. But if their posts receive a reward of $ 1, it seems that their creations are not needed by anyone.

Finally I came to my suggestion. We have several curatorial teams. Among them, two are specialized. I propose to turn another team of curators into a specialized one. Let this team only support visual art. Of course, for this, it is necessary to recruit people who understand art into this team, and I am sure that such people will be found. I had a substantive conversation on this topic with a professional photographer @xaviduran and he has already expressed his willingness to participate.

My activity

There were no significant changes here. Since my report is already too long, I will try to make the rest as concise as possible:

  • I am a moderator in the WORLD OF XPILAR community. Here I publish the WOX Community Blogosphere Magazine. Also, every Wednesday I am responsible for booming. And I am actively involved in the activities of @wox-helpfund.

  • I continue my Steem promotion activities. I have an X account and an Igstagram account.

  • No matter how many commitments I have, I try to post first because I love to do it.

image.png

image.png



I think I will finish my report with this. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Thank you very much @o1eh for echoing our concerns about creativity.

It is gratifying that someone in the community cares about quality rather than quantity. It seems that the curatorial teams are not aware of how much it costs to make a good painting, a good collage or a good photo and only take quantity into account. How many times in photography contests have we seen well-paid entries with many repeated photos of very low quality, that transmit absolutely nothing and are accompanied by long, poorly written texts and, worst of all, that say absolutely nothing. I could give hundreds of examples.

From my humble position I would like to claim that quality visual arts entries should be well remunerated. But of course, for that to happen, as @o1eh rightly said, there need to be curatorial teams with artistic training, which I don't think would be very difficult to find on the platform. There are good painters and illustrators, collagists and photographers who could competently evaluate the works submitted.

I would be willing to collaborate in this initiative, which I think would be very interesting and would give Steemit an added value.

Thank you for the attempt to give visibility to creativity.

ESP

Muchas gracias @o1eh por hacerte eco de nuestras inquietudes referente a la creatividad.

Es gratificante que alguien en la comunidad se preocupe de la calidad antes que de la cantidad. Parece ser que los equipos de comisariado no son conscientes de lo mucho que cuesta hacer una buena pintura, un buen collage o una buena foto y solo tienen en cuenta la cantidad. Cuantas veces en concursos de fotografía hemos visto entradas bien remuneradas con muchas fotos repetidas y de muy baja calidad, que no transmiten absolutamente nada acompañadas de largos textos mal escritos y lo peor, que no dicen absolutamente nada. Puedo poner cientos de ejemplos.

Desde mi humilde posición me gustaría reivindicar que la calidad en las entradas de artes visuales estén bien remuneradas. Pero claro, para eso hace falta que como bien ha dicho @o1eh, haya equipos de curación con formación artística, cosa que creo no sería muy difícil encontrar en la plataforma. Hay buenos pintores y dibujantes, collagistas y fotógrafos que podrían evaluar competentemente los trabajos presentados.

Por mi parte estaría dispuesto a colaborar en esta iniciativa que creo sería muy interesante y le daría a Steemit un valor añadido.

Gracias por el intento de dar visibilidad a la creatividad.

 10 months ago 

Unfortunately, nothing came of my proposal. However, I made another attempt to remind the curatorial teams about the art.

 10 months ago 

All Community Curators are welcome to vote on Art posts.

If the posts are #burnsteem25 they will more likely attract attention from sc01 & sc02.

 10 months ago 

Okay, in that case, I'll tell the curators not to be afraid to support the artwork as well.

 10 months ago 

I think that is a very good suggestion! And there is enough remarkable art on the Steem to keep a team of curators on their toes....

 10 months ago 

Thank you. There really is a lot of art here, and with the right support it could become even more.

Congratulations sir !! Now are part of curator team and I am really happy. You are experienced and very talented Steemit member, you deserve to be in curator list. God bless you ... seriously I am really happy.

 10 months ago 

Thank you. I wish you success.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63