Omars_Bakery_Ng | Official Presentation to the Business Activity Community | by : Chikezie4l

in Business Activity2 years ago
Good day dear steemians, my name is Vincent Egwudike from Kaduna, Nigeria. I'm currently a student of

Federal University Lokoja (FUL), studying accounting.

20220620_093925_0000.png

photo taken on my phone then edited with canva

I have been a baker and cake decorator for a while now and I mostly get job offers from my fellow students of my citadel of learning. They're not much but I'm grateful.

20210922_144835_0000.png

photo edited with canva while using stock photos I snapped with my phone

My Business Objective

20201221_154712.jpg

photo of me having concluded my apprenticeship

One objective of my business is to become well-known in this field during my university days as well as to make a sustainable source of income through it. I started learning cakes and it's sorts a year prior to my admission into the university and to be honest, it hasn't been easy multitasking between my studies and work. I do miss deadlines on assignment submission because I had a job offer I can't give up.

You'll have to keep in mind that you should be able to fend for yourself while in school, to support your parents of course. It's too much of a load, keeping in mind how the economy is right now.

My Vision

It has always been my dream to open up a bakery where I can have my space to work efficiently while also serving my clients with baked goods either on shelf or bespoke orders.

As it is now, it's hard getting clients who would pay what my product goes for but then, seeing that I'm still a start-up, I understand why they're offering such low prices for my products.

With time and careful planning, I believe that my business will grow, where I can get clients from far and wide who would come patronize me.

My Mission

Funny thing I encounter in this business is that I hear people ask if I train people to do what I do. Well, another goal of mine is that, training aspiring youths who are zealous and determined about baking and help them generate a sustainable source of income.

Since unemployment is growing at an alarming rate in my country, empowering these youths to be self-reliant will play a big role in my country's economy.

It would be nice if I can help lesssen the rate of unemployment in the country by empowering these youths and having them engaged so that they don't become irresponsible in the later future.

Challenges I Face As A Baker

Since my country, Nigeria is a developing country, I do face some challenges here and there when performing my business activities, of which I'll list them:

  • Electricity:

Power outage is common in my residential area and it reduces my performance when I need to use a mixer while baking for my clients. Since I don't have any other source of power I must then go manual which is often stressful and time consuming, also, the cakes won't come out nice as it would have when using a stand mixer. Getting a generator would be of an advantage but then, where's the capital?

  • Capital:

I finance my business through the little allowances I do get from my parents, and that's not even enough to cater for my needs let alone handle the usual school expenses.

Getting capital is a big challenge for me and I'm very bad at asking for favours or seeking for help, I'd have to work harder to make everything work out and it usually does, I give my thanks to God for pulling through for me and I'm hopeful that it will get better.

  • My Clientele base

Since my customers are mostly made up of students from my university, it's a challenge meeting new potential clients outside the school, adverts to put up, publicity and the likes.
Again, when I'm back home, I can't work because my school and my parents house are in different states which means I'll need to start advertising again.

  • Logistics

The means of transporting my products till it gets to my client is a challenge as well, the roads are bad, transport is expensive and the clients are very against paying delivery fees.

My Business Details

20210807_220937.jpg

Official Logo

Business name:OMARS_BAKERY_NG
Owner's name:@chikezie4l
Business address:Crusher, Kogi State, Nigeria
About Business Activity Community:Link

Instagram Account Link

Conclusion

This concludes my official presentation and I hope that I'll be accepted into this community. I'd like to learn more from other people's businesses, how they operate, how the they got started and even how they get past these challenges I'm faced with and I do hope the little experience I share will help others grow too.

Thanks for reading till the end. Also special thanks to @oscarcc89 and @cindycam for creating this community.

Note: 10% of this post payout goes to the community account.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57178.77
ETH 3095.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12